We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area) (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've stayed twice and had no problems whatsoever. The staff was always very courteous and helpful and even with a bachelorette party on our floor, we never had a problem with the. Convenient location. I used my points to stay there twice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Matt S,

Yea! You're review made our day! When we meet guests expectations which is our ultimate goal, we know that we are on the right path.

Thank you so much for your review. The staff was really excited to read your post.

Thanks again.

Have a great summer.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    131
    45
    24
    9
See reviews for
89
92
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel is not within walking distance of independence hall etc you have to cross four lane highway to reach penns landing room was not cleaned most of stay
Drunks were banging in hall 230am noone did anything shuttle only runs early am and in pm not accomidating for all guests drivers wre rude breakfast was served only until 930am staff was dismissive and rude at times elevator often didn't work water was sporatic and cold worst time and didn't enjoy myself

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear hsthnr,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. Your experience is not typical of our property and we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay.

There are several ways that you could of taken which would of put right in the heart of the Liberty Bell and those attractions within a 10 minute walk. We apologize that we did not provide you with the options available so that you could of chosen which route you wanted to take. Also, and I hope that we made you aware, we offer a complimentary shuttle that runs in the morning until 11am, then stops until 4pm until 10pm daily that will take you 20 blocks into the city. That could of been another option for you.

We have reviewd your comments at our Staff Meeting so that all of the Manager's can act on any issues that we can immediatly correct.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you would give us another try. My contact information is here. I am at your service and would love to see what I could do for next time to make it a better experience for you.

Enjoy your summer!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This property used to be a Comfort Inn,
it was recently renovated and rebranded as a Holiday Inn Express.
It does not allow pets or smoking, both good policies.
It offers free internet, both wired and wireless.
The parking lot is small and guests have to pay to park.
The view of the Benjamin Franklin bridge is great.


The HIE website says the distance to Eastern State Penitentiary is 1.5 miles,
the distance is actually 2.5 miles;
this is significant because the free shuttle
only operates within a 2 mile radius.
It is not a problem because Philadelphia has a great public transportation
system. Walk over to 2nd and Arch, catch bus #48, and be dropped off
directly in front of the Penitentiary.

We only used the hotel shuttle once; it was convenient if you can
stand the endless stream of questions from the driver.

Loud music from Morgan's Pier Outdoor Nightclub was very annoying,
and lasted until 2 am every night.
There is a lot of noise from the adjacent freeways and trains.

The biggest problem with this hotel is that it is too popular;
the lobby is crowded and the breakfast bar is crowded.
The views are good from all sides of the building, and it is within walking
distance of the Independence Mall area, subway station, and bus stops.

The desk clerk graciously called a taxi for us when we needed one,
and it came within 5 minutes (All City Cab Company).

The entire staff was pleasant to deal with.

The music in the lobby is annoying and unnecessary.
There are two large screen TVs within steps of the front desk and the sound
from the TV mixing with the PA music is irritating.
The PA music can also be heard outside the front entrance,
this is also distracting.

There are two breakfast bar attendants and they can barely keep up with demand.
There often are no available tables.
The breakfast bar hours should be expanded from 3 hours to 4 hours to alleviate
some of the pressure.

There was one night of our five night stay in which the drunken college students
next door kept us awake half the night. Hotels should know that if they rent to
college students then there will be a party.

There is a central exhaust system to vent the bathrooms,
but it could not quite prevent the mirror from fogging.

There was only one towel bar in the bathroom,
travelers need at least three.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Emerald1125,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreicate it when guests provide feedback to help us address area's where we could be better.

It is true that we are in a very busy area here in Penn's Landing/Old City. It's exciting, lots of people and visitors. So folks find our location awesome since we are so close to the Historic Area. Others may find us a bit busy. We do have noise reduction items at the desk. I'll be sure that the Front Desk is recapped on what we have to help with the comfort of our guests.

Also, thank you for bringing the Eastern State Penitentiary location to my attention. I must say, I am the one that loaded the mileage. I have put in a request to update the mileage for the Prison and have reviewed all of my attractions to be sure I am correct. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Eastern State Penitentiary. We have many guests that stay at our hotel who visit that attraction.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again!

Enjoy your summer.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights overlooking the river and Ben Franklin Bridge. At first it was a bit noisy, but once you get used to it, it adds to the ambience. Breakfast was a little disappointing as it appeared they could not keep up with the demand for the number of guests. Good value. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Liz T,

Thank you so much for your review. We love it when guests take a moment to let us know how we are doing. We are so glad that you felt we were a good value and also that you liked your room facing the Ben Franklin Bridge. It is certainly a beautiful site to see!

I have brought your comments about the breakfast to the Assistant Manager and Manager responsible for the breakfast scheduling. We have implimented some ideas since your post. Thank you for mentioning your concern.

We hope to see you again! Have a great summer!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a room that was facing the bridge close to the hotel. Having a room facing the bridge meant that It gets quite noisy due to the traffic and the trains that cross the bridge all this noise kept us up until midnight. So make sure you get a room that is not facing the bridge! Besides that the hotel is great value in a fantastic location right near the Historic District. The rooms are spacious and clean and front desk staff are very helpful. The hotel's free shuttle service is great but can only take you within a couple of miles of the hotel. The hotel also offers a free breakfast but there are a few restaurants down the road in Market Street. Overall this hotel is great value in a great location and a good choice for a place to stay in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing the bridge due to the noise from traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear 007forest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you liked location and feel that you got a good value. That is very important to us.

Penn's Landing is a very popular location due to many events and because we are in walking distance to many of the most favorite attractions. So due to this the location is busy with people and activities. We do have noise reduction items at the desk. When you come again please ask and we will certainly be happy to help in any way. You're comfort is very important to us.

Thank you so much again. We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel provides great value for the money. All of the tourist sites, liberty bell, mint,etc are less than 1/4 mile away. They provide shuttle service a few hours in the morning as well as after 4pm.

Only negative item is that the noise from the train and the I95 bridge is quite obtrusive especially if you are a light sleeper.

Great service by the staff and the breakfast supplied is adequate like all HI Express hotels.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortPA405, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear C H L,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you noted our hotel a good value. We do our best to keep the rates competitive some folks can easily afford to come tour Philadelphia.

We are in a very busy area here in Penn's Landing. So we apologize that our location was a little busier then you had hoped for. Please know that we do provide some noise solutions at our desk for next time. We want you to get a good night's sleep!

We appreciated your feedback. It's due to guest feedback that we can become the best we can.

Have a great summer! We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim Killeri
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I choose this hotel because of the cost and how close it was to Penns Landing. I was told they have a secure parkng lot that would cost $25.00 for over night parking with an attendant on duty all night. My stay was on Friday night on May 31, 2013. On that night my car and 5 others were broken into in the Holiday Inn Express's secure parking lot. I was told at the front desk that it wasn't the hotels responsibility and I would have to talk to the parking lot manager. I was informed by the parking lot company by a letter that they weren't responsible for the liabilty. The whole night cost me:
$127.00 Room
$ 25.00 Parking
$300.00 Car Window Replacement

You can stay at an upscale hotel in the city for less than $452.00 that would include breakfast for 2 and secure over night parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear David B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and are hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#41 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free breakfast and Wi-Fi while being directly across from Penn's Landing Waterfront area. The hotel is ideally located for guests looking to be close to the Historic Area, Center City, Pennsylvania Convention Center, and all local sports and concert facilities. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night, including in and out privileges. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor's Center and South Street. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor's appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our free Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.