We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT AREA........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
D-ART Into Philly!
Ranked #49 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Sonesta hotel
2 reviews
“GREAT AREA........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I check into this lovely hotel on the 28th of nov.2012,and i must say that it's quite breath taking,the staff members are polite they go above and beyond to cater to there guest. The rooms are very cozy i just have one some problem the toliets are very low to the ground,but they are making wonderful improvements. The food is worth every penny. I rate this hotel as 4.51/2 starrs. I would mostly visit this this hotel on any giving sunday..(lol)... As a matter of fact i'll be back on dec 15,2012. Keep up the GREAT JOB!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    328
    150
    65
    59
See reviews for
136
200
66
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night in September 2012 for the Rock'n'Roll Half Marathon. We picked this hotel based on it's price and closeness to the start line for the race on Sunday. The location was great for that as well as walking to the Convention Center on Saturday for the expo and to walk around downtown Philly in general. The room was very clean and large. More than enough room for both of us. There was a nice desk and sitting area. The bathroom was clean. The restaurant on the first floor was average but easy for lunch after the race with great beer selection. I would stay again for pleasure or business. The only negative was the parking. We were charged twice (by the hotel and parking garage) and it was expensive. I would looking for other parking close by next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments and congratulations on running the marathon! Our location is only a short walk to the Art Museum and Benjamin Franklin Parkway, where many local events are held in Philadelphia. We hope to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hotel very well located, close to the Convention Center and City Hall but the rooms are a little bit old. Free WIFI in the room and very friendly service, highly recommend the Cafe Express for have breakfast that exist in the hotel. Also close to the commercial heart of Philadelphia, Wellnut St, good area for shopping and nightlife.

Hotel muy bien situado, cerca del Centro de Convenciones y del Ayuntamiento, aunque algo antiguo. WIFI gratis en la habitación y servicio muy agradable, muy recomendable desayunar el Café Express que hay en el Hotel. También está cerca de las zonas más comerciales de Filadelfia, Wellnut St, buena zona para comprar y salir por la noche.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
The complimentary wireless that is available in all of our guest rooms is a nice added feature for leisure and business travelers alike. I am glad you were able to enjoy the area and the services that we provide at the hotel. Thank you for choosing the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was here on a business trip. Make sure to register for the "travel pass" before you go. It will give you access to thier lounge that has a free, well-stocked continential breakfast and snacks and beverages (including alcoholic, in the afternoon) through out the day. The staff was friendly and the hotel is located in the center of city, near a ton of great restraunts within walking distance. I did notice a few hiccups (parking valet taking longer than necessary, and a discrepency in room service hours), however i understand that the hotel is going through a company/mangement transition. Otherwise, it was a great hotel, in a great location, perfect for the business traveler.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments! Our Travel Pass Program offers some great benefits to our repeat guests and I hope that you will return again! I apologize for the discrepancy in the room service hours and we are currently working on fixing the printed material that lists the incorrect hours. I am glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night in mid November. My wife was running in the Philadelphia marathon and she chose this hotel based on the location. It was about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the start/finish line. Its about a 10 minute walk to City Hall and about 15 minutes to the Convention Center. There are lots of eateries nearby as well as shopping which makes the location even better. The hotel property itself is ok. The rooms could use a little updating. Tube TV instead of a flat screen. Plus, the back of the TV stand was coming apart. Also, the drapes looked old. To be fair, I think Sonesta took over the hotel a few months ago so I would expect improvement. The property was clean and the staff were helpful. If I had business in that area of center city I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
I am happy you enjoyed your stay and congratulations on running the Marathon! With our conversion to Sonesta, we look towards updating the amenities and décor in the room such as the TVs. When you return to Philadelphia, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Sonesta is located on Market Street a few blocks from City Hall and the Suburban Railroad station. The room was large and comfortable. It is one of the few hotels I've stayed at that has a restaurant that serves a reasonable priced breakfast. A added surprise: I NEVER had to wait more than 30 seconds for an elevator.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is a bargain. Very inexpensive, but modern, clean and comfortable. A few blocks away from Rittenhouse square, the train station and walkable distance from the old city and civic center. Excellent service from the lobby staff, but the maid never replace the bath amenities...no shampoo for 5 nights!) and some clothes tags were on the carpet during all our stay. Free wifi and a pub really good! I would come back tomorrow.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, Front Office Manager at Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you had a wonderful stay! The hotel does offer a great value to our guests with its central location and accommodating staff. I apologize that your amenities were not replaced and I will inform the Director of Housekeeping so that he can review that with his team. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Plan your visit to the Franklin Institute's exciting Real Pirates Exhibit with our VIP Packages. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.