We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!!!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 25%
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
1 review
“Never Again!!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 9 pm checked in and headed up to our room. Kids wanted to swim right away went to pool which had dirty towels piled up and none on the shelf. Called down to the desk and was told they were working on it after 3 calls in an hour still no towels we left pool soaking wet and headed back up to room. Kids jumped in shower and when I went to take them out realized there were only 3 towels and two washcloths. Called down to the desk and requested more washcloths and another towel and was told sorry the hotel was sold out and there was a shortage of towels and washcloths so I guess the four of us are going to have to use the same washcloth?? She said housekeeping was closed?? A security gaurd brought up two bath mats for us to dry off with about an hour later! There were small holes in the sheets and mildew on the shower curtain I was very disappointed with our stay and we were never compensated for any of the inconveniences. