We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special and a bit dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nothing special and a bit dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very average and just about acceptable. Mutton dressed as lamb. Would not stay here again. Offers the absolute basics.My room was very musty. Everything was a bit dated. Changed my room once and the new one was marginally less musty than the original one. The reception was less than friendly and the change of room was down only reluctantly. Wanted a king bed but was given two single beds. Lifeless bar. Meant to be a boutique hotel but the foyer is skin deep boutique. Would not voluntarily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    71
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
36
50
6
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The service and overall ambiance and location of the Sonesta was just super. Beginning with the valet, continuing on with the check in concierge, and ending with a delightful check out clerk, the service was lovely and charming. The room was perfectly clean and extremely comfortable, with yummy bedding and a great contemporary bathroom. The lobby had been updated and was fun and bright and had a convenient coffee and cocktail bar. The starbuck's across the street was a location plus and it was so easy for us for uber and taxi pick ups. Loved the stay.

Room Tip: we were on the 17th floor and the noise was quite low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was my first time visiting Philadelphia and I took my kids - their first time too. I booked a stay at the Sonesta because their pricing was competitive, little did I know it was a bit of an upscale hotel. We showed up in jeans and zip up hoodies - it was a trip for leisure, it seemed all the other guests were in business suits and I was nervous we would get a bit snubbed, well that didn't happen at all. The hotel staff spoke to me and treated me as an equal to the other more professional looking guests - this put my mind at ease. We had a very pleasant, very quiet, very respectful stay at the Sonesta and I plan to book my next visit to Philadelphia with their hotel again. Thanks for making me feel welcomed!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Sonesta is not impressive when you walk in but the service is excellent. The room was clean and the bathroom was one of the best I've seen. We requested a crib for our little one and it was in the room when we checked in. The staff was helpful and available at all times.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Pros: The room was spacious and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is also conveniently located on market street.

The Cons: The walls are paper thin and the hotel is poorly insulated for sound. Talking, running water, hair dryers, and TVs from other rooms are clearly audible. The worst though was the night construction. My room was on the 17th floor, but I was kept up and woken up several times with by the construction 17 floors down. I've stayed in several "big city" hotels and realize you always have city noise when staying in these locations. However, this is by far the noisiest hotel I've ever experienced. On my next trip to Philadelphia I'll be staying elsewhere so I can get a goodnights sleep and not rely on a caffeine buzz at the office the next day.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice hotel, good location. Near good restaurants and centrally located to a number of attractions. Liberty Bell requires a cab ride.
Hotel Bar called Art Bar needs to be scrapped and they neeed a new concept.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Guest Service Representative at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear 26Eagle,


Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.


Warm regards,


Keianna Pierce
Guest Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great Hotel to stay at in Philadelphia for a getaway! We planned a weekend for our 26th Wedding Anniversary. We first stayed at the Sonesta two years ago when they were beginning their renovations. A huge improvement in decor and atmosphere! They have done a great job on every aspect of the hotel. The rooms are modern and very comfortable.It is considered a business hotel being in the financial district but is quiet and close to center city attractions! The new beds are extremely comfortable; bathrooms are bright complete with makeup mirror; overall exceptional experience! Club level lounge would be great if available on the weekend! We had the coupons for the ArtBar but prefer the private lounge!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Guest Service Representative at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Margaret S,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your stay with us at the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia. We appreciate all of your kinds words regarding your stay at our newly renovated hotel. We are grateful to have the opportunity to satisfy your needs and make your 26th anniversary memorable. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Keianna Pierce
Guest Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Plan your visit to the Franklin Institute's exciting Real Pirates Exhibit with our VIP Packages. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.