We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a special museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Museum of Art

Philadelphia Museum of Art
2600 Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19130
215-763-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Philadelphia Museum of Art like an insider
Special Offer
$72*
and up
Philadelphia CityPass
Ranked #1 of 555 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An impressive collection of European art housed in a stately, neoclassical building.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a special museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This museum has some really excellent art from many different periods and styles. We enjoyed the Outsider Art exhibit of largely self-taught American artists and then listened to the great jazz music playing at the bottom of the steps, then on to the European paintings section. It was a great way to retreat from the heat and hectic pace of the busy city.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,131
    595
    99
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Something for everyone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently took my 11 year old to the art museum. I really wasn't sure what to expect as I had not been there since I was a child. I was pleasantly suprised. Now mind you, I am not an art phanatic by any stretch of the imagination. That being said, I really enjoyed seeing the different collections they had on display. One painting in particular really caught my eye but I don't recall the name (posting a photo). I was surprised to find so much furniture on display but enjoyed that as well. Even my son enjoyed himself. We were there about 1.5 hours and did not see everything there was to offer.

If it is a nice day, you can also go outside and catch beautiful vistas of the city and walk around thr river to take in views of boathouse row.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Museum of the next level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Outstanding collection of Impressionists!
Each moment was unforgetable!
Congratulations to the management for combining Art with new marketing actions for involving new people!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, IL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful building filled with artwork, furniture, etc.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I took the Splash, a purple trolley free for seniors and it left me off at the west end - not too many stairs to walk up. When i was inside, I went to the east doorway to view the famous "rocky" stairs that he ran up when he was training as a boxer. I live in Chicago and i feel the Philadelphia Museum of Art has more art displayed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Because you have to ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The museum's architecture is stunning and the steps are impressive. There are lots of smaller works by important artists, and for an art history major who wants to see a survey of many works from the same time period, this can be a valuable place to visit. But if you're just a regular tourist who is expecting to see some great (read "recognizable") works of art, you may be a little disappointed. We were surprised that such a large museum in a major US city did not have on display major pieces, a great collection or traveling exhibition on display,

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philadelphia Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Philadelphia Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.