We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christ Church Cemetery

Christ Church Cemetery
Philadelphia, PA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$70*
and up
Small-Group Historical Walking Tour of Colonial...
Ranked #93 of 262 Attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buried here are signers of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Quiet Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The history here is just incredible. The headstones are beautiful and it is such a peaceful place in the center of a huge city.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    32
    16
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So many historically important people buried here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Really interesting and great to see Benjamin Franklin's resting place. Many other important figures from the Revolutionary War also here along with many understated gravestones.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

History comes alive here. The enthusiastic guides really know their stuff! Many important people (Benjamin Franklin included) and ordinary citizens are buried here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really neat people are buried there.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It is free, and very historic. When you close your eyes you can picture them still walking those streets.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Revolutionary Resting Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were walking along and saw the sign for this cemetery. I had heard of it but forgot about it. We decided to check it out. There were several people taking pictures outside the beautiful wrought iron fence. I thought it was odd that they were taking pictures of Benjamin Franklin's final resting place from outside the fence; why not go it? I found the answer when I discovered that they were charging $2 entrance fee. We decided to go in...$2 is not much.

The biggest draw in the cemetery is Ben Franklin and his wife Deborah's graves. People tend to throw pennies on the marble top. Right next the the grave was nice display of marigolds and flags.

There are a few other signers of the Declaration of Independence here as well. We walked around beneath the trees and took note of all the old tombstones.

It is worth the $2 but I probably wouldn't have paid much more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church Cemetery also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Christ Church Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christ Church Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.