We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our every expectation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Philly Sports Package
Ranked #3 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded our every expectation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was extremely pleased with every aspect of our stay at the Hotel Palomar. To begin, we came to Philadelphia with a unique purpose: to enter our dog in a clinical trial for cancer treatment at The University of Pennsylvania. I had read that this hotel was pet friendly, but that does not even begin to describe how well they treated our dog, Erma. Everyone went out of their way to be nice to her (and us) during a stressful time. This is especially true of the concierge, Christina, who was wonderful to us in every way and really made it feel like home. Besides being pet friendly, the staff was always warm, friendly, and happy to help. I highly recommend their wine hour, where we received several great restaurant recommendations from staff as well. The room was clean, well decorated, and we found the bed very comfortable. The hotel is also located within walking distance to a number of historic places and great restaurants. I can honestly say that many hotels have nice rooms and are in a good location, but I have never stayed at a hotel with staff as friendly and willing to help as the Hotel Palomar. Our dog needs to go back to Philadelphia for another treatment in 3 weeks, and we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
frenchbulldog86,


Thanks for choosing to stay with us here at Hotel Palomar Philly. I hope that all is well with your dog and the cancer treatment. We really love our pet guests here at Hotel Palomar. Please let us know when you come back. Christina will be just as excited to see you and your dog again when you return.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,138
    333
    83
    25
    15
See reviews for
287
632
83
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I rely on trip advisor for every hotel we book, and this was a VERY EASY choice from the moment we saw the spa king room! Not only is the hotel one of our favorites, the price you can't go wrong! The only downside is the $40 daily car fee, but these days that is the norm.

Some of the many reasons why we LOVED this hotel

We LOVE boutique hotels (updated, clean, great service, unique amenities...pretty much, "the whole package"!!!)...and this had it ALL. From the moment we stepped out of our car, the bell hop was GENUIENLY the most attentive I've ever seen, not ones of those pretentious ones holding the door just looking for a hefty tip. Upon check in, the receptionist, I believe her name was Naeem, was more accommodating than ever, even asking us if we would like her to check out the room prior us to going there (We wanted the high floor with a view)...and couldn't have been happier, we only wish we could thank her in person! They have a daily wine hour with the most incredible truffle oil and citrus popcorn..and I hate popcorn until now! We met some great folks and really got to know the area from the superb clientele and level of service they provide. We did have martini's and apps at the associated bar, and although they were incredible, the bartender was very non-interested, but still makes a good drink.

The room - we stayed in the spa king, and that is a must! I'm a big spa tub girl and nice bathroom and this was the king of kings! Nice touch with the animal print robes, but I think that is in every room. If you have a significant other of just want to pamper yourself, splurge for the spa king, the separate whirlpool and shower is worth every penny!!!!

Level of treatment here is unsurpassed! My boyfriend and I were chatting in the elevator how excited we were to see our room after how accommodating and genuine and helpful the staff has been thus far, not to mention the BEAUTY of the hotel itself, and another gentleman in the elevator commented on how amazing this hotel is that his wife called for a makeup mirror and were to deliver it immediately and if it wasn't what she liked they would go out and buy her a better one! How can you beat that!

Location - AMAZING! step outside and you are in the perfect vicinity to it all! I'm more of a shopper and great bars while my boyfriend loves culture and here it was all within blocks! We walked everywhere and had a blast.

Great hotel, great location, only wish there were more like this!

Room Tip: Spa king room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
SuzieQtee,

Thanks for telling everyone on Trip Advisor how much you LOVED your stay with us here at Hotel Palomar. We LOVED having you and your boyfriend here with us and we can't wait to have you back so we can show you the love all over again.

