We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Philadelphia to your Saves list
Le Meridien Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
Webster, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from an amazing weekend celebrating a wedding! The hotel was easy to get to, welcoming, clean, pretty and comfortable. Room was modern and bed was great! Lots of space for families to gather in lounge, bar, lobby to visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    272
    108
    24
    25
See reviews for
128
277
58
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
353 helpful votes 353 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Yes... it WAS an old YMCA, but not anymore!! It is a cool, trendy boutique hotel now. The rooms were small but were comfortable. The bathrooms were a good size. The hotel did have its shortcomings. We reserved a King room, only to find out when we checked in that the King rooms do not have bathtubs, which is a must for me. So we had to change to a room with 2 double beds, which was uncomfortable because the beds were too short and cramped for my husband and me.

For business travelers... you'll be happy to know that there is NO SHORTAGE of electrical outlets!! There were 4 built into the top of the TV cabinet plus I saw 3 other easily assessable ones in the room that were not being used by lamps... & I didn't have to move furniture to find these.

We had internet during our stay, but in the evenings it didn't work very well, probably because usage was higher in the evening. It was annoying. Perhaps the hotel should get a few more routers or do something to improve internet service.

The service in this hotel was fantastic. Especially, the doormen and valets. I can't remember being in a hotel where they were so helpful and friendly.

My biggest complaint is as SPG Gold Members, we were given ZERO recognition. We were not put on a high floor, as requested (we were on the 6th which is probably the lowest floor with guest rooms) and we were not put on the SPG Preferred Guest Floor. We were not given a room upgrade either, but of course, that is only when available and I was told that the hotel was sold out for at least one of the nights during our stay.

In spite of all my complaints, I actually loved this hotel. Every time I got off the elevator on our floor I felt I was on a New York City Street Movie Set. It was just amazing. When we come back... I'll be sure to request, in advance, a room with a bathtub (King room, if they actually have any) plus I'll be sure to ask for a room on the SPG floor. Perhaps, if I request early enough, they will honor my request.

Room Tip: We were told that the King Rooms do NOT have bathtubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Loved the conveniently central Philadelphia location, tasteful decor and professional staff; We were here for a wedding and hosted the on-site after-wedding brunch in the Abele Library and received many compliments on the food and service; Staff also handled emergencies promptly and efficiently (street blockade due to neighboring building fire emergency upon arrival; and a 4AM fire alarm from a boiler malfunction). Would definitely recomment Le Meridien

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just spent 4 nights here and loved every minute of our stay. We stayed in a deluxe king with a great view of City Hall. The room was very comfortable - with two side chairs and a small table - was very clean, as was the whole hotel. Of special note was the staff - friendly, professional and no request was too much trouble. For example, on a few occasions, the doorman would run a block to the nearest cross street to hail a cab!
The only negatives would be the additional charge for wi-fi and bottled water, although to be fair we were only charged for one of three bottles.

Room Tip: Rooms facing city hall such as 643
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The location is perfect-- in city center and near Chinatown.
The room is big and clean-- can be seen in the picture I uploaded.
The price is fair-- around $150 per night (tax included)
Service is nice. People are friendly.
Fitness room on the 5th floor.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at the hotel in October for business. The location was convenient and the staff did an awesome job to offer service and accommodated our teams special requests for the conference we were attending.
The restaurant Amuse Brasserie exceeded our expectations. Our group was surprised by the fresh menu selections and that the Chef offered to adjust the menu for a member of our team who has a gluten allergy.
The only negative were the bed pillows. There should be an option for firmer bed pillows or updated to offer better neck support.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Loved my hotel room, almost like a junior suite. The staff was helpful. The only negative was that I had to call everyday to get my room cleaned. I would return to my room after 2:30 pm both days and the room was still messy. This was inconvenient as I was in Philly for a wedding and returned to begin dressing for the wedding. I asked for a late check out the third day since my plane to Italy was not leaving until 6 PM and was denied. I was told if later than 1 PM I would need to pay additional money. I thought this was funny since I could never get my room cleaned before 3 PM.
I would stay here again. The location is excellent, the hotel lobby and rooms excellent, the staff was helpful. I used the gym daily, located on the fourth floor and it was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Philadelphia

Address: 1421 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.