We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Travelocity
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area) (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #40 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent Stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express over the weekend and the stay was great! Excellent location (on the water) with great view!! The staff was great and very helpful with getting around the city. I will stay again if coming to Philly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    71
    19
    15
    7
See reviews for
44
44
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They allowed us to come in while lost and allowed us to get out of the cold. They offered us hot beverages and made us feel very comfortable and were unbelievably thankful. Ken was especially very helpful. It was very nice and comforting in there. I was pleasantly surprised with the service and would definitely return for an overnight trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear rscat0529,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that Ken took good care of you! He is a true asset to our company.

We hope that should you need to stay that you do indeed stay with us!

Thank you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The location was great, very close to Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and Betsy Ross' house. We asked for and got a river view room, which has a lovely view of a bridge. Everyone I dealt with at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful, particularly Tamir and Nick. The hotel has a free shuttle bus that will take you anywhere you want to go within a two-mile radius. They give you a card with the shuttle cell phone, and they will pick you up wherever you are within their range. We used this service a lot during our stay, and the shuttle drivers were very friendly and helpful as well (I did not get their names, but both of them were great). The hotel is very modern, and the rooms were a decent size. The beds were comfortable with updated decor. The bathroom had a large granite vanity with plenty of room to put your toiletries. The elevators were fast, so we never had to wait long. Breakfast was a step above the usual free breakfast fare. There were eggs and sausage each day, as well as warm cinnamon rolls, cereal, toast/bagels, biscuits and gravy, fruit, yogurt and a nifty pancake machine. Definitely more than adequate. Some may find the hotel a bit noisy from traffic, although there is not much traffic at night on the river side, so that side may be a better choice if you are sensitive to noise. We were not really bothered by this, but some might be. All in all, we had a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river side room for a better view and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Laurie W,

On behalf of the staff and our team, thank you so much for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Penn's Landing. We were so excited to hear from you on TripAdvisor and hearing that you had a great time with us. We appreciate the time you took to write such a review.

We hope to see you again should you return to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel itself was average, small neat room with all the things you expect but nothing more. But the location is amazing, my room looked out on the Ben Franklyn Bridge. They stiff you $20 to park even though the car park belongs to the hotel, and its a good walk to any decent restauarnts

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear NightBreed01,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you had the opportunity to be on the riverside overlooking the Delaware River. We take pride in those amazing views!

We hope to see you again your next visit to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pro:
Corner room was modern and spacious.
Hotel is within walking distance of Olde Towne, downtown and the river.

Con:
The hotel is beside a freeway. Rooms facing the freeway are very noisy, even with the fan on. Bring earplugs.

Front desk staff were neither friendly nor welcoming (at checkin or checkout) - granted this could have been because of the snowstorm, which would make anyone grumpy. On checkin, I asked the front desk clerk if she would add my IHG Rewards number to the reservation and she assured me she would; this was not done.

I stayed there for 3 nights. On the first day, my room was not vacuumed and the bathroom not cleaned (all housekeeping did was make the bed and exchange towels). On the second day, I received no housekeeping at all. When I went down to the front desk and asked what was going on, I was told that for stays of more than one night, they will make the bed and change towels but it is up to the housekeeper to decide whether to do anything more than that. (For the record, I am the kind of person who "tidies up for the maid" and always leaves a tip, so this was pretty frustrating.) There was no apology at all from the front desk person for this oversight nor, on the day I received no housekeeping, any offer to send up clean towels. (I did receive a sincere apology from the Head of Housekeeping when I talked with her the following day.)

I'm not a hard guy to impress and I don't expect you to bend over backwards, but I do ask for an apology if you screwed up. This is one of the few hotels I've stayed at where I wouldn't want to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear dogone31,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in January. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we apologize you were disappointed with your stay. We will take your comments to review with our team as we continually work to improve our guest experience through service and accommodations. We hope you would consider staying with us again in the future so we may better demostrate our committment to your satisfaction.

Thank you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here 2 nights for a function my daughter was attending. Got a great price, easily the least expensive hotel I could find in the Philly area. The staff was great...our room was ready early, though we had to take highway side instead of the river view I wanted, but was glad they could accommodate our early arrival! Also, the first room she gave us smelled like smoke as soon as we walked in, but the front desk was very apologetic and gave us a new one immediately.

The room itself was very clean, no complaints there. BE AWARE there is a good deal of highway noise...it doesn't bother me, but if you need quieter, ask for a river side room. Pretty sure you will still get some road noise, but probably a little less than being right on the highway.

It was VERY busy while we were there, lots of various groups...weddings, tournaments, etc. So the fact that there was only ONE working elevator (in a 10 floor hotel) was frustrating at times. The staff had hung up a sign saying they knew it was an inconvenience and were working hard to get it fixed, but we did not see any evidence of that the weekend we were there.

The breakfast was really good, a nice selection, and the staff really worked hard to keep everything full. Great cinnamon rolls and a pancake maker, which I had never seen before! But super crowded and a very small seating area. People had to wait if they wanted to sit down to eat.

This hotel is within easy walking distance to the historical area, and the riverfront park is right across the street. My daughter needed to be at the convention center, though, and we either needed to drive or take the shuttle provided by the hotel. There is only one shuttle van, so be prepared to wait a few minutes if he is not available. It beats trying to find parking downtown, though! Parking is $25 a day, which is cheaper than a lot of places, and you can come and go as you like, they are very accommodating.

Overall, it was ok for our purposes, but I would probably choose something closer to the downtown area next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear dancetravler_13,

On behalf of our team, thank you so much for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing. We were happy to hear from you on tripadvisor and hearing that you did like our hotels accommodations. Certainly we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the elevator. It was unfortunate that we had to have a new motor installed so that did take a couple of days. We are up and running now.

Thank you so much again for your review.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel last week for 2 days. We were so impressed by the clerk Cindy Mccready on how great of a help she was. She went out of her way to help both me and my wife. I would really recomend staying at this location anytime your in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Bruce B,

Thank you so much for your review. We can't wait to show Cindy your comment about here when she comes into work. Cindy is a true asset to our company.

We are so glad that you had a nice stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel
Comfort Inn Downtown Historic Area
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn
Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautifully revitalized Penn's Landing we are in walking distance to most historic sites. The Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing has 184 spacious guest rooms, many with amazing views of the Delaware River and the Philadelphia Skyline! Not only will you enjoy an oversized room, we also offer free breakfast, free wireless internet and free shuttle to and from historic sites, restaurants and shopping within a 2 mile radius during our shuttle's operation times. Parking is convenient, right on site at a minimul fee of $25 per day with in/out privileges and we offer extended parking times on your day of check out until 4:00pm so you can continue to explore Philadelphia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.