We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, convenient place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 25%
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Nice, convenient place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

Not a whole lot to add to the many reviews here. We stayed for a week
while my girlfriend attended a training seminar being held at the hotel. It's right in the center of the city, so you can easily walk or take a bus to the historic sights, the Art Museum, and you couldn't get any closer to the convention center. If you get homesick for shopping, Kmart is a block away. The rooms are on the top 4 floors(7-10), so you can count on an elevator ride every time. If you are chemically sensitive, you can ask that housekeeping not use chemicals while cleaning. That fresh clean smell mentioned in other reviews was from housekeeping spraying the bathrooms with deodorant/disinfectant spray- like a fire hose! (something I witnessed) The hotel restaurant had decent food- the hamburgs were really good and didn't make me sick. If you're expecting a lot of help and information from the hotel staff, this isn't the place to come. It was a standard, generic hotel room that you will find anywhere that was pretty clean and had sleep number beds. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    407
    193
    68
    33
See reviews for
249
186
81
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

We stayed at this Hilton Garden Inn on 2/23 & 2/24 2007 and were very happy with our experience. Room 1036. We booked through Priceline and paid $69 per night - not bad!! BUT, if you drive, the parking garage costs an outrageous $22/day, so figure on adding that to your overall room cost.

The hotel was immaculate, which is always my main concern for hotels. Our bed was super comfy - but, a double and not a queen size bed so a lot smaller than we're used to while traveling. They had just replaced the TVs with HUGE widescreen flat panel units the day we arrived (we watched them pull the old units out of the hallway!). The room had a minifridge and coffee maker as do most hotels, but also had a microwave. The bathroom was fairly spacious and spotless.

The front desk staff were very friendly but perhaps understaffed (there was a bit of a wait at times).

The pool and hot tub looked nice but we didn't take time to swim. The fitness room equipment appeared to be newer models in good shape, albeit a small area.

The restaurant bar was great - reasonably priced drinks. Avoid their breakfast buffet at all costs though!!! Bland food made from boxed mixes. YUCK. Easily the worst food we ate in Philly. Take the time to travel around the corner for some real food (excellent restaurants abound!!).

The location is great - though downtown Philly is easily navigable by foot or car wherever you stay. We walked to and from the hotel to the farthest reaches of the historic/old city district and also South Street with no trouble.

In all we were satisfied with this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

Booked our hotel on Priceline. The hotel is located within walking distance to Philly"s historical district. Parking is available at the Convention Center parking garage for $21per night. No valet parking. The room was quite comfortable. The bed was one of the most comfortable that we have slept in -- high thread count sheets and a pillow top mattress. In room WIFI access was free, with free printing available over the network -- very nice for business travellers. No free continental breakfast, but breakfast is available at the 10th floor restaurant for $13.95 per plate if you desire. Center City is filled with coffee shops (Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks, etc), though, for a breakfast at a reasonable price. Small exercise room with new-looking equipment and a pool area is available. Overall we were pleased with the service and with our stay. We would stay here again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expensive Parking
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

We checked into this hotel because most of the hotels in the city were fully booked. For the price we paid (USD280), it is not worth the money. This is not like normal posh Hilton hotels, this hotel is more like an inn, just like the name suggested. Service is ok, although there is no concierge to provide information about where to go, or if you need to find out more details about Philly.

Room is spacious, but normal. The only great thing is the bed !! Bed was very comfortable. That's about the only plus point about the room.

However, the hotel is located near Chinatown, near some shopping area though not at a posh area. The posh areas are about 10-15 minutes walk.

We wanted to dine in a nice restaurant but had to end up taking a cab as there was none nearby unless you want to dine in hotels.

Overall, I would say it's an ok hotel, at a convenient location but if you are looking for something more posh/luxurious, this is not the place!

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2006

Very nice hotel in the center of the city. Helpful and friendly staff, comfortable room, internet access, very nice bed linens and the food at the restaurant (especially breakfast) is great.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

Was in Philli attending a convention. Had reservations at the Westin but had a bad experience there. I walked over to the Hilton Garden Inn which is across from the convention center and luckily got accomodations. The front desk was GREAT and friendly and polite unlike my experience at the Westin. Plus the costs was $80 less per night. the room I had was a 2 queen bed suite with a fridge , microwave and was very comfortable. It was also on the top floor and at the end of a hall so it was very private the hotel could not have been more convenient since it is across the street from the convention center. I was very pleased and would stay at this property again should I be in Philli. I have had good luck at Hilton Garden Inns in other cities as well as a bizz traveler.

  • Liked — location and the friendly people
  • Tips/Secrets — top floor more spacious space. I did peek into a room that was smallish with a single bed. I stayed in a little suite with 2 beds it was very roomy
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

I paid $300 a night at this hotel. It is clean and rooms are large but common - it is not worth that money, pay more and stay at Hyatt - at least it is worth it.
The true price of that place is no more than $130 - get it at that price it is OK.
BTW they calling them suites - what a joke - they have large rooms and it seemed they had no idea what to do with that so they put a divider and a couch in one sections - there you go it is a suite now :)

  • Liked — it is in downtown
  • Disliked — price
  • Tips/Secrets — stay at Hyatt
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Address: 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.