We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed and satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Philly Sports Package
Ranked #3 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Impressed and satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights with the kids and it was amazing. We are coming back for new year....can't wait. By the way, location of this hotel is perfect.
Breakfast was also good and breakfast area is so neat! Our kids were happy so we were :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
LuxuriousSkin,

Thanks for sharing how impressed and satisfied you were with you recent stay. We are glad that you and your family chose our hotel and we made you and your children feel welcome. Our goal is for all of our guests to feel welcome and have a great time while staying with us.

We can't wait for you to come back and visit us for New Year's. Please let us know if there is anything that we can provide for you that will make your stay more enjoyable.


Happy Holidays!

Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,136
    331
    83
    25
    15
See reviews for
287
630
83
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, CA USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Palomar for two nights and were wowed by tge service as well as the hotel. This is a new (3 years) hotel close to Rittenhouse Square. The hotel is very well finished with modern touches everywhere. Views on the upper floors are terrific. Hotel Palomar is withing walking district of City Hall and all of Downtown Philadelphia. Service is outstanding...we asked the front dest to hold a package for us to pick up when we returned from activities, and they INSISTED they wanted to deliver up to our room, which they did. Highly reommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
DanandJanC,

Thanks for your kind remarks on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Hotel Palomar Philly. Our team really enjoys providing service that will make you want to stay longer and that makes you want to return again as soon as possible.

Please come back and visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Philadelphia.

All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My friends and I booked at this hotel to attend a wedding as guests of the groom's father. This was way before Hurricane Sandy planned to visit. The ceremony was slated four days after Sandy hit home. We left our New Jersey houses unhappy from the absence of electricity and heat. What sweet relief it was to arrive at a hotel with warm [pun intended] and stress-free reception.
The room was neat and relatively spacious. The bed was up to par with my back's demand. The artwork lining walls was quite sophisticated. In fact, there is an artsy-classy atmosphere around. Service, including valet, we have no complaints over.
The hotel sits at the heart of the city. A stroll around the area leads you to quaint shops and high-brow eateries inviting you to their offering. Tourist attractions are nearby. Our limited time only allowed us to a few. Foremost was the Shrine of St. John Neumann, the first American saint.
The hotel was close to the wedding site and the banquet.
We had a great time on our brief stay, forgetting for awhile the misery left behind by Sandy. And part of the reason is Palomar Philadelphia.
The only nit I can pick is this. There is no Restroom at the main lobby. I had to go one floor up to use one. Otherwise, go up to my 10th floor room.
Also [but not the hotel's fault], the narrow city streets are not endearing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
atoybci,

Thanks for your post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us here at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia. We are glad that you chose to stay with us while attending your friend’s wedding. We are even more excited that we were able to offer some sweet relief and provide you with a stress-free environment away from the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy.

Jersey City is only a short drive away from Philly so please come back and visit us again real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on the 21st floor facing southwest. The views were great, and you could easily see the stadiums to the south and well past city to the west. Very very professional staff. Helpful but non-intrusive. Terriffic room. Frette Linens that were fresh and clean. Wonderful pillows (real down finally). Location is excellent to get to anything in the downtown area, plenty to walk to. The rooms were on par with 4.5 and 5 star properties anywhere. Extremely clean like a true luxury hotel should feel.

If I must find a fault, the 4 elevators are both small and slow, making the voyage to the upper floors painfully long at times. But if the elevators are the biggest problem with a property, they are doing it right. We would recommend this property highly as one of the finest in Philadelphia.

Oh and free wine at happy hour that does NOT taste like it comes from a box. A very nice touch for a very nice hotel. A gem of a property that has it down like clockwork.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view, but the longer the wait for the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
My-Life-I-Sought,


Thanks for choosing Hotel Palomar Philadelphia for your stay. We are so thrilled that you chose our hotel. Your comments are appreciated, and I will make sure that I share them with our entire team. We want all of our guest to feel great about their stay just like you did.

We are looking forward to having you back real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brick
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I live on the jersey shore and as everyone knows we were hit pretty badly by Hurricane Sandy. My boyfriend and I had planned this trip for my birthday for over a month. By the time November 9th came around I had been so emotionally drained from the aftermath of the hurricane and the cleanup and being without power for over 11 days that I wasn't sure I even felt like celebrating and going away. I was convinced that I NEEDED to get away for a few days to get some much needed rest in a warm comfy bed! I AM SO GLAD I DID! The service was exceptional from the moment we arrived we were treated with such kindness and got complimentary drink tickets for the bar as as a 25.00 voucher towards dinner at the hotel restaurant. We went to dinner thete that night and the food was exceptional!! The drinks.... Well I must say they were the BEST drinks I have EVER had ANYWHERE!! So good in fact that I had my brother and his fiancé come the next night to meet us for more cocktails! This place was magical and just what I needed for my birthday!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Lisa T,

Happy Birthday all over again. I am so thrilled that you decided to come on to Philly and spend your birthday weekend with us here at Hotel Palomar after being without power for 11 days. We are so glad that we played a small part in helping you get away and enjoy your birthday. Thanks for sharing your comments with Trip Advisor readers,

Please come back and visit your new Palomar friends soon. We can't wait to see you again.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you are looking for a boutique stylish hotel with sophistication, go no further. The spa rooms are the best ever. Staff from front desk to housekeeping greet you with a welcome and you feel like a star.

Room Tip: Sign up for the Kimpton rewards program, free Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Jay G,

Thanks for your comments about our entire team. Our goal is to make you feel like a Star while staying with us. We want everyone to feel welcome and have a great time while they are here with us.

Please come back and see us again real soon.


All The Best!


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I participated in the same trade show as kubbylee from November 4-8, 2012. The staff went out of their way to insure that all of our guests got checked in quickly and without and glitches. Karen Armezzani and her staff were extremely responsive to all our requests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell B, General Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
rfactor29,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Palomar Philly and for taking the time to write about us on Trip Advsior.

We look forward to having you stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Philadelphia.

Happy Holidays,


Wendell B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Agoda, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.