All The Best


Wendell B.
The Love Doctor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Palomar for a business meeting - two days, one night. Probably the only frustrating part of my stay was the parking. 17th Street in the Rittenhouse area is a mess to begin with, so trying to pull up in front of this place appeared to be a nightmare. Luckily, there were plenty of valets out front. One of them quickly told me where to pull over in the next block. The valet followed me and met me at my car door in the next block and took care of everything.
The rooms were modern and clean. Same to be said for the bathrooms, if a bit small. The food provided to our groups was fine - nothing outstanding, but I blame our company for probably going with the "budget" lunch spreads.
I did not eat in the Hotel restaurant, but it looked nice. In the lobby that evening from 6 to 7, they offered free glasses of wine and some delicious popcorn with truffle butter and sea salt.
Overall my stay at the Palomar was fine. Despite the parking situation I mentioned, a real benefit is that the hotel is in walking distance to a lot of nice bars and restaurants. If you need to stay somewhere in the Rittenhouse area, I would definitely recommend the Palomar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
ZZ911,

Thanks for staying with us here at Hotel Palomar Philly. We would love to have you back again.
Please come back and see us again the next time your travels bring you to Philadelphia.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here after New Years and had a great time. The Kimpton hotels are so nice, this is one of the best we have been too. There is a wine bar in the evenings and guests relax in the lobby. Hot chocolate in the daytime. We didn't have a car and didn't need one. Close to the train station and we walked to the Barnes and the museum of art. Room was slightly small, with good size bathroom. Very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. We generally try to avoid chain hotels, but the Kimpton ones have never let us down. Took a cab to the airport for a reasonable fee.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 23rd floor, good view of the skyline and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Touristnotatraveler,


Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Hotel Palomar Philly. Our goal is to make you feel comfortable and create a warm intimate atmosphere. Thanks for noticing.

Please come back and stay with us again real soon.


All The Best


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Beautiful spa suite for two night stay with my teen daughters. Room was compact but beautiful. Bathroom had step up whirlpool tub and glass enclosed shower. Bedroom one king bed, living room modern with pullout sofa bed. Cute decor. We shopped on Chestnut and Walnut Streets, snacked at DiBrunos had dinner at Parc on Rittenhouse and Viola. Staff was wonderful, they can't. Do enough for you. Valet parking always makes it easy. Leave your car and take cabs. Hotel had nice fitness center.

Room Tip: Join Kimpton loyalty program, they give you ten bucks for minibar and free wifi. Pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Bizgirltravels

I am glad that you chose Hotel Palomar Philly for you and girls as a winter getaway. Thanks for your comments about our team members. They really do love taking care of our guests.

Bring the girls back for another visit real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I visited the Hotel Palomar for our anniversary weekend and had a lovely stay, as expected with a Kimpton property. The hotel location is spectacular: just off Walnut Street and a few minutes walk from Rittenhouse Square. We know the city well, having lived there for several years, and were able to walk to all of our favorite places in Center City, Old City, and University City, using the hotel as a home base. The room was also lovely and well-appointed, if a bit small; we had a city-view queen on a very high floor. As always, the staff was kind and helpful: they had a "Happy Anniversary!" card waiting at the front desk and were so kind as to hold ice cream for us in their freezer while we were out to dinner. In short - our weekend was another easy, relaxing, and enjoyable stay at a Kimpton property. We'd definitely return!

One note: the hotel ballrooms were 1 - 2 floors above our room, and we did hear some music/bass noise from above on Saturday evening. However, all noise stopped right at 11 p.m., making me think that Kimpton must implement strict event timelines in order to prevent possible issues. It was definitely nice to have the noise end early without having to ask about it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
LaurenandRyan,

We are thrilled that you chose our hotel for your anniversary getaway. I bet that it felt great to get back to Philly and visit some of your favorite places. Come back and stay with us again real soon for some rest and relaxation. We will be right here waiting to take care of you with that special Kimpton touch.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just a one night stay but everything about the hotel was excellent. The room was small-ish but but well planned and beautiful to look at. The bed, pillows, and linens fantastically comfortable, the bathroom and shower excellent. The leopard dotted gown was a nice touch, and the only downside to the room was a lack of tea/coffee maker for the morning. The hotel bar and the breakfast were also high quality, and room service food was excellent and fast. Another nice touch is a free wine reception in the evening (though they ought to invest in slightly higher quality reds!). Service throughout the hotel was responsive and efficient, including the valet parking service. High calibre.

Room Tip: Go as high up as possible to get a good cityscape view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Paul S,

Thanks for your kind remarks about our hotel and your recent stay here at Hotel Palomar Philly. We really love taking care of our guests and making them feel special during their entire stay.

Washington DC is only a short drive or train ride away so please come back and see us again real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.