We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could afford the luxury of hotel living...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Philly Sports Package
Ranked #3 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If I could afford the luxury of hotel living...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I would stay here 24/7. The team at Palomar made our stay feel like home, or better yet, "third place" by encapsulating comfort, sense of community, and in this case stunning architecture & design accompanied by world class hospitality. My boyfriend and I were beyond impressed with the sincerity and joyful attitudes of the staff. His review (below) goes into specific acts of kindness that we experienced-- at the risk of being redundant I must mention Kayla, Darrin, Sean, Jason, & Chef George for creating individually special experiences with their equally extraordinary personalities. I wish I had the opportunity to get the names of everyone with whom we crossed paths; we felt well cared for every moment.

What really blew me away was the genuine nature of each interaction. Being in the hospitality industry myself I often say and hear the expression “my pleasure”, enough that the meaning sometimes gets lost. The weekend at Palomar revived the intention of the phrase as it was evident that it was truly gratifying to make our stay memorable. The Palomar crew gets that one size does not fit all when it comes to hospitality, and I have no doubt that they find ways to make each guest feel like the best guest as they did for us.

The truffle oil popcorn, complimentary wine reception, bicycle loaners, décor and amenities are well-thought out examples of how outstanding quality is built into the culture at Hotel Palomar, and the people are what brought it all to life. Kimpton aced it.

Room Tip: Queen View Room 1711: off-set from the hallway, cozy without being cramped (spacious closet and slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Valerie S,



Wow, Thanks for the great review on Trip Advisor. We love to hear our guests say that we made them feel special. We'd let you move right in, if we could.

Our team really enjoys providing service that will make the guests want to stay longer or yearn for the chance to come back as soon as possible.


Washington DC is only a short drive or train ride away, so please come back and see us again real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,122
    323
    81
    26
    15
See reviews for
278
625
83
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A great staff, great rooms, great location! A first rate choice in Philly! This was exactly the kind of hotel a seasoned traveler will appreciate. There is a wonderful mix of travelers which makes for a great stay- especially during he complimentary wine hour!

Room Tip: Try to book a corner room up high for great city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Chris B,

We are thrilled that you chose Hotel Palomar Philly for your stay. We love providing excellent service to our guests and our Wine Hour allows us to really connect with our guests.

Please come back and stay with us again the next time you are in Philly.


Happy Holidays,


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is our place to stay anytime we stay in Philly. It is like being at home. (Except much cleaner) If you bring your children they give you ideas for them and speak to them with the same importantance as you. A movie and popcorn was given on our latest visit. They adore pets. Most places although they allow pets do not give you the idea they truly want them there. The staff has always held the dogs and provided treats to ease check-in with them. Believe me they have thought of everything. If you want to take a bike ride they will actually take them out of the window and allow you to ride them. There are too many people to mention by name so every staff member will go the extra mile to help with any request. Also the most knowledgable staff in terms of the area which is in the heart of Rittenhouse and the best food and shops....

Room Tip: The hottubs are the best you will find in a hotel. More then big enough for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Mike W,


Wow, Thanks for letting everyone know how great out team members treated you and made you feel right at home. We do love our younger guests and the family pets just as much as we love the parents.

Lansdale is only a short drive away so please bring the family back again to visit your Palomar Philly friends.

Happy Holidays,


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend, and we were consistently blown away by the sincere kindness and enthusiasm for making our stay memorable, so much so that each of the employees we interacted with deserve a call out. Darrin at the front door was extremely helpful with recommendations and directions, Sean (one of the bellhops) took a personal interest in giving us his best recommendations for cool neighborhoods and nightlife, and went out of his way to follow up with us throughout our weekend, and Kayla was cheerful and wonderful to talk to at the complimentary wine receptions.

We took a spur-of-the-moment trip to the 25th floor ballroom, where we scared the bejeezus out of Jason, one of the banquet staff members. Rather than toss us out, he stayed to talk and made sure we saw the city from the best viewpoint! Not only that, but on the way back down it our room, we shared an elevator with Chef George, who later hand-delivered a bowl of truffle oil popcorn when my girlfriend jokingly said she missed the popcorn at that night's wine reception. Above and beyond, literally every step of the way.

Room Tip: Queen View Room (1711) was great--my girlfriend loved the little hallway that our corner room had
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Mike P,


Thanks so much for recognizing our team members by name. It makes them feel really proud and excited when they provide the type of service that makes the guest remember their name and take the time to write about it.

Please bring your girlfriend back real soon so that you both can visit your new friends here at Hotel Palomar Philly.


Happy Holidays,


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is a beauty. All the charm you'd expect of a Kimpton property is there - friendly, helpful and welcoming staff from the front desk to housekeeping, hosted wine reception every evening and great perks for loyalty program members (raid the mini bar, cheap late checkout). The building has been exquisitely restored with striking but very tasteful design touches to be found throughout. The room was well laid out and the bed one of the most comfortable I have found in a hotel anywhere. I was in town for the Philadelphia Marathon and the hotel put on a special complimentary breakfast for the runners at 5:00am which was a very nice touch. The location puts you a short walk from a host of restaurants and activities. All in all, very hard to beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
James M,


Congrats on running the Philadelphia Marathon. Thanks for your comments about our staff and the excellent service that they provided during your stay. We are glad that you noticed the little extra touches put in place for the marathon runners.

Please come back to Philly to visit your Palomar friends again very soon.


Happy Holidays,

Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

You need to book at the Hotel Palomar in Philadelphia. My husband and I recently stayed there with our Swiss Mountain Dog, Yogi. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. When Yogi had trouble dealing with the elevator, the manager Ann Kramer went out of her way to put us on a lower floor (upgraded, too) so we could use the stairs. She even showed up at our door with a bag of goodies for Yogi!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Atelnaes,

Thank you for your kind remarks about your stay with us at Hotel Palomar. We are glad that you, your husband and Yogi had a fantastic stay time while you were with us in Philly.

Washington DC is only a short drive away so please bring Yogi back to visit his Palomar friends again real soon.

Happy Holidays,


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for the Philadelphia Marathon and couldn't have had a better stay. Great room (suggest you request upper floors for a view), very responsive to any request or need we had, and helpful with local suggestions. We stayed a few days after the marathon for sightseeing and had a great time. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
stvmoore,


Thanks for choosing Hotel Palomar Philly for your stay and telling everyone on Trip Advisor how great your stay was with us. We are excited that we made you feel right at home and welcome right before you ran the marathon.

We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Happy Holidays,

Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.