We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids - hands on science fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Franklin National Memorial

Ben Franklin National Memorial
222 North 20th St, Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
215 448 1200
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 262 Attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Memorial, modeled after the Roman Pantheon, features a 20-foot marble statue of Benjamin Franklin as well as some of Franklins possessions, including his publications and the machines he used in his experiments.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great for kids - hands on science fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A hands on focus on most exhibits, the Franklin was a hit with our 4 year old, and her parents. 2 hours of respite from the sweltering heat were welcome. A planetarium show was included in the admission. Walking through the heart was a highlight. Caught one staff demo, on fun with liquid nitrogen. Her enthusiasm had me wishing we'd seen more.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
133 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Philly in a day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

All the sites in Philly can be done in a day. We did just that. I promise there is a lot to see when you are doing the historical tour but everything is located next to each other for the most part. Park in the garage and walk to everything. Some things cost, some do not. All a great find. We loved this as much as all the others memorials and monuments.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Memorial and Institute”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This statue is located inside the Franklin Institute. Then statue itself is wonderful and something to see, however, I was disappointed that I could not find any information on what was inside this museum before we went. It was interesting enough, with the giant heart that you can tour and the planetarium. However, the planetarium show is boring and long. It was approx $50 bucks for 2 adults and one child. There is a cafeteria, but the staff was abrupt and it was very expensive.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“An American Genius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you don't already know about the famous American's studies and talents, study up on him before you go. It is worth the history lesson.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Franklin National Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Ben Franklin National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Franklin National Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.