We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Roast Pork” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John's Roast Pork

John's Roast Pork
14 E. Snyder Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19148 (Bella Vista / Queen Village)
(215) 463-1951
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Barbecue
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
casey5508
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Roast Pork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stopped at John's Roast Pork for lunch and of course ordered their specialty roast pork sandwich with provolone cheese. As we were paying, we were asked if it was with spinach? We had never heard of this so they gave us a small container to try on our sandwich. It was excellent! After we were done eating outside, there was a spigot you could you use to rinse off your hands.
This was the best pork sandwich, the service was excellent, we highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    35
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Roast Pork Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife Cathy and I walked there from the nearby Lowe's and split a large roast pork sandwich. While paying for it we were asked if we had cheese, and we answered "yes, provolone" and then we were asked spinach? And I said Huh? So the owner(I Assume) went and got us a little container of spinach to try in the sandwich. We sat outside where they had ample places to sit(none inside) and all their condiments, whole cherry peppers, pickles, hot sauce etc. When you sit outside you are literally sitting on a railroad track that is in service. The sandwich was incredible and very interesting with the added spinach. After a tasty and messy sandwich there is access to a spigot out the back to use to clean your hands. Very cool. Great experience. Worth the stop before a sporting event at the Stadium Complex and walkable from Washington Square.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you are looking for a roast pork that is much better than your mom ever made at home, head to John's roast pork in South Philly. The pork is seasoned to perfection and tender. The au jus is so flavorful. The bread also compliments the flavorful meat. It is well worth the trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This south phillie establishment is worth the drive, from anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Had the pleasure of eating at johns roast pork on advice from a friend on a recent college visiting day trip. We were so impressed, I made a special trip back up from Baltimore just to eat lunch. We had the pleasure of sitting and enjoying our lunch with John and his mother Vonda, and hearing about the history and growth of this iconic establishment. It's great to see a multi generation run family business. The cheesesteak sub was by far the best I've had in Philly. The amount of meat was insane and the sharp provolone was a great touch. Words cannot describe the roast pork sub. Just know to get the sharp provolone and spinach.Kudos to John and his family. The hour and half drive, one way was totally worth it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place for lunch!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was on a mission to find a local Marshall's department store in order to get a more comfortable pair of shoes for my stayin Philly for a business conference... My GPS directed me to E. Snyder Ave. As I approached my destination, I glanced over at this lunch shack - John's Roast Pork - that had a line of people out the door and around the corner and several folks eating at picnic tables outdoors. It was 2:00pm and well past the normal lunch hour, but something told me this had to be a local "gem." My mind was set that I was headed back to John's for a late lunch just as soon as I found a pair of comfortable shoes! Let's just say, there is a good reason why the line was long... I ordered the cheesesteak with sweet peppers and onions, a small fry and a drink.... By far, this was the best cheesesteak I have ever had! The service was outstanding, the food was great and the owner was pleased to share the history of the family business with me when I asked. Aside from the local restaurants in Saratoga Springs, NY where I'm apt to know the owner's name, John Bucci was extremely friendly and went as far as introducing me to his wife and mother and some of the other local folks dining outside. (There were two vrigins dining at John's today - me and anopther woman who was brought there by her daughter who continued to rave about the place as they enjoyed their roast beef hoagies. I'm in town for the week and plan on returning with my colleagues. PS - I programmed the address on my GPS as a favorite!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Roast Pork also viewed

 
 

Been to John's Roast Pork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Roast Pork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.