We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EXCELLENT MUSEUM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Museum of Art

Philadelphia Museum of Art
26th Street and the Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19130
215-763-8100
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 276 attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An impressive collection of European art housed in a stately, neoclassical building.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT MUSEUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great diversity - pay attention to the special events available at the museum. It pays to become a member if you plan to visit on a regular basis.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,505
    400
    64
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A great visit, well worth taking the time.
Plenty of variety.
IT could be improved by more seating areas in some of the galleries.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“um big?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Its a beautiful display of art..but it is HUGE. Need more than a day if you are a true art lover. It's also like most world renowned museums, expensive. They have specials like now a Wed or some weekday pay what you wish deal. Grab it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MInneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband had a convention in Philly. One day I walked from the convention Center to the Philadelphia Museum of Art. It was a beautiful day and a lovely walk. There were places to eat along the way and also the Rodin Museum was along the way. It was the first Sunday of the month , so for admission you pay what you want . I also bought the audio which was very helpful and was 5 dollars. I highly recommend using it . They also had a quick guide. It took awhile to see it all , but it had many different works of art.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“There is so much to see for everybody!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Why should you go ????????? The Water Works near by, do not miss it. In the museum, the swords, rose garden, the steps, Rocky, the view. This place is for children and adults. I think it is free on Sunday. I grew up in Philly and went once a year in the summer. My husband also went as a child. When we are back in Philly in the summer this is our first place to visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philadelphia Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Philadelphia Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.