We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area) (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed there last night. The staff was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice and extremely clean and comfy. It is a bit noisy being right on 95 though. The parking is VERY expensive. $25 a night. We did however use their shuttle service a few times that takes you and drops you off anywhere you want to go with a 2 mile radius, and since the hotel is close to all of the sights, this was very beneficial, so I guess what we saved in cab fees made up for the parking fee. The breakfast was pretty good. Southwestern omelets, sausage, biscuits and gravy, cereal, muffins, a pancake machine, fruit, you get the picture. The hotel is right across from the water and under the Ben Franklin bridge. It's quite a sight to see. Overall, it was a nice stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear kdd75,

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again should you return for another visit to Philadelphia.

Have a great day!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    119
    41
    23
    8
See reviews for
85
82
10
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you're driving, pick up a hotel coupon book at the Welcome Centre when you enter Pennsylvania. There's a coupon for $79 per night. For in the heart of old town, that's a great price. They offer a free shuttle downtown, or anywhere in old town, and will pick you up when you call. Free WIFI, free hot breakfast, right on the Delaware River, and close walking around the historical area. Clean, comfortable rooms, and well supplied with goodies. If I ever return to Philadelphia, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Bunny59,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for chosing our hotel. We hope to see you again should you return to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel ran short of too many things during our stay: parking spaces, breakfast food, washcloths, shampoo, printer paper, and hot water. Staff members are professional, but something is not quite right.

Room Tip: Hotel staff said that all rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear St_Drogo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during your stay with us. Your comments about your experience has been documented and will certainly be looked into. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your patronage and support to the hotel is important to us and we hope that you would give us another try.

Thank you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel was perfect for what it was needed. It is within safe walking distance to what Penn's Landing has to offer as well as to Old City and Downtown Philadelphia. The staff was fantastic and it offers a courtesy shuttle to the city and free breakfast. Worthwhile stay. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear BrandonP92,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay. That makes our whole day! The staff is going to be really proud when I post this on our Media Board in the back of the house for all to read.

Thank you so much again. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review.

We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olyphant, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

On a recent visit to Philadelphia Hospital for a medical problem with my wife I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, at a time when I was very concerned about the condition of my wife I was greeted at the desk by Tori Warrick, she was more then just a friendly face she was very helpful with everything from directions to the Hospital to asking how my wife was each day, in addition to Tori the shuttle driver helped us in and out of the van and showed us friendlyness and sympathy for our problems, his name was Brian Allen. We have been back several times now to the Hospital and I would never stay anywhere except there also Cynthia McCready was more then helpful to any of our needs, I asked for there names for this reason, unfortunately we have to go back to the hospital several more times but fortunately we have a Hotel that makes us feel like family, as Mayor of the town I live in I have told so many of the wonderful treatment that I recieved and recommended this Hotel to so many who have to go there as well, my experiences with that wonderful staff brings me back more each time, hopfully some day I can go for pleasure instead of medical issues but one thing is for sure I will stay here because of the accomodating and friendly staff, you were all just so wonderful. my sincere appreciation. Mayor Jayme Morano

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Jme1954,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review. We are all so excited that we did a good job for you during a tough time. We are absolutely honored to have the Mayor of Olyphant, PA chose our hotel to stay.

Although we want to see you return soon, we know that you are not here to explore Philadelphia. Our thoughts and prayers go out to your wife and to you and your family.

Thank you so much again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I got more work done here than anywhere else while staying and doing business all over PA. My work can be very isolating and I worked in the breakfast bar area. Always had enough interaction with awesome, friendly people to keep me going. Denver Johnson, thank you for being so accommodating. Nick Joyce and Kimberly Killeri in sales were great and helped make our stay really fun. Millie in housekeeping was awesome, just lovely! Thanks guys :) Now I am all caught up with work, happy and well rested!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sandy8,

Thank you so much for your review! You truly made our day! We are so glad that we had the chance to meet you and Mr. Smith. We are here if you ever need us.

Thank you so much again! The staff is going to be really excited to read your review.

Keep safe out there!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just stayed there this past Saturday and let me tell you that it was an amazing experience. From the moment I checked in till the moment of departing I have nothing but great things to say about this property. The room I received was in the corner of the 10th floor looking out to the Ben Franklin Bridge. What an amazing view and definitely a room I will not forget. Overall, I had an amazing time and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Corner room on the tenth floor facing the Ben Franklin Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Jsherin89,

Thank you so much for your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Penn's Landing. We are so exited that you had a great stay! That really makes our day. The staff is going to be thrilled when I post your review.

Thank you so much again. We hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#41 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautifully revitalized Penn's Landing we are in walking distance to most historic sites. The Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing has 184 spacious guest rooms, many with amazing views of the Delaware River and the Philadelphia Skyline! Not only will you enjoy an oversized room, we also offer free breakfast, free wireless internet and free shuttle to and from historic sites, restaurants and shopping within a 2 mile radius during our shuttle's operation times. Parking is convenient, right on site at a minimul fee of $25 per day with in/out privileges and we offer extended parking times on your day of check out until 4:00pm so you can continue to explore Philadelphia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.