We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the Crowds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penn Museum

Penn Museum
3260 South Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)
215-898-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Penn Museum like an insider
$49*
and up
Ranked #31 of 555 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want to find your mummy, or, for that matter, Buddha or shards of old pottery, look for this museum in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus.
Sandy, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Away from the Crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A few hours in the Penn Museum will take you through historic exhibits of many ancient lands. Penn University digs uncovered precious items from multi-nation exhibits. The Lod Mosaic (from ancient Israel) is a featured display. Other displays feature finds from Etruscan, Greek, Roman, Syrian, Chinese, Egyptian, African, South & North American and other civilizations.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    70
    14
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very cool mummy exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Maya 2012 exhibit was not what I expected & was pretty boring. The mummies were very cool, especially the working lab. There is a glass enclosed office (aka fish bowl) where people are actually working on real mummies and classifying artifacts. Very interesting! There were a lot of Egyptian artifacts and the Sphinx was very cool. Definitely worth the trip :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Archeological Anthropological and Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My favorite Philadelphia museum with some artifacts that are thousands of years old from the world over. There's always a new exhibit attraction and every item is well explained to give visitors an appreciation of the culture from where it came. Everytime I visit there's always more to take in and it's great seeing old favorites like the Q'ing Dynasty crystal ball, their several Egyptian mummies and temple remains, ancient Greek pottery, African masks and much more.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So much to see...plan a day's visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The exhibits and artifacts at this museum are unequaled in Philadelphia. From countries all over the world,the collection is extensive...fascinating historical and some modern artifacts, including a few interactive areas and a place to see archaeologists at work. There's so much to read and to see, though, that I'd recommend the museum to those with extra time on their hands and to those who have older children. A unique museum to visit...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great price and interesting artifacts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We live only 1.5 hrs from Philadelphia, and were looking for something fun to do on a Sunday. We decided on the penn Museum because my husband and 2 boys (9 and 11) really like digging and artifacts. We spent about 4 hrs there, and it was time well spent. The first thing you need to see is the Egyptian collections - which is really the highlight of the museum in my opinion. There is a real sphinx, columns and hieroglyphics from a real Egyptian palace, and many other interesting finds. Oh and mummies!! Several in fact. My boys loved all of the Egyptian items. (I did too.) The rest of the museum was great, but the collections were much smaller. I did enjoy that they had so much variety though. Money well spent!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penn Museum also viewed

 

Been to Penn Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.