We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you can get a discount” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Philadelphia to your Saves list
Le Meridien Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel if you can get a discount”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past month. The first time it was midweek and we were given a beautiful room with a view of city center. The hotel is modern and very nice. It is in a great location. It was a 15 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants in Rittenhouse Square. It is probably a pretty far walk if you are seeing the historic sights in the old city. The second time we stayed there is was a very disorganized check in, they couldn't find my reservation even though I was showing them my email confirmation. It all got worked out but they gave us a room with a view of a brick wall 5 feet away instead of apologizing for check in taking 30 minutes and making sure we had a nice room. All in all I would stay here again if I got a discount. No need to pay more than $225 per night for this hotel

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    262
    105
    22
    24
See reviews for
127
267
56
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Room was great, staff was professional and friendly...bar in the lobby was a great spot for a pre-dinner drink. In a pretty good spot for walking to dinner, we had a 10 minute walk in the evening, stopped for gelato on the way home. Not sure how it works if you want to self-park your car, but we were in for an anniversary evening so I felt like paying $40 to valet park. Drinks at the bar were extremely reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Jesse,

Thank you for the five star review! I am delighted you chose to celebrate your anniversary in our hotel and enjoyed the experience. It's great to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy drinks in our bar.

Sounds like you may have found one of my favorite Philadelphia gelato spots - Capogiro, just a few short blocks from the hotel. It's a great find in our neighborhood and I hope many other travelers have the chance to enjoy the same treat.

I hope we have the chance to serve you again before your next anniversary!

Safe travels,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Le Meridien in downtown Philadelphia. Historic building - was once a YWCA, private school and DA offices. The room was large and roomy for two people. Had a great view of City hall. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and provided concierge services when that desk was not occupied. The location is convenient with public transportation near by. I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: ask for a city view - our room overlooked City hall and the Masonic temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Le Meredien Philadelphia for one night for a business trip. At first, everything seemed fine- nice valet guy, nice woman at check-in. But, there were several issues with my room. One of the bath towels had a hole in it; the top sheet on the bed, when folded down, had a large yellow stain; the headboard had yellow stains on it which were skillfully covered by the pillows standing up (who makes a hotel headboard of white fabric??); the marble side tables had numerous rings on them from glasses, like they had not been wiped in weeks. A hotel in this category should not have any of these issues at all. I could pay a quarter of the price and stay at motel 6 if I want holes in the towels. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owego, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

There are so many better places to stay in Philadelphia, I cannot imagine why anyone would choose this one, particularly at the kind of prices they get. The room was fairly "compact" (read small), the restaurant vastly overpriced (a bowl of ordinary oatmeal is $10; $11 if served in the room) and the food is truly ordinary, to say the least. Parking (valet only) is $40 per night plus 20% tax. The whole experience was a big disappointment except that all the employees were very nice and most helpful. They have that part down pat. The lobby is like an obstacle course getting from the entrance to the elevator. If I couldn't get into one of the hotels I prefer, I would try some other establishment, not this one.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First...a shout out to Misha at the front desk who made the good things great and fixed the bumps along the way. She is a gem. And Willy at the Bar who served as back up concierge and all around great guy. And John who got us into a restaurant that was sold out which we loved! If I was in town for business......the hotel would absoutely suffice. For our long weekend vacation, we thought it missed the mark. Something about the location across from City Hall was just lacking on a weekend where during the week, it seemed to be a part of the action. Service at the front door was a far cry from the service in the hotel. But most of all...we were dissapointed by the room. This design is what gives modern a bad name. Bland and inexpensive. The armoir door was falling off on our first room. As this is an old YMCA converted to a hotel....the rooms were indeed small and we had to actually ask (and done right away) to bring a chair to our room as there was no where to sit. The design just was not good. Even after a few nights....we continued to get one bottle of water and one bathrobe. (In the am...no turndown service) But we enjoyed our breakfasts and the redo of the building in general including the atrium was well done (and saved a pretty wonderful facade) So Kudos there. And our Starwood perks did give it that special extra which always helps. Also enjoyed the $10 entrance for guests to the gym next door. Just not consistant in my eyes to many hotels in this chain....except for the staff of course!

Room Tip: Opt for a City Hall View.....its pretty amazing at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My usual Philadelphia hotels were booked so I stayed at the Meridien. This is not the chain's top hotel. It's fine but not 4 or 5 star. The lobby is very modern, and you have to walk through furniture to get to the elevators. Odd lay out The rooms are decent but nothing special. I arrived late and ordered room service dinner. The food was terrible, and I am not picky. I expect better from a Meridien hotel. The Sofitel in Philadelphia is a step above this hotel. The Westin is on par.

Room Tip: Upgrade before you get there. I am a starwood gold preferred member and no upgrades were available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Philadelphia

Address: 1421 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.