We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Get Away!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #3 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Marlton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overnight Get Away!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great place in the heart of Center City. Hotel was Beautiful, Warm, and very Clean. The rooms were surprisingly up to date and stylish. The Restaurent and Bar was really nice. Was my wifes birthday and they sent gourmet Cupcakes up to our room as a nice little gift. However the best part was the amazing Staff and how friendly and accomodating they were.

This is my new Philly Hotel for a quick get away and fund.

Frank
New Jersey

Room Tip: Every Room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Frank G,

We are so glad that you chose Hotel Palomar for your overnight get away and wife's birthday celebration. Our team likes to help people celebrate those special occasions. You are only a short drive away from Philly so please come back and visit us again very soon.


Happy Holidays

Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,040
    301
    75
    23
    14
See reviews for
258
580
76
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was in town for meetings for two days and when I took a look at Trip Advisor, I saw that the Palomar was rated the number 1 hotel in Philly. I decided to give it a try and am very glad that I did. It was right in the neighborhood of the meeting venues, so I could easily walk to all of my meetings.

Almost all of the staff that I interacted went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, the room was bright and well laid out, with lots of extra nice touches - like their fun, animal print robes. The bed was very comfortable, and after my last few trips where half of the bed was sagging, this was incredibly welcome!

The Palomar is a green hotel and they actually seem to mean what they say. At this hotel they actually honor the "linens hanging on the towel bar will not be exchanged" policy that many hotels say they have adopted, but the housekeeping staff routinely ignores. The shower was still very good, even though it featured a low-flow fixture.

All in all, it was an exceptional hotel for the price and I would definitely stay there again the next time I had to go to Philly.

Room Tip: I was on a higher floor and didn't have any noise problems, even though I was on a corner of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Pilisa C.,


Thank you very much for taking the time to write about on us on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you had a great stay. Our staff really enjoys providing friendly and outgoing service.

Please come back and visit us again real soon.


Happy Holidays,


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have stayed in a number of hotels in Philadelphia, and I consider the Palomar to be one of the better hotels within the center city district. Like all Kimpton Hotels, it has its own unique character and lacks the "cookie cutter" design of so many hotel chains. The Palomar is a combination of clean, modern design which has been retrofitted into the historic, art deco architect's building.

I found my guest room clean and well designed. The bathrooms, too, are clean, modern and relatively spacious. The staff at the hotel are attentive and upbeat. The Kimpton has a small but quite acceptable restaurant.

On the negative side, the elevators can be very slow during peak periods (but while you're waiting take the time to look up and around at the great design). Also the lobby can get busy at times and you'll feel a bit cramped. But having said that, I believe the Palomar to be on of Philly's top hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Skelt440,

Thanks so much for your kind remarks, I have shared them with our staff. We enjoy working here just as much as the guests enjoy staying here.

Please come back again soon to stay with us.

Happy Holidays,


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I can't say enough how great the Hotel Palomar is in Philadelphia. Ihave stayed at this hotel many times because you just could not ask for a better hotel experience. The look of the hotel from the lobby to the rooms is excellent, definitely not your typical hotel look. The Palomar is unique in all the best ways. The staff are all top notch! They are very helpful and always kind! I would definitely recommend staying at the Palomar while in Philadelphia as you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
StateCollegegirl,

Thanks for loving us and being a Big Kimpton fan. We love you right back. I will make sure that I let the staff know that you recognized them as being top notch. We aim to please. Come back and see us again real soon. We have some great offers and features during our Winter Campaign.

Have a Fantastic Holiday Season!


Wendell B.
Capt Fantastic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

For my spouse's birthday, I decided to take her into Philly to see a show at the Academy of Music. I searched the web for a hotel near the theater and was delighted to discover a Kimpton hotel (the Palomar) three blocks away. My several previous Kimpton experiences have been excellent and our stay at the Palomar continued to impress. ALL of the staff were fantastic - the doorman (Darrin), valet guys, front-desk staff, the folks who managed the evening wine reception....unbelievably friendly, welcoming, and attentive. We also had supper in the attached restaurant (1682) and received the same awesome service there. In fact, the maitre 'd knew we were going to see a show and made sure the wait staff were aware of our time constraints. Service was prompt and friendly, and they reiterated that they wanted to make sure we had plenty of time to walk to the theater.

As with all Kimpton hotels, the decor was marvelous. There is plenty of comfortable seating around the fireplace in the lobby area, which added a nice ambience to the evening wine reception. The room was also nicely decorated, so much so that I forgot we were in a hotel! If you're tired of the place-product packaging on which most hotel chains have made their reputations, the Palomar was a nice breath of fresh air.

If you want a special experience when you visit Philadelphia, make your reservation at the Hotel Palomar, The facility and its wonderful staff will not disappoint.

Room Tip: We had a queen room with a city view on the 12th floor. Didn't offer a panoramic view of downto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
wabu715,


We are elated that you chose Hotel Palomar Philly to help celebrate your spouse's birthday. Our team enjoys helping our guest celebrate those special occasions. We are looking forward to having you back real soon. Please book one of our King Spa Rooms to celebrate your next special occasion.

All The Best!


Wendell B.
Wizard of Wonderful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you read my reviews, you know I'm a loyal Kimpton fan and a dedicated Inner Circle member. Once again, Kimpton delivers in service, location, ambiance, decor, food, and more.

I stayed at the Palomar the night before I ran the Philadelphia Marathon. The check-in was inviting and quick, and as a perk the concierge handed me a course map for the marathon. I arrived at my room and was thrilled, of course, with the furnishings, the beautiful bathroom and three-foot-deep jetted tub. What a perfect place to spend the evening before a 26.2 mile run!

As a bonus, the Palomar hosted a runners-only complimentary breakfast in the lobby, beginning at 5am. It was a runner's delight: bagels with peanut butter and jelly, pastries, bananas, oatmeal, cereal, and more...all the carbs we needed to prepare for the race. Plus, of course, the most essential element before a race: coffee.

After the race I came back to the hotel and was given a late checkout, so I could shower before making the drive back to Washington, DC. From start to finish, this was an excellent experience, and I would tell anyone to stay here above all other hotels in Philadelphia. Thanks Kimpton!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
d_hops,

Congrats on running the Philadelphia Marathon. What an accomplishment. I am so glad that you chose to stay with us to get ready for your run. Our team was very excited to host the runners and provide the complimentary breakfast to get you off to a running start.

Washington DC is only a short drive or train ride away so you don't have to wait until next year in November to come back and visit us. Come back and see us real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was my first stay at a Kimpton hotel and it couldn't have been a better experience. Love the decor and atmosphere! From the friendly staff and the perks of their InTouch progam, I was thoroughly impressed! Having a restaurant attached was also a plus. Great food and drinks. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
caribbeandd_42,


Wow, How exciting that you chose Hotel Palomar Philly as your first Kimpton hotel. I am thrilled that our team made you feel welcome and provided such friendly service that makes you want to stay at Kimpton Hotel whenever you get a chance.

Please come back and stay with us again real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.