We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area) (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #41 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel it pretty new so the décor is modern and it's quite clean. Even though it's right by the bridge and highway the noise isn't bad with the windows closed and the heat on (since it's winter). I did use earplugs since I'm a light sleeper, so I'm not sure how loud it would have been without them.They give you free breakfast and a shuttle that will drop you of in downtown/center city, both of which were quite unexpected. The shuttle did breakdown Sat night to Sun, but that they offer it in general is very nice. The location is close to Penn's landing and only a 10 min walk to the historic parts, but it is surrounded by roads so it's not the prettiest thing and has a slightly depressing feel. But, considering this is supposed to be a 2.5/3 star hotel they really do more than you'd expect. I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear AlisaP,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! That really makes our day.

We hope to see you again should you return to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    138
    47
    27
    9
See reviews for
95
94
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

My family and I had a great stay at this friendly hotel. The front desk was helpfull showing places we could visit. Rooms are confortable and clean. Parking, wifi and breakfast were a plus for free all ready included in The price.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear hiedygg,

Thank you so much for your review and sharing your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you on your next visit to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. They helped me receive and ship packages for my convention, made great dinner recommendations, always made sure I had what I needed. They helped with logistics of a major snowstorm.

It is out of downtown but there is a free shuttle that is great! Ask for a room at the front of the hotel. The backside rooms are close to the freeway and exit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Steph1974,

Thank you so much for your review and sharing your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your next visit to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I had to pick a hotel at the last minute and lucked up on the Holiday Inn express. What a pleasant surprise! I unexpectedly got a room with the Jacuzzi, which was a welcome surprise. The continental breakfast was above average. The view of the Delaware and the Ben Franklin bridge were AMAZING. Especially at night. Even the sound of the Lindenwald line (train) crossing the bridge was pleasant. We had no complaints at all. Parking was par for the course. The front desk ladies were VERY sweet and very helpful. The shower was - interesting - there was no door, it was made that way - and the floor got wet. It was not a bad thing, but was interesting.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear asawaa,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you had a nice stay and liked the upgrade! We try to upgrade as much as we can.

Thank you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
811 reviews 811 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My stay at this hotel was on the week following Christmas Day through New Year's Day. I chose the location because it was right on the edge of Old Town with a great view of the Ben Franklin Bridge and the river (where the New Year's fireworks are displayed). I knew the hotel was on a major road which was convenient for the three day trips I had planned. I payed a little extra to get a room overlooking the river but it was worth it. The staff was extremely pleasant; happy to help when they could (thank you again for the conditioner). The breakfast was pretty much the same every day, but Denver was very willing to go the extra mile and was very nice. They even went the extra mile when there were some unruly/noisy people in the room next to me. Security was sent up and endured some very hateful comments/slurs without losing his cool. I commend the staff and especially that security guard for their phenomenal service/dedication

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear jehenson81,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you had a nice stay. The staff gets really excited when they read that they have done a great job. You made our day!

Thank you again. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here with a friend for 2 nights while we were in Philly for a school-related activity. The room was spotless and the beds super comfy, but the exceptional part of our stay was definitely the staff, all of whom were friendly, welcoming, and helpful! They were a happy group and their camaraderie was very evident. We were especially impressed by the gentleman who, I believe was the evening manager, and I think his name was Nick. He was friendly from the moment we got there to check in on our first evening, offering suggestions for dinner and fun places to see on our short stay there. He went above and beyond, and out of his way, to make our second night a fun girls night when we accidentally brought a bottle of wine back without a wine key and he went across the street, in the snowy, freezing, wind to have it opened for us, all with a smile on his face! This same family-like attitude was equally displayed by all we encountered while staying there. Kudos to all of you and thank you for making it a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear JessC,

Thank you so much for your review! You really made Nick's night as he stood behind me reading your comments. He gave a quick cheer then went right back up to the Front Desk. Thank you for your kind words.

We appreciate your feedback. It's so nice to hear when we are doing a good job. It really makes our day.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Room was only fair, small bathroom. It overlooked I-95, so there was loud highway noise all night. Breakfast ended at 9:30 on a Sunday morning, so we didn't get to try it. They do offer shuttle service that we didn't use due to the large number of perople always waiting for it in the lobby. We also didn't see that there was a $25 additional fee for parking - and there is no safe alternative to paying that fee for a surface lot without enough spaces, so we also had to leave our keys with an attendant (the car was moved before we checked out). Traffic getting there was also heavy due to the location. I suggest staying further away from the historic area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing I-95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Peter A,

We would like to take the time to sincerely apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay. We strive for the highest level of customer service and we are disappointed if we do not meet your expectations.

Thank you for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.