We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the Updates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Artfully Sonesta
Ranked #41 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
1 review
“Like the Updates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff was all very friendly and the entry way, bar area, and amenities are all incredible. I also have to say I liked the executive suite, which offers a nice mixture of water and juices. The breakfast that they offered in the morning was very nice as well. My room had its own Keurig with K-cups included, which especially helped the morning I had to leave. I liked every part of my stay here.

Room Tip: I went with a club city? room I think it was called. It came with free wifi and access to the execu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
18
2
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I came to Philadelphia for a business meeting and stayed at the Sonesta based on good reviews. The people at the front desk were friendly, helpful and engaging. The room service contact was not an order taker but had great suggestions. The room was modern, clean and comfortable. The concierge was extremely helpful getting me back to the airport the next day. I would highly recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We came for the weekend of the marathon. We found the hotel friendly, our room immaculate and in a perfect location to see and do all things of interest. Having the valet parking and bar and grill was a real plus. We will be back!.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in Sonesta Philadelphia during a 5-day business trip and couldn’t be happier. My modern and chic room was as beautiful as the lobby. Location of the hotel was great, close to shopping and dining.

The bed is on a soft side but comfortable, the desk and chair are great. There is Keurig K-cup coffee maker in each room, which is super convenient. So much more efficient and clean than a regular coffee maker in other hotels. The large LCD had a good cable package; channels included HGTV and HBO.

I ordered room service one night. The dinner came within 20 minutes and it was absolutely delicious. The portion was gigantic: to large pieces of fish on a place full of risotto with what seemed to be a whole bunch of asparagus; I didn’t finish. I didn’t have change and had to leave the tip on the card but they do add 20% tip to the bill by default so I guess it wasn’t even necessary.

The outdoor pool was closed (November) but looked a decent size. I did not use any other facilities (like fitness or business center). I didn’t have breakfast but went to just see how it looked. It was kind of strange as it seemed to be served in a hall way. I was immediately stopped and asked for a ticket (apparently you get a ticket when you pay for a breakfast deal).
I had a Deluxe King City View room. The room was well appointed (see pictures) although the "city view" was a bit misleading. I didn't care much as I was out most of the days, but for someone coming for pleasure a room with a view of a concrete wall would be a big disappointment. I was in room number 810. The wall right in front of my window seemed to end just a floor or two above me, so rooms with numbers ending in 10 on higher floors should have much better views.

Also, I didn't notice a safe box in the room. I decided not to have my room attended to as I had confidential information and can’t legally leave it in the open. It would have been helpful if there was a safe box where I could lock up my documents. Not too big of a deal, though.
The free WiFi was not good. I debated upgrading to a paid option a couple of times but didn’t do it in the end. It is ok for checking email or looking up a restaurant but if you will be working in the room for extended periods of time, you should definitely get an upgrade.

Lastly, the rooms are not very well soundproofed. One night I heard snoring coming out from another room and every single day I heard a lot of elevator traffic (my room was probably third or fourth door from the elevators). Again, this was not a big inconvenience because I had to be up early for work, but would be quite a nuance under different circumstances.

All in all, a beautiful and really inexpensive room ($159/night) and a pleasant stay. I will definitely stay there again if I ever travel to Philly in the future.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, ask for a room that's away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I've stayed at this property before before a changed hands. It was nice before it's nicer now. Everything went smooth from check in to check out. Maurice at the front desk was wonderful. Both he and the guy that brought up room service recognized that it was my anniversary and actually wrote a little card for us. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have to say my stay was very good and it was because of the help. Every employee was very helpful from the front desk to bell hop and concierge. We got 3 good recommendations from the concierge. We had troubles with our keys twice but the people came up to replace the keys promptly.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was more that I thought. It has a retro feel with a W type of look. The room was amazing and the staff topped it off as a great stay. They only thing I did not like was that the room was rather cold. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#44 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Plan your visit to the Franklin Institute's exciting Real Pirates Exhibit with our VIP Packages. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.