We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sabrina's Cafe & Spencer's Too

Sabrina's Cafe & Spencer's Too
1804 Callowhill Street, Philadelphia, PA 19130-4110
2156369061
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 3,785 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Eclectic, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Opened in 2007 based off the same love for food, quality ingredients, and good friends that flourished Sabrina’s Cafe in the Italian Market; Sabrina's Cafe and Spencer’s Too hopes to satisfy even the loneliest of tummy's with behemoth portions and decadent fare no matter what time of the day it is. You can take that to the bank.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Food is great. The portions are huge. The coffee is exquisite. Great place to go for brunch or breakfast,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    31
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“HUGE portions and very good :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

late night me and the lady hungry after visiting the lovely FHILI ZOO.
we decided to visit this place by chance, i saw a picture of the stuffed french toast and had to have one :) :)
we went down there and...
the place is corwded like hell, which is a good thing :), means a lot of people liked the place/
the waiter was nice, smiling :)
i of course orderd the stuffed french and the lady took the omelette with bacon cheese and some other good things
WOW the french toast was humangus i eat half and could'nt walk for a while :)
the omlete was delicious
again the portions were huge
for 35$ with drinks it's an o.k

if i'll ever return this will be the 2nd place i'll go to eat in
the first is of course the amazing READING TERMIAL MARKET :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Completely ruined any desire for pancakes for a long time to come”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I was craving some pancakes so my husband went to Sabrina's and got me some, along with eggs, bacon and potatoes. Really thick, dense tasting pancake had this horrible weird taste like it was made with dirty sink water, yuck! Bacons were really burnt, and potatoes had weird taste as well. Toasts tasted like board papers. Only thing that I could stomached from my order was scrambled eggs whites. After eating Sabrina's pancakes, I decided I would not have any pancakes for the next few years.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“comfort food that does a body good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This gem of a place is a short 3-block walk from the Franklin Institute (one block east of the Wholefoods on Callowhill Street, northeast of the Free Library). They are incredibly busy for brunch on Saturday. We took a break from visiting the Franklin Institute around 2:30 pm Saturday and took a pleasant stroll down the street to have lunch, catch fresh air, and soak in the autumn blue sky.

The food is fantastic. My wife had a brunch special loosely named after the four horsemen of the apocalypse involving a concoction of eggs, bacon, croissant, apple, red currant jelly with potatoes on the side (white, red, black, pale-green). I had the Asian Salad with chicken. Our son had chicken noodle soup. The menu has a delicious assortment of items that are nutritionally balanced and enticing. There were vegetarian options. There was a children's menu for kids 8 and under. Many of the menu items could be labelled comfort food with a healthy twist. This is the type of food grandma would fix when she wants you to eat your arugula, artichoke, edamame, and carrots. We finished with a shared slice of pumpkin Philadelphia style cheesecake.

This was a welcome respite from the commotion and cacophony of the science museum crowd. It was an excellent meal in an atmosphere that invited sobremesa. The cafe is cozy, with small booths that will seat 4 adults. They also have booths for two and in the middle of the dining area tables that can be used for seating groups and a counter for a more communal seating arrangement. The service was excellent. Our server was gracious, kind, and patient with our questions about the freshness of the spring mix, what is a long hot, and serving size (those crazy tourists!).

We will be back again on our next visit to Philadelphia. Ideal for couples, family (especially if the in-laws took the kids to play at the museum), friends, and solo.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice funky atmosphere, a lot of food for the money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great food at good prices. Informal, relaxed atmosphere. Was not busy for dinner, but I hear that it's packed at breakfast/lunch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabrina's Cafe & Spencer's Too also viewed

 

Been to Sabrina's Cafe & Spencer's Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabrina's Cafe & Spencer's Too, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.