We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“um big?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Museum of Art

Philadelphia Museum of Art
2600 Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Perelman Building, Philadelphia, PA 19130
215-763-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$27*
and up
City Sightseeing Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 360 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An impressive collection of European art housed in a stately, neoclassical building.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“um big?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Its a beautiful display of art..but it is HUGE. Need more than a day if you are a true art lover. It's also like most world renowned museums, expensive. They have specials like now a Wed or some weekday pay what you wish deal. Grab it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coquija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
MInneapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband had a convention in Philly. One day I walked from the convention Center to the Philadelphia Museum of Art. It was a beautiful day and a lovely walk. There were places to eat along the way and also the Rodin Museum was along the way. It was the first Sunday of the month , so for admission you pay what you want . I also bought the audio which was very helpful and was 5 dollars. I highly recommend using it . They also had a quick guide. It took awhile to see it all , but it had many different works of art.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ioanna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“There is so much to see for everybody!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Why should you go ????????? The Water Works near by, do not miss it. In the museum, the swords, rose garden, the steps, Rocky, the view. This place is for children and adults. I think it is free on Sunday. I grew up in Philly and went once a year in the summer. My husband also went as a child. When we are back in Philly in the summer this is our first place to visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Empathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Keep on going beyond the steps.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The steps up to the museum are the ones that Rocky ran up. If you keep going and head in (and pay $20 or so) you get to see some serious amount of paintings. Even if only a fraction of them interest you, there's still plenty for everyone.

A huge stack of impressionists and a whole heap of barking mad modern art from Marcel Duchamp onwards.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank murnauontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

loved it all - came for special exhibit and stay for the rest of the museum. great tour guides, too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philadelphia Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Philadelphia Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing