We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
D-ART Into Philly!
Ranked #49 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a great stay at this Sonesta. It's about midway between the art museum area and the historic area, so in nice weather, you can walk. The hotel is attractive and clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We only wish there were safes and mini-fridges in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments! Our location is in a prime spot for leisure guests to visit both the historic district and the Art Museum and Rocky steps! Our concierges are here throughout the day to assist our guests in planning out their visit. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    330
    151
    65
    60
See reviews for
137
201
66
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My stay at this hotel was fairly good. The room was clean and neat and the receptionists were nice and very helpful. One receptionist in particular, Nicholas, was very helpful when booking our room. He was very polite, nice, and friendly! He also helped me book my room for a price that I was told by another phone receptionist would not be possible!! He was the highlight of my stay!! Good customer service goes a long way! In all, we didn't have any issues with our stay ( other than house keeping coming to our room hours before checkout on multiple occasions)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments and I will be sure to pass them on to Nick and the rest of the Front Office team! We work hard to ensure that each guest is satisfied during their stay and enjoy their experience here. I apologize that housekeeping tried to clean your room prior to your departure and I will inform our Director of Housekeeping know so that he can focus on that area with his staff. We hope that when you return to Philadelphia, we have the opportunity to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed for one Friday 12/28 night in this lovely hotel!! Everyone was so helpful, cheery and courteous from the valet to front desk staff!!! No interaction with housekeepin but the room was clean and comfortable! I got a TravelZoo deal for $119 which included overnight parking at the hotel! Sweet deal! We stayed in room 2206 which overlooked the outside pool and another building but you still got a decent view of the city I thought. The room was clean and the beds were wicked comfortable too!! The bath towels were great...huge and soft!! (I have to share that cause sometimes you get those generic white ones.) Love the concept of the tub and sink in separate areas so we both could get ready for the night!! I would recommend a vanity mirror be added on the side wall, as the sink mirror is a bit far away to put make up on.
The hotel location was great!!! We walked 15-20mins to my favorite Happy Hour at Sampan (Sansom and So 13th St). I don't mind walking as I LOVE Philly!! I cannot wait to return to this hotel if I can get a deal like this again :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and I am pleased that you had an excellent stay! Our staff, from the Front Office to Housekeeping, wants to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience. We pride ourselves on a clean and spotless hotel and our new bedding and pillows make the beds that much more comfortable. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I checked in last night for New Year's Eve expecting a nice hotel. The pictures on the hotel website made the rooms look spacious, modern and comfortable.. These depictions couldn't be further from the truth.. We came into our room and instantly a musty odor permeated our nostrils. The ceiling had stains from water damage that was never painted over. Our room was right next to the elevator and the walls were extremely thin so we heard the elevator going all night and loud drunk people stumbling back to their rooms.. When we asked if we could change rooms further from the elevator they told us nothing was available. The room was tiny and left us feeling claustrophobic. The bed extremely uncomfortable and small, felt like we were sleeping on a wooden board, and they only have two small pillows. My girlfriend and I woke up with backaches. The phone in the room was broken so we had to call the front desk with any requests from our cell phones. Now on to the bathroom.. The toilet was filthy and kept having dirt floating into it from the pluming, the same happened in the shower - when we turned it on dirt floated in from the drain. Overall a horrible experience, I would never spend the money on a hotel like this ever again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We will review our website to ensure that the correct pictures are associated with the correct rooms as we do have several different room types available. I would like to thank you for your honest feedback as this gives our hotel areas to focus on when inspecting our guest rooms. If I can assist you further with your stay, please feel free to contact me. We do like to meet and exceed the expectations of each of our guests, and I hope that I have the opportunity to turn this stay around for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a weekend in Philadelphia. We stayed at the Sonesta on Dec. 21-23, 2012, and loved it. Of course, it's a great location. The hotel apparently is in transition. Sonesta took it over from Crowne Plaza and is renovating the rooms. We did not see an unrenovated room. We had a large, modern room with all the comforts and amenities that we have found in five-star hotels. Our stay was perfect. Every staff person was helpful and courteous. The room was large and clean; the bed was comfortable. It was perfect. We did not have a spectacular view, but that did not matter. I believe that the hotel is on the upswing (based on some past reviews). I'd recommend checking on nearby parking for better rates. The hotel rates are fairly priced, and specials are available. We had free WiFi in the room, which is appreciated. I asked about the unrenovated rooms, and was told at the desk that by the end of 2013, all or most rooms would be renovated. We used the hotel as a weekend get-a-way and loved Philadelphia, the location of the hotel, and the hotel. We will return.

Gerald Stern

Room Tip: Join the Sonesta travel pass club. Ask about a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I will be sure to share your comments with the team. We do offer many packages that include parking or breakfast which offer a great value to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Philadelphia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Large rooms but nothing out of the ordinary, a little dull interior and just pretty norma all in alll. Good location though and flexibility around check out was appreciated. Friendly luggage carrier. Breakfast was also petty normal, continental but no bagels, just toast bread.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Our staff is one of the top reasons guests decide to stay with us. We work hard to accommodate the needs of each of our guests and it is nice to hear that you enjoyed our service. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

So here goes,
I bought a groupon for a one night stay that included valet parking. Seemed like a good deal until we got there. First we get into the room and its pretty dirty, there are stains all over the carpet, a dusty old CRT television, dirty coffee pot blah blah blah. So I call downstairs and they were nice about giving us a new room and $5 for coffee in the morning. So then we get in the room and its exactly the same type of old room. Anyway at this point I'm running out of time to get ready, we had a reservation a Morimotos. My wife comes out of the shower and says come here, well on the wall is a nice big fat cockroach. So much for this hotel, what a nightmare. The front desk gives us a free night, like I would ever come back, and says "well next year we'll be renovating"....Do not go to this place

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your candid feedback and we are disappointed that this occurred during your stay. Once the Front Desk had been notified about the situation, that room had been placed out of order for treatment and we have taken preventive measures so that this does not happen to future guests. Our team here always wants to make things right for our guests and I hope that you will take advantage of the offer they provided to you and visit us again so that we can show you what a Sonesta experience should be. If you would like to talk to me further, please do not hesitate to contact me offline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
City Center West
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
City Center West
Club Quarters
Club Quarters
#33 of 82 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#24 of 82 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
City Center East
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
City Center, Mi...
Show More
City Center West
Latham Hotel
Latham Hotel
#16 of 82 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Charming, City...
Show More
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#22 of 82 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Plan your visit to the Franklin Institute's exciting Real Pirates Exhibit with our VIP Packages. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.