We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Cromwell, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good little hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was there only two nights. Staff seemed overwhelmed by the amount of people there for the meetings we had plus being there for a convention. Did not eat in the cafe area. Rooms were okay. Clean but not too extravagant. Reminded me of a Residence Inn.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    37
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
23
2
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We liked this hotel very much. The remodeling this hotel apparently underwent was a success, in my opinion. Clean cut modern design. Furnishings are a notch better quality than my other recent hotel experiences. Interior design of bathrooms is really good. Location is very convenient to walk to attractions (and is central). If you are offered a pre-paid parking option, take it, it's just too convenient to miss.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Longislandglobal,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay. We are delighted that our sevices and facilities have met your expectations.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

the Sonesta Philadelphia is very nice. The hotel is going through renovations and most are complete, it is very nice.
My room was very comfortable, clean, and met all my expectations.
It's just slightly off Rittenhouse Square, less than a 2 minute walk.
It has great access to everything in center city.
Down side is Art Bar ( it's a good place to start or end an evening, it's not a destination). Minimal food selection. There is not a restaurant option on property at this time.
I love the location of this hotel. I enjoy staying here when I'm in Philly!

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Traveling Todd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay. We are happy that our services and facilities have met your expectations.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for the Philadelphia Marathon. It was 2 blocks from the start/finish line. It was clean and the staff was friendly. And for the Starbucks lovers, there is one right across the street! They have a nice restaurant downstairs that has a limited menu but it works. The best part for us runners is they let us keep the room until 1:00 p.m. So we could shower and then check out.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Christine T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay. We are happy that our services and facilities have met your expectations.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After being totally remodeled, this place is even better.
Staff is excellent.....from front desk, to concierge (Kuran) to club room (Charles).
Room décor and lobby is more trendy.

I enjoy staying at this hotel.
VB

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Vincent B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay. We are happy that our services and facilities have met your expectations.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed over a saturday night at this hotel. Overall a highly pleasant experience. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were in pristine shape and for facing one of the main streets (Market) I did not have any trouble with outside noise (or inside for that matter). Highly recommend, especially for business travelers.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ashley G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay. We are happy that our services and facilities have met your expectations.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is a good business hotel. Nothing extraordinary but not bad. It is a remodeled Crown hotel I believe. Rooms are comfortable, but bathrooms are small. Overall, it is a decent business hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Srinla,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay. We are delighted that our facilites and services met yor expectatons.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#30 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Plan your visit to the Franklin Institute's exciting Real Pirates Exhibit with our VIP Packages. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.