We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel thru our 3 weeks stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best hotel thru our 3 weeks stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Sonesta was amazing. The room was huge as we got used to the 3 tiny ones in NY prior to going Philly. Its location is central, close to food, shopping and historical sites. Room was very very clean and very modern. Spacious for our little ones to move around. And it had a refrigerator!! very rare in NY hotels. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    81
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
38
53
6
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reinholds, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Philadelphia Sonesta. The Deluxe King room was very modern, updated and extremely clean. The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. The cleaning staff was very professional in the hallways and never rode the elevator with us. We would not have minded if they did so and we tried to get them do so many times but they just waved us on our way. The valet parking attendants were quick and in control.

Breakfast in the Art Cafe was delicious and our drinks were great. The staff was friendly and our service was great! We will definitely being staying at the Sonesta again! It is close to everything in walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators in any hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the Sonesta hotel is very nice with everything you would want for a business trip. Don't get a corner room if you are travelling with anybody. They are nice but small. Try to get a higher floor so you don't hear the dumpsters in the early morning

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel's view and everything Philadelphia has to offer within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon. – Jordan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Mediocre hotel overall, but I'll never return after what I experienced. Room was fairly clean (though I did find an empty soda bottle under the sofa) and comfortable. Had dinner and drink at the Art Bar, my beer was flat, food was so-so and gave me indigestion, and my server was not on his game. My major issue is that on the second to last day I was there I discovered that money was missing out of my suitcase, I suspect taken by housekeeping. I had a $10 roll of quarters in the inside mesh pocket of my suitcase so I could do laundry on the next leg of my trip. I returned to my room to find the room cleaned, my suitcase ajar, and the roll of quarters (which was absolutely in there when I left) missing. I looked everywhere and couldn't find the roll, the only conclusion I can come to is the housekeeper took it. While a nice hotel overall I will never return because of this. It wasn't a large amount of money but it's the principle.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, yesterday
Daniel,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Philadelphia, and for taking the time to write about your experience. Please know that this is not our standard and I will look into this further with my Director of Housekeeping and Director of Security to make sure this does not happen again. We will follow up with you shortly. Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention - Jordan Cooper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a well balanced blend of affordability, comfort, and professionalism this hotel offered. As a student I use Priceline and Hotwire a lot, due to being on a strict budget. However, this location, the employees and general comfort of the hotel was over the top. I thank you and will be back

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us at the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia. It was a pleasure to have you and we are delighted that we could make your stay here comfortable. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.


Warm regards,


Beverly Brunson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel over the years for business. The hotel has recently been upgraded and remodeled. Love those new bathroom mirrors. Instead of dreading another business trip, I now look forward to my stay at the Sonesta Philadelpia. As always, thanks to the great staff, including - Keianna, Joy, Jahlil and Mervyn, it's always nice to see a smiling face.

Room Tip: Trader Joe's is only about 3 blocks from the hotel and there's a Starbucks across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Paige V,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us at the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia. We are delighted to have you back with us in our newly renovated property. We appreciate all of your kind words regarding our staff and look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.


Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Desk personnel were very pleasant and helpful. Room was ready early and that was very nice after a drive. Did note a sticky yellow residue on toilet seat after we were told that it had been inspected by housekeeping. All else clean. Parking was included which is fabulous.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Elizabeth Q,


Thank you for your feedback with us at the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate all of your needs in a timely manner. Thank you for your feedback regarding housekeeping to the room. We will take this into consideration to ensure that this problem will not reoccur. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.


Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, nightlife, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Sing-a-long to your favorite band at the nearby Wells Fargo Center and the Susquehanna Bank Center. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.