We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place in brilliant central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place in brilliant central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very nice, clean hotel in a brilliant, central location in Rittenhouse Square. Close to great restaurants, Convention Center, 30th St Station, and a lot of great sites and experiences.
Helpful staff, very nice facilities, and free access to full gym across the street.
Winter rate is very fair, curious how their summer rates compare.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    58
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
38
4
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed for a single night and really enjoyed my stay. I had the executive king room, and the room and bathroom are lovely. The staff are beyond helpful and a real pleasure, especially the chap on concierge/baggage.

The hotel is really cool, and situated right by City Hall which is so beautiful. Close to Rittenhouse Square which is great for food. The location is great! This is the original reason I chose to stay here.

I got sick on the day I was due to checkout, and they allowed me to stay until 5pm with no charge. I am so grateful for this, they brought water to my room and offered me food etc.

My only grumble is the wifi didn't work for me, but I didn't mind and I didn't try to get it sorted. I'm sure they would have if I asked.

The parking garage is directly next door which is ideal when travelling with luggage. Would prefer to have self parked, as I think $42 is quite expensive for a day. But it's the same everywhere in Philly.

Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it :)

Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stay at this hotel about 10 times a year. Excellent service/attention at front desk, concierge and club room.
Genuinely friendly and hospitable service from Davida in the club room over the past few evenings.

The newly remodeled lobby and rooms are fantastic.
Clean.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My fiance and I stayed at the Sonesta last weekend and had a great visit. It was very close to where we were going to dinner that night (Chima) and we were able to walk the couple of blocks to the restaurant. Every staff member we met was extremely welcoming and helpful. The hotel is extremely clean and has a nice modern feel. When we got back from dinner, we had a drink in the Art Bar to end a nice night. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was only staying for oene night, but had a pretty solid experience. My only issue was with room service - I tried calling multiple times (around 730pm) and nobody answered - but I ended up going to the cafe downstairs where the server was super nice and I was able to bring my stuff upstairs. The staff was lovely - Bobby downstairs was particularly helpful supplying me with information about the best/fastest ways to get to the airport - he even tried to help me make change earlier in the morning from his own wallet when he saw me waiting in line. Keianna was also super nice and friendly - even when off the desk. These interactions made me feel pretty good prior to my interview!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our 4th stay at Sonesta and we were given an upgrade from the deluxe king room to a club king room on a high floor. This is actually the second time we were given an upgrade, so much thanks to the great staff here! The hotel itself has been updated in almost every area since our first stay here in 2011. The rooms are spacious, quiet, and very clean.

The hotel is conveniently located with the Walnut St. stores and a long list of great restaurants within walking distance, including a Shake Shack. Reading terminal is a very short drive from the hotel and I would say that Love Park and City Hall are within walking distance.

Overnight parking is available in the adjacent parking garage for $42, however I suggest booking the Philly Overnight Package which includes your room rate plus overnight parking for a discounted price. My only issue was with the valet parking. When we arrived at check-in time, we waited for about 20 minutes for someone to take my keys and give me a ticket and there was another couple in front of us who were waiting for even longer. We had must faster service upon checking out.

Overall, I strongly recommend this hotel for those wanting to stay overnight in Philadelphia. The location is great and the staff here are always very polite and willing to help.

Room Tip: Book the Philly overnight package to save money on parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Recently stayed at the Sonesta for the long President's Day weekend to visit Philly like a tourist, though my boyfriend has family who lives in the Northeast area. The hotel was recently renovated and looks like-new from the outside and the hotel lobby reception space into the bar area. The room itself was very modern and spacious enough for the two of us. We stayed in a deluxe two-queen bedroom two rooms away from the elevator, and next time I will probably ask for a room farther from the elevator since you can hear the "Ding" noise, but other than that, not much to complain about.

The hotel is three blocks away from City Hall and a block or two behind Chestnut and Walnut streets, which is a prime commercial area. Would highly recommend for those who are looking for a nearby accommodation for walking distance local attractions, shopping and eateries!

Room Tip: Try to get a room farther from the elevator if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Plan your visit to the Franklin Institute's exciting Real Pirates Exhibit with our VIP Packages. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.