We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spur of the moment stop here since the free home tours are no longer being offered.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Betsy Ross House

Betsy Ross House
239 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
215-629-4026
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$50*
and up
Philadelphia Segway Tour
Ranked #70 of 262 Attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Historic Georgian-style home where the first American flag was made pays tribute to the creator of the Stars and Stripes.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment stop here since the free home tours are no longer being offered.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My daughter and I stopped in here because she loves touring old and new homes and looking at the architecture and furniture of the times. We had wanted to tour the two historical homes that offered free tours but due to government cutbacks the tours were no longer being offered. The price here was somewhat reasonable (I believe $6) for an adult ticket. We did our own tour, not a guided tour. We very much enjoyed it and learned lots about the Revolutionary War and Betsy Ross. It was a history lesson along with seeing the house.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    103
    76
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Fun way to get the facts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is an excellent presentation not just about Betsy Ross and the flag, but also the issues of the Revolution in Philadelphia. The information is well presented. There are many plaques (and an audio tour) that give the history.
The live "Betsy Ross" is charming as she explains her life and answers our questions. Besides learning about the flag, we learned about life in that difficult time and how the war affected people who supported either the King or the Revolutionaries. Sewing the flag seems a small deal until you realize it was an act of treason punishable by a painful execution if discovered.
The house also gives insight to daily life in the late 18th century.
If stairs are an issue for you, the [self guided] tour has many stairs.
A great place for a short lesson in practical history.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I visited this historic house when it was relatively quiet. We took the audio tour and it was so interesting. In between listening to the audio you can read all about Betsy and the others she was involved with. The house is small but it has been renovated giving a good idea of what life was like at that time. The actress who played Betsy Rose was excellent. She gave us lots more information and was happy to take questions. A nice museum to visit

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just another historic house”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This shd be last on your list. The tour itself is not packaged very well. Very less information is given if you are ignorant abt Betsy Ross. Also the lodging is crammed and not very unique if you have visited other historic houses. In the basement there is a lady dressed up as Betsy Ross and the effect ends up being comical.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Experience for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

It was a wonderful if not entirely historically true or factual at least mythical or legendary experience for kids and adults alike. Loved the live performance by "Betsy Ross" in her work shop. She was wonderful at interacting with kids and adults alike as she told "her story". My son who is 11 loved it and he received some personal attention which is memorable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betsy Ross House also viewed

 

Been to Betsy Ross House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betsy Ross House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.