We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embodiment of Philly's "With Love" tourism campaign” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Philly Sports Package
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Embodiment of Philly's "With Love" tourism campaign”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I've always been a huge fan of Kimpton properties, and look for them first wherever I travel, whether for business or pleasure; they truly bring together the best amenities of a large hotel chain with the friendliness and personal touch of a mom and pop-owned B&B, and the Palomar was no exception.

Nestled in one of my favorite parts of Philly, everything about my experience at the Palomar - from the warm welcome, the $10 of free mini-bar goodies I received as an InTouch member (Kimpton's terrific free loyalty program, which also offers members free wi-fi, room upgrades when available among other perks) to the comic that was slipped under my door when I mentioned to the concierge that I didn't need my usual delivery of the NYT and jokingly suggested she replace it with an Archie digest. The hotel is brand spanking new (or seems like it is), with the usual quirky chic design that Kimptons favor. (The Palomar sub-brand is about "art in motion," as shown by fun art pieces like little bronze statuettes climbing the walls in various parts of the hotel.)

The only other hotel brand I like as much as Kimpton is Starwood's W properties, and while they're fabulous in a lot of ways, I don't think I'd receive that kind of attention and return of humor from anything other than a Kimpton.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are "city view" rooms that look out onto the cityscape; not sure what the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Matt W,

That’s great to see you are so loyal to Kimpton! Abby our concierge shared her fun way of giving you your comic book instead on the NYT. Thank you for the great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Don’t be a stranger!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    359
    92
    26
    15
See reviews for
299
685
88
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We had a feeling that this hotel was very good from reviews and website details and we were really happy that it didn't just live up to expectation but it was better than very good. It is a modern, clean and very comfortable hotel which manages to be large and efficient as well as lending a boutique hotel feel. The staff are, without exception, helpful and courteous and show interest in your plans and if they can help with anything. The desk recommended suitable places to eat and they didn't disappoint. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody and we loved Philadelphia. A fantastic long weekend spent and my two children (aged 6 & 5) both enjoyed it tremendously.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Theoswife,

What a pleasure to read such wonderful comments! Thank you for staying with us and I am happy to see you had a great time.

Please come see us again soon!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I've stayed in a number of Kimpton properties in Boston and Washington, DC and have never been disappointed; the new Palomar in Philadelphia continues my great experiences. From the valet greeting me and telling me to let the front desk know that I drive a hybrid car because it would get me a discounted room rate to the beautifully appointed, super quiet room, I couldn't have asked for more. The staff is so kind and friendly, the rooms are thoughtfully laid out and filled with little conveniences, and the bar and restaurant were excellent. We even had a celebrity chef sighting in the bar! Overall, another excellent Kimpton experience and one that reinforces why the brand is my absolute favorite among hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyCoulom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Hrppa,

Great to see that we lived up to your past Kimpton experiences! Thanks for continuing to stay with us.

Kelly Coulom
Director of Keeping it Consistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is a great hotel in the middle of where you want to be: shopping, food, culture. The rooms are stylish and comfy. The staff is personable, accommodating and friendly. Great bar scene, too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyCoulom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear mpTX,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Sounds like we hit on all cylinders with you. Hope to see you back soon.

Kelly Coulom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

In town 5 days for a conference, I wanted to enjoy my stay, not just survive. Upon checking reviews, I found that the conference hotel was going to be a bland, mediocre, giant, faceless corporate beast. I prefer a smaller hotel, where the staff know your name from the first day, where they go out of their way to serve you, where everyone seems happy to be working their. That's the business I choose to support.

That's EXACTLY what I got at the Hotel Palomar. Excellent service from Michael, Eric, Linsday, and everyone else at the front desk. Amazingly clean every day by the friendly housekeepers.

On top of that, a very stylish room with comfortable bed and great work area.

All in all, a perfect stay. Colleagues at the corporate conference hotel envied me.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyCoulom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Lunachan,

Awesome comments. I'll be sure to read them over with the team, especially Michael, Eric and Lindsay. I'm so happy to read enjoyed your time in Philly and at the Palomar. Bring those friends with you next time!

See you soon,
Kelly Coulom
VP of Creating a Personalized Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

..mine is having a good night rest, which this hotel failed to help me with.
To be honest, we loved the layout of the room and the Spa bath is truly fantastic! The staff was ok, I guess. I did not find them particuliarly nice, nor not nice either and it is well located.
The big drawback of this hotel is that the walls are paper thin like, which implies you will hear whatever your neighbours are doing... including having sex. If it wasn't for particuliar reason, I would have recommended it, and to be honest, I was hesitant in reviewing it because at first I thought it is one of those incidents an hotel cannot really be blamed for. But when I think about it, they could have thought of a better way to set rooms next to each other. Bed to bed is not the best options to avoid hearing the other guests, and thicker walls would have been a plus. We did not hear any noise from outside, though.
So, again, I guess it depends of your priorities, if you are a light sleeper or not and who you end up next to.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyCoulom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Sandolliou,

That's tough to read. A good night's rest is certainly important when choosing a Hotel. Please contact me directly on kelly.coulom@hotelpalomar.com. I'd love to add a note to your guest profile to ensure you are in a quiet room for all return visits to a Kimpton Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Kelly Coulom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We could only get away for a few days so we chose to head to Philly. We arrived at the hotel on a side street by car and I ran around to the front to ask where the garage was and the Front door person walked all the way back around the corner with me to take the car!. We were 1 hour ahead of check in time and waited in the bar and had very nice local brews to sip while we waited. When we got to our room we were very happy! The room was lovely and the spa tub was luxurious. We had wine hour in the lobby and the wines were very nice but the popcorn was truly yummy. I am a Kimpton member and it was my birthday so we got complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries! The Location is fabulous; I will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyCoulom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Marid22,

Happy Birthday! Thanks for spending it at the Palomar and for reviewing your experience! Hope to see you next year.

Kelly Coulom
VP of Making Birthday's Special
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 117 South 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel, is the first LEED Gold Certified luxury hotel in the heart of Center City is a testament to superior eco-friendly hotel design, personalized service and genuinely warm hospitality. Hotel Palomar is a unique luxury boutique hotel that features a striking lobby, the critically acclaimed Square 1682 restaurant and on-site fitness center. Throughout our boutique hotel, original artwork dynamically interacts with soft hues, luxurious custom furnishings and original architectural detailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.