We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Philadelphia to your Saves list
Le Meridien Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I loved this boutique style hotel. I got a good deal at $110 per night and was very impressed with the quality of the linens and pillows, the comfort of the king bed, the amazing shower and great service/staff. The room we had was at the rear of the building so it was very quiet.
They do charge $38/night for parking (common in the city centre) but you can take your car out as many times as you like - the valets were very nice and accommodating. The hotel is close to Love Park and City Hall and within walking distance of Reading Terminal Market and many other attractions,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    312
    124
    30
    29
See reviews for
151
322
60
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Yes, this was once the YMCA, but not any more. It has a little bit of DNA from the W line at SPG in the common areas but the hotel is a quiet one. There are great views of the City Hall with Wm. Penn atop and also of the Philadelphia skyline. Amuse, the hotel's restaurant is fairly authentic French Bistro style with hustling staff. We've stayed here multiple times and eaten here by choice. In what probably is America's worst city to have a drink, the bar here serves a solid cocktail at a fair price. PA has better liquor laws than Utah, but generally it's painful to pay for drinks in Philly. One of at least 4 really good SPG properties in various parts of the city.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are exceptionally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here and was thoroughly unimpressed. Poor check-in experience as the staff had a lot of attitude, which is unusual at SPG properties in my experience. She gave me essentially the worst room in the hotel, I think, and as an SPG platinum member they are supposed to give me a suite if it is available or at least a nicer room. Said they were sold out. When I got to my room the view was literally of a wall. I called SPG and they called the hotel and within about ten minutes a guy showed up at my door with a key for my suite. Somehow, magically, a suite was available when just ten minutes before it was not and she swore they were totally sold out.

Room service was strange. There is no number to call so when I called the operator to ask for room service, she said she could take the order. That was helpful, but odd. Food was unimpressive, and expensive and small for what I ordered.

Staff was completely apathetic at every interaction. I even ran into an upper level management person who asked how my stay was. When I said it wasn't very good he didn't seem interested and followed up with a lame, "well at least that was taken care of" after I told him about something or other that happened.

My friend stayed at the Sheraton around the corner and when he walked into my room said his was much nicer, and he was comparing my suite to his regular room.

The only thing that was great were the doormen. Each was nicer than the next and could not have been more eager to help and sincere.

I will not visit this property again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanGM, General Manager at Le Meridien Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
LA Business Traveler,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I do apologize that we failed to deliver a great experience during this visit.

I appreciate your recognizing the door team was sincere and eager to help. Clearly, our manager missed the opportunity to better respond to your feedback, he and I have spoken to ensure that does not happen again. Unfortunately, I do not have enough information on your stay to completely assess our missed expectations. I would greatly appreciate your contacting me with the details of your stay (dates and room number). This would allow me to review the check in and room service order so I can provide appropriate coaching and feedback.

Your SPG loyalty is appreciated and I hope we have the opportunity to have you back as our guest and demonstrate our commitment to excellence.

Please feel free to call me at 215.422.8200 or email me at evan.gm@lemeridienphiladelphia.com.

Thank you,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went to a wedding at the hotel. Everything from the room to the food and service could not have been better. The architecture was interesting too with the open brick inside. Probably an older building, but so well preserved and modern. Easy walk to the major historical attractions. Parking was a little nuts though - $38 for an overnight. That's my only knock on the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Door men/women were great with assisting with anything you need, hotel staff were great and overall hotel architecture was awesome. My guest room had large windows with views, the bathroom was very large with great shower, lighting and counter space. I tried the restaurant for dinner and the service was the best I have had in a while and food had a great presentation.
I will definitely return to this property next time I am in Philly.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I had a fantastic stay at the Le Meridien Philadelphia over the summer and would recommend it to anyone wanting quality accommodation for a good value. We were able to find an extremely attractive sale (which Le Meridien has often) and made a weekend of it.

I did not rent a car, so most of the weekend we just walked from the Le Meridien and was able to explore the museums, restaurants and bars of the downtown area. Late at night certain parts of area can feel a little bit "sketchy", but overall we didn't think it was a problem.

The room was exactly what you should expect from a Le Meridien. It is stylish and clean. Not incredibly spacious, but not claustrophobic. We did not eat or drink at the hotel, but everyone we spoke with in the hotel was very friendly and happy to help us with recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Great location - next to historic philly
Great rooms
Super clean
Staff is super friendy
Food is amazing
Hotel is gorgeous
Would DEFINATELY stay there again ans will recommend to anyone visiting philly

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,403 reviews
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#46 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#15 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
City Center West
Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Philadelphia

Address: 1421 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Meridien Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.