We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good food and nice beer selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Public House Logan Square

Public House Logan Square
2 Logan Square, Philadelphia, PA 19102 (City Center West)
2155879040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #942 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: 18th Street between Arch & Cherry
Liverpool, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food and nice beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were directed to the Public House by the staff at the Sheraton on the last evening of a long conference. We went fairly late for dinner but early for the "club crowd" and were seated promptly. Our server was helpful and friendly, apologized for being out of a couple of items and suggested replacements. The flat iron steak salad was done perfectly, and a side of sauteed spinach was delicious. Beers are little pricey- $8 for a bottle of Dogfish Head 90 minute- but with a 20% off coupon from the hotel, definitely worth it. Dessert was good- cookie dough smash- but would have been better with hot fudge instead of chocolate syrup. Would go back again when in the area. Easy to get to from downtown hotels.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    20
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“A crazy night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We decided to have our office gift exchange during happy hour at the public house on a Wednesday, Unfortunately every other company/department had the same idea. This place was jammed packed and seating was a premium.

Our waitress was slow so it was best to order two drinks at a time. Nevertheless the appetizers hit the spot and we always love the drinks.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Bar Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've been to Public House many times and found it to be a little too stiff sometimes but WOW do they ever have some great bar food! You must try their cheese steak egg rolls: savory steak, cheese and a little spicy pepper in a crispy egg roll...delicious! We also had the hummus which is served with veggies and pita and buffalo and barbequed wings cooked perfectly.

They have really good drink specials and sometimes offer a free (yes I said free!) happy hour or two for 25 friends and coworkers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OK place to grab a few beers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Was in town on Sunday for business and the hotel recommended I try this place to watch NFL games. I know the Eagles are the hometown team but do you have to have EVERY TV showing the Eagles? Beers were fine. Burger was not bad although a bit undercooked for my tastes. Not exactly a welcoming, friendly atmosphere. I'd go back again if I was in the area, but I wouldn't go out of my way to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“An City Center Staple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Near my office is our ANYTiME spot. We always have a good time. Never have an issue reserving tables for lunch,dinner or HH. Their burgers rock. The Pasta and Salads are great and don't pass up the crab cakes or wings. This is a lively spot so if you're looking for quiet. This is not a romantic venue but can be if you and resist the temptation to listen that is all around you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public House Logan Square also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Public House Logan Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Public House Logan Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.