We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EXCELLENT MUSEUM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Museum of Art

Philadelphia Museum of Art
2600 Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19130
215-763-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$72*
and up
Philadelphia CityPass
Ranked #1 of 569 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An impressive collection of European art housed in a stately, neoclassical building.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT MUSEUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great diversity - pay attention to the special events available at the museum. It pays to become a member if you plan to visit on a regular basis.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,282
    641
    103
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A great visit, well worth taking the time.
Plenty of variety.
IT could be improved by more seating areas in some of the galleries.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“um big?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Its a beautiful display of art..but it is HUGE. Need more than a day if you are a true art lover. It's also like most world renowned museums, expensive. They have specials like now a Wed or some weekday pay what you wish deal. Grab it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MInneapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband had a convention in Philly. One day I walked from the convention Center to the Philadelphia Museum of Art. It was a beautiful day and a lovely walk. There were places to eat along the way and also the Rodin Museum was along the way. It was the first Sunday of the month , so for admission you pay what you want . I also bought the audio which was very helpful and was 5 dollars. I highly recommend using it . They also had a quick guide. It took awhile to see it all , but it had many different works of art.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“There is so much to see for everybody!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Why should you go ????????? The Water Works near by, do not miss it. In the museum, the swords, rose garden, the steps, Rocky, the view. This place is for children and adults. I think it is free on Sunday. I grew up in Philly and went once a year in the summer. My husband also went as a child. When we are back in Philly in the summer this is our first place to visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philadelphia Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Philadelphia Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.