We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific archeological museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penn Museum

Penn Museum
3260 South Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)
215-898-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$49*
and up
Ranked #22 of 262 Attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want to find your mummy, or, for that matter, Buddha or shards of old pottery, look for this museum in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus.
Media, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific archeological museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Good for school age children as well as adults. Kids love the temple and the mummies. I love the Asian collection and everything else.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    64
    13
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Awesome museum with wonderful programs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

So much to see! Plan on coming back over and over again. Beautiful pieces, helpful employess and a wonderful gift shop. My kids attended summer camp there and loved it! I hope one of them chooses to hold a wedding there in upper Egypt someday...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Wonderful exhibits, great variety of arts and crafts shown from all over the globe. Impressive. Good cafe also.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must for history buffs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Penn museum is one of my favorite places in Philadelphia. IT has a fantastic collection, several rotating special exhibits, and is really very well organized. Highlights include an extensive Native American collection, an impressive ancient Greek pottery collection, and zillions of other fascinating things. Admission is free for Penn students, and for non-penn affiliates, the fare is still fair. A perfect spot to stop before catching a Penn football game at historical Franklin Field, and a short walk from other entertainment and food establishments.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I'm a big fan of the Penn Museum but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a great museum, there are antiquities from all over the world (especially Egyptian), and every one of them is worth seeing. My one complaint about the Penn Museum was from a visit last year, when due to some sort of snafu, the much anticipated Silk Road exhibit was pulled. The museum didn't do a very good job of notifying visitors and when a group of about 8 of us showed up to see it, it had been replaced with hall full of cardboard stand-ins. We were disappointed, but the rest of the museum provided more than enough to see in a day, so much so than we delayed our visit to the Art Museum.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penn Museum also viewed

 

Been to Penn Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.