We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and decor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent service and decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After being totally remodeled, this place is even better.
Staff is excellent.....from front desk, to concierge (Kuran) to club room (Charles).
Room décor and lobby is more trendy.

I enjoy staying at this hotel.
VB

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    37
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
22
2
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently stayed over a saturday night at this hotel. Overall a highly pleasant experience. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were in pristine shape and for facing one of the main streets (Market) I did not have any trouble with outside noise (or inside for that matter). Highly recommend, especially for business travelers.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is a good business hotel. Nothing extraordinary but not bad. It is a remodeled Crown hotel I believe. Rooms are comfortable, but bathrooms are small. Overall, it is a decent business hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I would recommend this hotel for its location and staff. Room was tiny, and City noise is not blocked. Strange 2" gap under the door, seems to be on all doors. Saying that, great location and friendly stay.

(It's very close to the 'Rocky steps' $12 park at George Washington monument)

- Very clean room, fridge, tv, shower products included.
- Free 3mbps wifi, pay if you want faster speed
- Valet parking $38/24 hours. $28 if you don't prepay and stay under 12 hours.
- Stay here for a Philly visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was new renovated. I would go back there anytime. I asked the person on the front desk for directions for somewhere, and when he didn't know he went out of his way to find out ...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel was very nice and recently updated to a modern theme. Rooms are nice and clean. Service was very good. Nice experience at half the price of most of the hotels of the quality in Philadelphia.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear David W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay. We are delighted that our services and facilities met your expectations.

We look foward to serving you again in the near future,

Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent the weekend at the Sonesta....could not have asked for a better place! Room was clean, bed very comfortable, shower hot and plenty of pressure. The staff was attentive, friendly, and efficient. When we pulled into the attached garage, a bellman came out to help with our luggage, and stayed with us until we were in the room, where he put away our bags and hanging items. We rarely order room service, but did for breakfast, and were pleasantly surprised...it arrived on time, the food was excellent, the waiter very courteous and friendly.
The location is great...walking distance to restaurants and attractions. Our "city view" suite had a great view of the famous City Hall.
We highly recommend the Sonesta, and will surely stay there agin, for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyB1, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear John W,

Thank you for taking the time share your feeback with us regarding your stay. We are very happy to hear that our servies and facilities exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to servinng you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Beverly Brunson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Plan your visit to the Franklin Institute's exciting Real Pirates Exhibit with our VIP Packages. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.