We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor internet connection!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Impressionists Package
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cagliari, Italy
2 reviews
“poor internet connection!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at Sonesta for one night only. The hotel is beautiful, clean, the staff is okey, but I experienced issues with the internet connection. To connect in the first place you have to call the front desk, they will give you a code and then good luck!!!! I could not use the internet, and the front desk staff tried to help me but with no result, because the problem is technical. I gave up. However, Sonesta is not a good hotel for a business travel when you need a connection to the internet.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    89
    22
    14
    7
See reviews for
45
63
6
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had very high expectations for this hotel and it disappointed. The lobby and restaurant/bar area on the main level were updated and trendy. The room I had, however, was an average room from a 15 year ago renovation type style. Paid s lot for an average experience. When I was there the road construction at night was also a major noise problem.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Decided to spend Memorial Day weekend in Philly, visiting for the first time with my wife and 4 month old baby boy. We showed up at the hotel lobby around 10:45 am Sunday morning. Few issues I felt we important to point out in the hopes the hotel sees this and addreses these issues.

1. We walked up to the front desk without any time of polite greeting that guest should receive. No smiles. Border line rude!

2. They made no attempt to accommodate us with a 4 month old child and were told we needed to wait two hours for our room to be available and that there was no room we could use to change him.

3. After finally getting our keys to the room, the front desk person just handed them over and never told us what floor and where the elevators were located.

4. The room was actually clean and nice looking. Beds comfy. Best part of the hotel.

5. The pool area was not impressive.

6. We came down from our room and visited the cafe/bar. Sat down at one of the tables and waited 20 minutes before leaving because nobody came to take our order or advise us.

We loved our Philly vacation. However, we did not enjoy this hotel!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Sonesta hotel is in a great location and is a modern hotel with great updates throughout. The rooms are spacious (by city standards) and clean with a modern style. What makes this hotel stand out though is their customer service. When shopping around for a place to stay I called several properties, when I contacted the Sonesta I spoke with Tyler Beckham who was a great ambassador for the property. She recommended a great package that included parking and was able to include a perk that sealed the deal for us. Her professional demeanor and candor sold us, especially after speaking to other hotels that seemed to have cared less whether we stayed with them or not.

We arrived in town early and were pleased to find our room was ready allowing us to check in early which was nice after a long car ride to reach Philly. Upon getting back to our room later in the afternoon we discovered we were staying next to a fairly loud group (it was NCAA lacrosse weekend in town). I spoke with John Mathis at the front desk who was incredibly accommodating. He switched our rooms without any question or hassle and apologized for the inconvenience despite it being far outside his control. We started to see a theme of "customer first" in our interactions with the staff. John moved us to a quiet floor and we never heard another noise for the remainder of our 2 night stay. Thank you John!!

Throughout our stay we passed by or interacted with bell service, room service, housekeeping, engineering and a number of other staff; every single one of them was pleasant and looked you in the eye to say hello and ask if you needed anything or could be of assistance. Again, it was apparent that the Sonesta puts a very high regard on the delivery of customer service.

Though this was our first stay at a Sonesta property, it will not be our last. Hopefully the Philadelphia Sonesta is indicative of the remainder of the chains other properties and how they deal with customers. We would highly recommend staying at the Philadelphia Sonesta, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Bill, It was wonderful to read the compliments you shared about our property and service from our team members. I will certainly share your wonderful compliments with them. We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Again, thank you for sharing how "fabulous" we are. With Regards, Jordon Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We really liked this hotel. It has recently been refurbished, it used to be the Crown Plaza. Decor is nice and modern. Very good location. Many bars and restaurants nearby. Room was small, but most city hotel rooms are. Would recommend this property.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Dawn, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are pleased you enjoyed your guestroom and everything Philadelphia has to offer within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon. – Jordan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall the hotel was nice. However, when our room wasn't ready, we were told that we would be called when it was. An hour and a half later we were tired of waiting and decided to ask, turns out the room was ready for a while. Also, for the price of the room there weren't many amenities offered. The stay might have been improved if there was free breakfast offered or wifi.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are pleased you enjoyed your guestroom and everything Philadelphia has to offer within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon. – Jordan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location, easy to walk to the Liberty Bell etc. and central for shopping and restaurants. The room was very nice, if a little small, quite modern but comfortable. The cleaning was very good every day.
The main thing that let the hotel down was the lack of a proper restaurant, we had breakfast in the Art Bar on our first morning and it was truly awful! When we asked at reception they said that breakfast was there but we could have it in our room or they could recommend somewhere, I should have picked up on that as they clearly recognise this shortcoming. I had an English muffin (which was soggy), ham (which was a bit dry), eggs (which was a solid slab of what I presume was powdered egg) and cheddar cheese (which didn't resemble any cheese I've had before), I presume it was microwaved. My wife had strawberry yoghurt granola parfait, the yoghurt was glowing Barbie pink and very sweet and the granola was more like a mass of biscuit crumbs, she did eat much of it. There wasn't much else to choose other than muffins.
We, and several of our colleagues who were staying at the same time, never managed to get the WiFi working properly, even after I'd taken our iPads to reception for them to put in the access code. In the end I gave up and used my phone as a hotspot.

Room Tip: Don't eat in the hotel. Try to get a room on a higher floor, it's on a busy road in the cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast, but it seems our team did a good job at a "wow" to make up for it. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon. - Jordan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, nightlife, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Sing-a-long to your favorite band at the nearby Wells Fargo Center and the Susquehanna Bank Center. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.