We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Palomar way up high” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Philly Sports Package
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bethlehem
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Palomar way up high”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The bed was super comfortable. The shower was hot and sustained. Nothing smelled, either in the hallway or in the room. The checkin was speedy and friendly. That normally gets 5 stars. Where the hotel slipped was the rather outrageous parking charge for overnight parking. $40. Please figure that into the bill when you stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
BethlehemUpintheair,

Thanks for the 4 star review. As a tip for next time, check out our website for the availability of the Philly Overnight Package. It's a couple dollars more than the best available rate but it does include valet parking. Hopefully the comfortable stay will bring you back for visit #2!

Thanks for sharing,

Wendell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    361
    92
    26
    15
See reviews for
300
687
90
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was attending a conference at the Convention Center and didn't want to stay in the hotels right next to Convention Center so I chose the Palomar based on the proximity to the Convention Center (about a mile) as well as to the "cool" part of Philadelphia (Walnut Street/Rittenhouse Square) and because it's a Kimpton.

This is a boutique hotel in an older building so my room was on the small size but well appointed, modern and very comfortable. I love that Kimpton hotels don't nickel and dime you on everything especially if you are one of their "InTouch" loyalty members (which is free to join) - the $10 credit that you get for mini-bar means I at least can get a free bottle of water!

The Palomar does what hotels are supposed to do - have fantastic hospitality and a welcoming and comfortable environment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear CatS121,

Thanks so much for choosing us to be your home away from home during the conference. We are certianly in a great neighborhood that has a great deal to offer visitors and locals alike. We welcome you back anytime and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Wendell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked this hotel based its location and positve reviews. The bell and desk staff were friendly at check in, and the room was decent, but small. The problems began after returning to the room after a day running around the city. My wife (who has moderate allergies to pollen/cats/dogs) started sneezing like crazy & became very congested. This eventually led to difficulty breathing and even I began sneezing. I am normally not allergic at all. We were both very itchy & uncomfortable & showering did not help. It was a miserable night and we didn't get any rest. I expressed my concerns to the lady at the desk during the check out process, at which time she told me that "this was a pet friendly hotel" and that pets were allowed on every floor except three. This would have been great information for us to have DURING THE CHECK IN. I guess I should have known to ask for a reduced allergen room at check in? Anyway, this was the most uncomfortable experience that we have ever had staying anywhere, including little $50 motels. The only reason that I gave this hotel two stars instead of one is that the staff were at least pretty friendly and the location is good.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be swimming in pet dander and allergens ask for a pet free floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Massarchers,

SO sorry you were uncomfortable during your time with us! Being pet friendly is near and dear to our hearts at Kimpton and we do welcome all animals, without restriction. That being said, we aim to provide a comfortable experience to all guests and offer pet-free hypoallergenic guest floors. Please send me an email at wendell.bush@hotelpalomar.com so I can add this specific request to your guest profile. Next time you're with us or in any other Kimpton Hotel you won't have to ask and can be assured a comfortable night's rest.

Best,

Wendell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was not my original choice for a hotel because of the cost(pricey) and distance from the Convention Center but I was moved here due to an over-booking issue at my original hotel. As it was, the walk was quick and I felt pretty safe, both day and night, coming and going from the hotel to the center. My room was directly off of the elevator and I was concerned the noise would disturb my sleep but it got quiet at night. The room was a very comfortable size, was eloquently decorated and had a large bathroom. The room was also spotless. Service was excellent. My only complaint is that the garments I left behind at check out were never found and there was no offer by the hotel to compensate me in any way for the clothing that was not returned. It was a disappointing end to an otherwise nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear murphydog14,

Sorry to hear we ended things with a disappointment. I'd love to take a second look into this. Please email me at wendell.bush@hotelpalomar.com and I'll get the ball rolling.

Hope to hear from you soon,

Wendell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to both hotels, and following my recent trip to the Palomar, the two are now tied for my favorite. In the interest of full disclosure, the Palomar would take the lead had the Monaco not employed someone who helped rescue my dog. Both hotels go to extreme lengths to make sure my 60-lb pit bull and I feel spoiled. Beyond that, the hotels are always pristine, which is our top requirement, and either location is perfect depending on which side of Philly you're visiting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear amnon t,

If we're gonna tie for first than we're glad it's with the Monaco! Our sister hotel is still fairly new in town but is certainly doing an excellent job. The Palomar does love to welcome (or spoil) our furry guests but more importantly we appreciate you continuing to stay with Kimpton Hotels.

See you next time,

Wendell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are a Mario Buatta person, this is not your hotel. Its décor is angular and modern but the service is very friendly. All staffers I encountered were eager to please and very personable. My room was well-appointed but the bed nearly filled the bedroom area which, fortunately, was flanked by a dressing area that was thoughtfully arranged. The bed was very comfortable and the shower divine. The afternoon wine reception was enjoyable and breakfast in the restaurant was tasty and efficiently delivered. The lobby pulsates with music and activity.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are not the reason to visit this hotel although they will meet your basic needs. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Pam S,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback. From the review, it sounds like we were able to provide you with good service, a good sleep, and a good meal. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and hopefully we'll see you at wine hour again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Wendell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I just stayed overnight but the Hotel Palomar really impressed me. Everything was clean and efficient. The hotel did a great job of balancing the funky vibe that Kimpton is known for with top notch service. Be sure to join the Kimpton rewards program before you check in. It makes the experience even better.

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton Loyalty program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Scott S,

Wow! Impressed great feedback to recieve. Looking forward to continue that during your future stays. Come for a weekend next time!

Looking forward to it,

Wendell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.