We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The One and Only” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster House

Oyster House
1516 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19102 (City Center West)
(215) 567-7683
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Center West
Description: Formerly known as the Sansom Street Oyster House. Re-opened recently as The Oyster House. Would like to write a review.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The One and Only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Every city needs a restaurant with a great raw bar. In Philly, The Oyster House is it. I go here for the 5 - 7 happy hour before Phillies games and before other evening events in the city througout the year. Buck a shuck oysters and $3 beers with a creative and varied beer selection (that constantly changes). You also have a choice of about 10 other varieties of oysters plus clams and other chilled seafood. Best gin selection of any bar in the city. Why drink vodka when you can have gin? Great vodka has no taste. Someone has to explain that to me some day.

We followed with snapper soup for which they are justifiably famous. And some Manhattan claim chowder that had a nice kick to it. Dinner was red drum served with a red bell pepper sauce that was a perfect complement to the fish. And some red potatoes and fresh green beans. Simply delicious.

In and out in 75 minutes and in time for the first pitch at CB Park.

If you're visiting Philly and want to get a cocktail or a few nice brews and some great seafood in an unpretentious, but nicely laid out and cool place to hang, this is your spot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    90
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Ultra-Fresh Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The Oyster House is our regular lunch place whenever we're in Philadelphia and it never disappoints. Today they were really on their game...wonderful littlenecks and scrumptious shrimp followed by the fried oyster platter for me and the tuna salad for my wife. Everything tastes like it just left the sea, which is probably true. Also, great beers and a selection of wines that perfectly compliment the seafood.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for a quick lunch and were deeply impressed. The choice of different types of oysters is very satisfying. The servers are very helpful in assisting you in your choice. After the oysters, we both went for the shrimp salad, which was awesome, with blue cheese, salad, tomatoes, bacon, avocado and egg. We also loved the interior design : no-nonsense, clear and airy, not cramped at all and the raw bar deservedly taking center piece. A real pleasure. A perfect score then ? Not quite. The white housewine was a bit of a let down, rather poor quality and served too warm. That is a pity : a smart high-end restaurateur should always make sure to pick a good quality house wine. Apart from that : an address to cherish.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific raw bar..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The oysters and the staff are amazing! Ate there one night by myself and took the wife with me the next night for a repeat! Great little raw bar!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“A pearl in center city philadelphia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went fro Brunch on a Saturday. The place was empty but the staff was ready and willing. Very curteous and knowledgeable. The egg based dishes we ordered were eclectic and delightful, each one coupled with a fish or crustecean based protein - executed perfectly. Places like this set the tone for a city and Philadelphia needs more of them as it could come close to New York food wise if diners were more selective and demanding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster House also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.