We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Philly Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Frankfort
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Philly Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

the Sonesta hotel is very nice with everything you would want for a business trip. Don't get a corner room if you are travelling with anybody. They are nice but small. Try to get a higher floor so you don't hear the dumpsters in the early morning

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    81
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
37
52
6
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Mediocre hotel overall, but I'll never return after what I experienced. Room was fairly clean (though I did find an empty soda bottle under the sofa) and comfortable. Had dinner and drink at the Art Bar, my beer was flat, food was so-so and gave me indigestion, and my server was not on his game. My major issue is that on the second to last day I was there I discovered that money was missing out of my suitcase, I suspect taken by housekeeping. I had a $10 roll of quarters in the inside mesh pocket of my suitcase so I could do laundry on the next leg of my trip. I returned to my room to find the room cleaned, my suitcase ajar, and the roll of quarters (which was absolutely in there when I left) missing. I looked everywhere and couldn't find the roll, the only conclusion I can come to is the housekeeper took it. While a nice hotel overall I will never return because of this. It wasn't a large amount of money but it's the principle.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a well balanced blend of affordability, comfort, and professionalism this hotel offered. As a student I use Priceline and Hotwire a lot, due to being on a strict budget. However, this location, the employees and general comfort of the hotel was over the top. I thank you and will be back

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us at the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia. It was a pleasure to have you and we are delighted that we could make your stay here comfortable. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.


Warm regards,


Beverly Brunson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel over the years for business. The hotel has recently been upgraded and remodeled. Love those new bathroom mirrors. Instead of dreading another business trip, I now look forward to my stay at the Sonesta Philadelpia. As always, thanks to the great staff, including - Keianna, Joy, Jahlil and Mervyn, it's always nice to see a smiling face.

Room Tip: Trader Joe's is only about 3 blocks from the hotel and there's a Starbucks across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Paige V,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us at the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia. We are delighted to have you back with us in our newly renovated property. We appreciate all of your kind words regarding our staff and look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.


Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Desk personnel were very pleasant and helpful. Room was ready early and that was very nice after a drive. Did note a sticky yellow residue on toilet seat after we were told that it had been inspected by housekeeping. All else clean. Parking was included which is fabulous.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Elizabeth Q,


Thank you for your feedback with us at the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate all of your needs in a timely manner. Thank you for your feedback regarding housekeeping to the room. We will take this into consideration to ensure that this problem will not reoccur. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.


Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel is very quite and very clean ..the hotel very centrally located and most of the places to visit are in walking distance, there are a lot of restaurants and clubs around the corner. The staff is very helpfull and very welcoming ... A staff with the vishan had helped me a lot and guided me along the city as well.
I would strongly recommend the hotel for all the visitors travelling to philadelphia.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Pallavijn,


Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us at the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia. We appreciate all of your kind words and your recommendation on our hotel. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Philadelphia.


Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sonesta is a lovely hotel. Immaculate and quiet, it is really an oasis from the busy streets of Philadelphia. Rooms are clean and very environmentally responbsible. Showers have pumps on the wall to dispense shampoo and shower gel and lotions. It is a deliberate effort to eliminate waste. All their shampoos and soaps are from Italy and high quality and emollient and sweet smelling. Adds to the room ambiance. Overall a wonderful hotel that will not disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Karen P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us at the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia. We appreciate all of your kind words regarding our newly renovated property. We look forward to your next visit to the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia.


Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Plan your visit to the Franklin Institute's exciting Real Pirates Exhibit with our VIP Packages. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.