We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Location and Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Philly Sports Package
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service, Location and Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

For my birthday weekend, I reserved a room at Palomar Hotel. It was a blast. The overnight parking with unlimited in/out in a city is rare and the first set of great news upon arriving. They took my luggage, and gave me free drink tickets while the final touches were but on my room. The complimentary wine, truffle popcorn, and slice of chocolate cake made my check-in fantastic, and the room was amazing. The staff was friendly and helpful. On the day of my check-out, they held my luggage in storage while I strolled the local shops and had brunch. I can only hope that other Kimpton Hotels are as great as this one, since I am now a convert!

Room Tip: The higher floors have a the best view. I stayed on the 23rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Shakesheare4,


We are glad that you had a blast for your birthday weekend. Our staff really enjoys helping our guest celebrate birthday and special occasions.

Please come back and visit us again real soon.


Happy Holidays!

Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    336
    83
    25
    15
See reviews for
290
644
84
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
M
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Hotel Palomar in Philly. The reception area was very warm and hospitable they were allowing guests to take pictures with Santa and their pets…..oh how very much Kimpton. At checkin Naeema was just the cutest most friendly welcome I had in long time. The room was comfortable and I am guessing Sheryl Rowely designed the room the details were great. We were there only one noight but worth it for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
dschl,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Palomar for your short but sweet visit. We would love to have you back and this time please stay longer with us.


Happy Holidays


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, DE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Palomar with my husband for a last-minute overnight getaway (best rate was through hotel website) and was pleasantly surprised at how great the experience was. From beginning to end, the staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to meet our needs or offer assistance. Probably the best/warmest service we have ever experienced at a hotel and we travel several times a year. The genuineness of the staff really was special and you can tell service is a priority to management. The Hotel Paolmar is also green, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and located one block from Rittenhouse Square- what more could you ask for? We enjoyed appetizers/drinks in the bar and Sunday brunch at Square- again service and food were terrific. Bedding was super comfortable, shower head was great and mini bar was well stocked. They will bring you anything you forget to pack from an amazingly inclusively long list (all complimentary). Highly recommend this hotel in Philly- we will definitely be back and will stay at other Kimpton hotels in the future. Thanks, Hotel Palomar, for a great weekend!

Room Tip: Join the free loyalty program for great perks- free wi-fi, newspaper, mini bar credit, etc!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
warmweathergirl1,


I am thrilled that you and your husband chose to stay with us for your last minute overnight getaway. I am even more thrilled to know that our team took great care of you during your stay with us. We really love making our guest feel special.

Please come back soon for another weekends getaway.


Happy Holidays

Wendell B.
Prince of Perfection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Great location, nice rooms excellent bathrooms. No hassle at all - would have scored 4 until final breakfast where appalling staff spoiled the experience. Only myself and one other person but the staff's loud personal conversation was more interesting than ensuring I had coffee or juice or my needs were satisfied. Food was also poor.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
weejim,

Thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I will make sure that I share your comments about the restaurant staff with our food and beverage team. We will use the information to learn and improve,


Please come back and visit us again the next time that you are in Philly,


All The Best!



Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Mainland BC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Staff is super helpful and friendly. The building is gorgeous thru and thru. I love the successive gold ring handles of the front glass entry doors, to the Sophisticated 1x2 inch iridescent mosaic tiles in the deep door frames to the bathroom's chic wall papering. Our room had an amazing view over and thru the city buildings. The bathroom was super functional with excellent counter space on its marble top. Also, lots of surfaces in the room proper with 1 foot deep window bays. Makes unpacking and packing clothing combinations easier somehow! Wifi was a bit sluggish. Gym was well equipped. And the neighbourhood is vibrant, safe and has great restaurants and shops every which way.

Room Tip: I think we chose a city view and it was awesome with the fog of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Jmbradle,

We are glad that our team made your stay memorable. We really want everyone to feel welcome and have a great time. We like to have you craving for the next chance to stay at Hotel Palomar Philly.

Please come back and visit your Palomar friends real soon.


Happy Holidays


Wendell B.
Master of Creating Memories
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just wrapped up a wonderful stay at the hotel Palomar in Center city Philly and it was a great stay. Many, many pros with only 1 con. This was a girls only trip for myself and my 3 college roommates.
Since there was only 1 problem let's get that out of the way. As with any big city Parking is an adventure. It's a 40 charge per night to park at the hotel and retrieving your car takes a minimum of 30 minutes. Now that, that's out of the way. Onto the PROS
1) Location. smack dab in the middle of every thing. HIgh end shopping? Check 1 block on Walnut. More moderate shopping? check few blocks down on Market and Chestnut streets. Restuarants? check. way to many in walking distance to name. Every thing from Philly cheesesteaks to Ruth Chris steak house and every thing in between. Rittenhouse square was a few blocks down and had a lovely park in the middle. Every thing else is a short hop on the bus or very cheap cab ride away.
2) Amenities. Great. nice size fitness room on the fourth floor. room sizes were great. 2 Queens and a nice size bathrom. this comes in handy when traveling with 3 college roommates with enough luggage to supply Cleopatras barge.
Bar was a really nice place to unwind after a long afternoon. Coffe/tea and pastries complimentary between 7 and 10. then they also had a wine tasting nightly at 5.
3)Service and decor. Top knotch. truthfully our stay went so smooth I can't say if the hotel staff is efficient, we never needed them. front desk staff was great. friendly and knowledgable of Philly.
Hotel itself is very pretty. Contemporary with a nod to the historical area. LOL since the Army/Navy game was last weekend, hotel had the bust of ben Franklin in a Go Navy and Go Army shirts.

I plan on becoming a Kimpton rewards member and will definitely seek out their hotels whenever I travel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
eliza39,

Thanks for telling everyone how much of a gem we are in the heart of center city. Our goal is to make all of our guest feel special and want to return as soon as possible.


Please come back and visit us again real soon.


Happy Holidays



Wendell B.
Master Gemologist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here on a recent trip to Philly with my husband and had a wonderful time. I can't recommend it enough! We had been upgraded as 'VIPs of the day' to a King Spa suite- (comfortable, spotless, modern and with a bathtub to die for!) and were pleasantly surprised by a wonderful welcome gift in the room, as well as vouchers for free appetizers and drinks in the superb restaurant downstairs. Everything, from the building itself, the room, the people, service, was impeccable. I have stayed in Kimpton hotels in other cities and they would always be my first choice- they really set a standard for other hotels to follow, and the Hotel Palomar in Philly is leading the pack.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Sharon L,

Thanks for letting everyone on Trip Advisor know about your amazing stay here at Hotel Palomar Philly. We are glad that you chose us and we made your stay more enjoyable by making you and your husband our VIP's for the day.

Please come back and see us again real soon.

Happy Holidays


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.