We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“saved by location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area) (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“saved by location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Canada/US coast to coast, hotel #27, 2 nights

We've stayed at more than a couple Holiday Inns of the past 26 hotels. Typically there is nothing to get excited about other than the one in Sault Ste Marie, Ontario which was the most aesthetically pleasing HIE I've ever stayed at, granted it was a newer hotel. This hotel was typically very basic but the location for the old city was excellent and we have to give a shout-out about Nick behind the desk. He was extremely cordial and helpful, his was the best service we have experienced in 27 hotels so far on this trip. Our room was clean and comfortable but the highway traffic noise did leak into the room more than previous hotels. The air conditioner could not be adjusted (due to busted knobs) and did not cool the room as well as we would have liked. Nevertheless I slept well and we would stay at this hotel again, maybe try the other side of the hotel facing Columbus.

Room Tip: Our room on the 8th floor facing the freeway was noisy, the Columbus St side may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear amosnov,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. As like all of our staff, Nick certainly enjoys working in the industry and meeting new people.

Yes, please next time either book a riverview room or request one if you can. The views are spactular of the Ben Franklin Bridge and the Delaware River.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    118
    41
    23
    8
See reviews for
85
82
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family for one night only. We attended a concert at the Wells Fargo Center which is 10 min. away from this hotel. The hotel location is great, right by the river and this big bridge. The hotel is newly renovated and we reserved a room with two queen beds. The entrance is very nicely done with a seating area and also a breakfast area. Our room was well appointed and very clean. The bathroom was impeccably clean and fresh. The beds were very comfortable. The flat screen TV was great! We had complimentary breakfast which was very good. They had pancakes, bagels, muffins, eggs, toast, cereal. You name it. We were pleasantly surprised by the variety. We had a great stay! I recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear pina71,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write feedback about our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying at our Holiday Inn Express. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for an event this past weekend and was told that they had no rooms available when I had already prepaid for my room.

Several other guests were waiting in the lobby as well for this same reason. They did accommodate our stay at another hotel which was out of the city.

This seems like an unacceptable occurrence to me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear AllAmericanBoy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate issues with the reservation prevented you from staying at the hotel, and marred your experience. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location and awful location both at the same time.... Bear with me.

For the price (good) it is just at the right end of town which makes 90% of the sites walkable and there's even a shuttle that picks up within ten blocks up to 10pm.

Ask for a riverside room unless you want a free alarm call at 7am from the very handy I95 which is located right next to the City Side of the hotel.

Good breakfast, great service. Just make sure you have ear plugs, lots of booze or a river view.

Room Tip: Riverside room and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Jockey_Jnr,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and visit to Philadelphia.

We hope to see you again next year. Be sure to note booking a riverside room. It is a little quieter and the views are beautiful.

Thank you again.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I loved staying at this hotel. The meeting rooms were great and the breakfast was very good. In the evening it was safe enough to walk the area. One afternoon we were able to walk over to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and Carpenter's Hall. Very impressive

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear bulldog1982,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate guests feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and your visit to Philadelphia. We hope to see you again next year!

Thank you again!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

An excellent hotel for the price. Me and my girlfriend booked this hotel for one night and were not disappointed. We originally booked a king sized bed room but when we were offered the waterfront view with two queens beds, we took at and the did not disappoint.

Thanks to the shuttle that was provided by the hotel, which serves in a 2 mile radius, we were able to go to independence hall, the U.S. Mint, Market street and the Hard Rock Cafe. The complimentary breakfast was standard but very solid. The manager Nick was extremely helpful in telling us where to go as well.

All and all, I would stay in this hotel 10 out of 10 times and look forward to going back again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express is a standout hotel for its economical price. From fulfilling my request for a riverfront room (and subsequently allowing an early check-in) to answering questions about navigating the city, the front desk staff was very accommodating. Both the lobby and the room were as expected -- modern and clean with standard hotel decor. The free guest room WiFi and complimentary breakfast (cereal, muffins, bagels, pancakes, etc.) were definite pluses. The hotel is not located in the center of the sites, but the city is still very accessible via walking or taking the on-demand hotel shuttle, which unfortunately does not operate continuously throughout the day. Although the hotel provided a great overall experience, the $25 parking fee seemed to be a bit much, considering the hotel's location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautifully revitalized Penn's Landing we are in walking distance to most historic sites. The Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing has 184 spacious guest rooms, many with amazing views of the Delaware River and the Philadelphia Skyline! Not only will you enjoy an oversized room, we also offer free breakfast, free wireless internet and free shuttle to and from historic sites, restaurants and shopping within a 2 mile radius during our shuttle's operation times. Parking is convenient, right on site at a minimul fee of $25 per day with in/out privileges and we offer extended parking times on your day of check out until 4:00pm so you can continue to explore Philadelphia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.