We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative, Though Little Connection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edgar Allan Poe National Historic Site

Edgar Allan Poe National Historic Site
532 North 7th St, Philadelphia, PA 19123
215/597-8780
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 262 Attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The simple home where Edgar Allen Poe lived and wrote. Among other stories, Poe wrote The Tell-Tale Heart here.
Top Contributor
555 reviews 555 reviews
438 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Informative, Though Little Connection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I am a huge fan of Edgar Allan Poe and when I discovered that there was a historic site dedicated to him in Philly, I made sure to squeeze it in. Once I found the house, which is not in the best of of neighborhoods. I was disappointed to discover that the author had spent an extremely short period of time at this house. They had nice exhibits in a couple of rooms, but mostly the house was empty and you had to sort of guess what it would have looked like.....

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    33
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PORT ALLEGANY
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“The guide makes it great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is one of the several rented houses in which Poe lived during his productive six years in Philadelphia. It is unfurnished and unrestored with paintings on the walls suggestive of period furnishings. A short slide show bio introduces Poe. We were grateful we had the time to take the guided tour as the guide was knowledgeable, informative, passionate even. We dragged my husband along, who expected to be bored, but he came away fascinated. If you have even more time, there is a furnished reading room with the complete works, and recorded readings by actors such as Christopher Walken.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This historic site was a pleasant surprise. There was a sign to knock before entering, and to my surprise, it was really nice inside. There is a self guided tour of Edgar Allan Poe's house and lots of information for you to learn about Edgar Allan Poe. Definitely worth a visit if you have 1 hour to spare. .

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but not an A-list item”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I enjoyed this site. It's free and you can take a 30-minute guided tour. There's not particularly a lot to see in terms of house a layout and furnishings but I'd recommend it if you're in the area and have 45 minutes to spare.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Basement gave me the willy's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A small townhouse but very informative about Poe's life and some of his possessions are nicely displayed. A room with a film documentary in short then off to visit the rooms. The guide explains Poe's family history as well as his own. I still have doubts of Poe's vices in life and cause of death. What was told by the guide and what I felt happened differed but that is only my opinion. Poe did not live there all the time and did not die in Philadelphia. The rooms were small and cramped. Stairways were narrow. The basement was eerie to me. But then again I was waiting for a raven to come out of one of the dark corners and start squalking. The upkeep of the townhouse is still in great shape. All in all, a nice to place to visit and tour. They need donations too to help with preservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar Allan Poe National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Edgar Allan Poe National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgar Allan Poe National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.