We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice interiors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Philadelphia to your Saves list
Le Meridien Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location and nice interiors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Le Meridien is a bit more expensive than the nearby SPG hotels like Sheraton Downtown and Sheraton Society Hill but its worth it. I faced some difficulties with this hotel with my reserved rate suddenly increasing on the date of check-in but the duty manager Salaah patiently worked to resolve it. Now, when we checked-in, this hotel along with all other hotels in the vicinity was sold out. However, we still got decent service and attention, which sometimes is not the case when the hotel is sold out. The lobby is modern and stylish, although a tad small, but the 5th floor open area which is quite unique makes up for it. The fitness center (also on the 5th floor) is well equipped. We were lucky to get a room on the 5th floor facing the city hall (beautiful by the day and even more beautiful in the night with its yellow lit clock tower dial) and I suggest you request for a city hall view room if possible. Beds are extremely comfortable with a noticeably higher thread count sheet. The only small problem we faced during the stay is that housekeeping forgot to clean our room at the time slot of 3-5 PM that we had provided to them as we were going to be out during that time. This wasn't too much of a bother as when I brought this to the attention of the service call center, they arranged someone to come up and do the service immediately. The breakfast was definitely the high point of our stay at the hotel with the waiter being very friendly and prompt and ala carte items prepared fresh and to-order (I hate the "free" breakfast buffets where the food just stands there forever and this is so much nicer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city hall if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    271
    107
    24
    25
See reviews for
128
276
58
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed at Le Meridien several times this year on business and simply loved it. This will be my regular choice if things stay as good as they were.

The service is top-notch, the rooms (although small) are well appointed and location-wise it was pretty close to great restaurants and some cool city sights. It's an old building, but that just adds to the charm.

I highly recommend eating at the bar...the food is pretty fantastic and the drink prices during happy hour are well worth the visit...that is if you enjoy high quality red wine for $5 a glass.

The lobby area is pretty hip with great seating and a fireplace.

All-in-all, I highly recommend this property and will be looking forward to the next visit.

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hayden,

Thank you for the 5 star review. I am delighted you have enjoyed your visit and that we have had the opportunity to earn your business.

It's great to hear you enjoy the bar. We have new Sparkling cocktails coming out soon and hope you will have the chance to enjoy one along with you meal.

Our staff will celebrate another "highly recommended" comment. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Enjoy the spring!
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

So, we bid and won deluxe accommodations at Le Meridien through a silent auction at a charity event. We called Le Meridien to make the arrangements - they took our gift cert info and told us we were all set and to have an incredible stay. As busy parents of young children, we wedged in the best night we could - over my wife's birthday weekend. We landed an overnight sitter rearranged swim lessons, rushed normal weekend activities, and prepared ourselves to have a fun night in the city. Then we got to Le Meridien. The front desk attendants started off so nice, then would not honor our gift certificate. She didn't say it was invalid, in fact we confirmed that the gift certificate was noted in the booking. She simply said we should have called a different number to make the arrangements because that night the room we had wasn't one of their gift cert rooms (or something like that). The problem is that number that was given on the gift certificate always had gone to voicemail, which is why we just called the main number, but made sure we confirmed that we'd be all set. We explained that, but she wouldn't budge. She said we could stay and pay for the room, but she couldn't honor our gift certificate. And so ruined the birthday weekend I had planned for my wife. Such a nice thing they did for charity.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
MIllsy Trotter
Thank you for sharing your comments. I can understand how frustrating it was to encounter that experience while trying to celebrate your wife’s birthday. Clearly we made mistakes through this reservation and I offer my apologies.
We are delighted to contribute complimentary nights to select charities. We do offer those certificates with certain date restrictions and unfortunately the date you preferred was restricted. We should have returned your voicemail and offered alternative dates. Our second mistake was the central reservation not referring you back to the property instead of accepting your reservation for a suite. Lastly, we should have better handled the situation while you were trying to check in.
I want to thank you for your generous support of that charity and I will be more than happy to continue honor the commitment we made with our generous contribution. Please contact me directly so that we can plan an opportunity to remedy the situation and earn your respect for commitment to serve you and recognize our missed opportunities.
Regards,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Great location, friendly staff, spacious clean rooms. The hotel is situated in the heart of downtown Philly near the banking district. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance with a view of city hall from the front parts of the hotel.

The beds are very comfortable in the regular king rooms, good quality linen, well-appointed bathrooms, plush fittings in the rooms.

My only two complaints (if you could even call them that):

The reception counter is around the corner from the main entrance. There is a bar counter in front of the main entrance which is actually a bar serving clients, not a reception / front desk. The seating in this area is also in my opinion a but badly planned for a hotel with high foot traffic, as the seating areas for the bar are scattered between the front entrance and the elevators, forcing guests to circumvent that area every time they leave or enter the hotel. This isn't a catastrophe, but one reason why I wouldn't give the hotel five out of five (I would have given them four-and-a-half if it were possible).

The other issue - breakfast at Amuse is prohibitively expensive (around $50-60 for juice, coffee, yoghurt and an omelette).

Don't order cheesesteak from the room service menu, go to Steve's Prince of Steaks in town (recommended by the front desk).

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the square - great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We checked into the Meridien of Philadelphia and found ourselves in a lovely, recently modernized hotel. Not a monster either. Apparently the thing was a YMCA in its previous life. The hotel is built around what is now an interior courtyard, and that is used as a business center and lounge space. New quick elevators, lovely furnishings (not hotel-bland either, the bright fire engine red curtains in our room were a treat!) i really like the place. ONe quirk - we were in room 757 which is nice and long, but not deep. So whoever laid this one out put the bed, facing the wall, at one end and the TV at the other. So to watch the tv whilst in bed (a failing of this lazy person sad to relate) you gotta roll over on your side and get out the binoculars, or sit on the edge of the bed, or some other as yet undiscovered contortion. Otherwise, we loved the place, and the room service coffee is excellent too!

Room Tip: We lucked out and got an exterior room. I would imagine the interior rooms, the ones on the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

A recent trip to a conference in Philadelphia, we selected a hotel online and sometimes when you are in a hurry, you are taking your chances. I have to say this hotel far exceeded our expectations. The staff were friendly and always eager to assist with whatever we needed. When we travel to conferences like these, we generally have a trade show booth and that in itself requires a lot of detail to organize. Inevitably, there is always something missing from our supplies, we need directions and/or help with shipping items back to our office. These folks went far above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Its not a large hotel, however it would appear that it has been recently renovated. The rooms were clean, had large well appointed washrooms and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. I hope I get another chance to go back to Philadelphia - if for nothing else - to stay here again! Great job by the staff at Le Meridien Philly!

Room Tip: There are rooms that face a courtyard or that face the street. I stayed in one that faced the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Comfortable, clean room with modern furnishings. The hotel has a great location for sight-seeing.

WIFI is only in the reception area, which is a bit annoying. Parking was also a bit of a nightmare. It's very pricey if you want to park nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Philadelphia

Address: 1421 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Meridien Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.