We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
D-ART Into Philly!
Ranked #49 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great, convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice hotel for staying in the Center City area. Easy to get in and out of the city, great restaurants, shopping and bars within walking distance. Also only a few blocks from the subway, so easy to take to other parts of the city. Hotel staff were all very friendly, our room was ready before check-in time, even on a busy Saturday. Only downside was waiting for our car the next morning which we had valeted in the adjoining garage - we had to wait at least 20 minutes because of the volume of people trying to get out their cars. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Kristin, Thank you for your kind words and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Because of our location, this hotel is a great choice for leisure travelers looking to enjoy the city for a weekend. The parking garage does become busy on Sunday mornings as all of our guests make their way back home, but the garage attendants work hard to expedite the process to ensure that our guests receive their cars in a timely manner. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    328
    150
    65
    59
See reviews for
136
200
66
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The receptionist at the front desk was very helpful and nice.
We were able to get early check in, which was really great.
Loved the location of the hotel...we could easily walk to dinner and to bars. The bar attached is the hotel was very nice as well. A lot of beer selection!
Would definitely come back again! I can't wait to see it when the renovations are complete.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Michelle, Your comments are appreciated and thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Our location is close to so many local restaurants and bars and everything is conveniently in walking distance. The Elephant and Castle restaurant located inside the hotel has a wide range of local and national beers to fit everyone’s taste buds. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We headed to Philadephia for an historical tour and overnight stay on our 39th anniversay. When my wife called to ask if we could check in early we were told if the room was available. We arrived a little after 11:00 a.m., the room was ready and because she had mentioned it was our anniversay, they upgraded our room and delivered a bottle of wine and some fruit. Front desk service and site seeing recommendations by staff (Casey) were winners and the restaurant recommendation for dinner (John) also a winner.

Our customer service experience from reservation to check out was outstanding. They exceed our expectations.

The accomodations were very nice and the customer service was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Bill, Congratulations on your 39th Anniversary and I am glad we could help you celebrate that special occasion! We enjoy learning about our guests so that we can personalize our service towards you. We hope to see you again next year to celebrate your 40th Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here two nights in early March as an AAA group. Although I arrived there via bus, I did note that there was parking on site. The lobby was pleasant as were all of the staff I encountered. Our room was on the 9th floor without a pretty view, but we were not there during the day so it was not a concern. As others have noted, the bathroom is tiny. Step in and either use the toilet or get in the shower. The sink was outside the bathroom. The shower had shampoo and conditioner. There was no shower gel. When I asked the consierge, he said it was supposed to be empty, that they were trying to determine what clients preferred soap vs gel. There was only one bar of soap to use for both the sink and the shower. Our toilet had a minor problem which we were able to fix ourselves. In a neighboring room the handle broke off the toilet. It was repaired promptly. The room was clean and the bedding was comfortable. The king size pillows were too large for the double beds though. I missed having a make-up mirror, more soap. We could not figure out how to set the alarm on the clock so we arranged for a wake up call from the desk. The room was very quiet with minimal noise from the hall. Our group had a full buffet breakfast two mornings. It was complete with eggs, potatoes, bacon, beverages, yogurt,fresh fruit, etc. Four toasters were available for our use. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant. There were four elevators, so the wait was usually not long.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We understand that our bathrooms are on the smaller side; however that is an area that we look forward to improving when we renovate the hotel in the near future. The new dispensers in the bathroom are a way that the hotel is striving to be more environmentally friendly and we work on ensuring that they are consistently filled. Overall, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our two day stay in March of 2013. The location was great. The parking was very convenient and we didn't move our car once during our stay. The staff were all professional and very helpful. Room was clean and had everything we needed.

We had lunch, breakfast and dinner in the E & C restaurant and were impressed with the staff and the food was very good.

Room Tip: view isn't good, but I don't think any of the room had a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sandy, thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to review your stay. Our knowledgeable team is able to assist with all of our guests requests 24 hours a day. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel was very nice, location was great, liked that parking was on site and was impressed with the friendliness of the staff, from the front desk to housekeeping, everyone that worked there was so pleasant and helpful.

our room was on the 24th floor with the view of city hall. that was considered an executive level and gave you access to complimentary coffee and continental breakfast, overall, very nice.
a couple of things we did not care for. the bathroom is really, really, really tiny, did not like that also, we had a hard time getting the room temp cool enough and the shower in the am did not get hot, it wasn't cold, just not hot. found the closet door to be very annoying, really hard to open and close, a very minor thing but very annoying.

overall we had a great time, we would give the Sonesta an 8.5 out of 10 and would go back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with future guests and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. As we move forward as a Sonesta we look ahead to a transformation and improving on the areas that you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here February 25 through February 27.

I checked in on Monday and went down to the restaurant after dropping off my luggage. I ordered a drink and it came in a dirty glass (lipstick still on it! - yuck!), which I stared it until the waiter noticed it was dirty too and exchanged it for me.

The next morning, I got up left a tip on the table for housekeeping and went to my business conference. I came back to my room later that night to find the recycle bin not emptied and the trash can next to the desk unemptied as well.

This hotel has dispensers in the shower for shampoo, conditioner and soap. When I had taken a shower Tuesday morning, I used what was left of the soap in the dispenser and assumed this would be refilled when Housekeeping came in, especially after leaving a tip! So, when I took a shower on Wednesday morning, guess what? No soap!

I have never been to a hotel that does not replace used items such as soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.

It made me wonder if they even cleaned the room at all. Not much attention to detail at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Michelle, Thank you for your honest feedback and I am sorry that our housekeeping services did not meet your expectations nor live up to the Sonesta standard. The soap dispensers in the room are a step that we are taking to be more environmentally friendly and we will work with our housekeeping team to ensure they are refilled on a daily basis. I hope that you will give us another try in the future and if I can be of assistance, please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Plan your visit to the Franklin Institute's exciting Real Pirates Exhibit with our VIP Packages. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Amex, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.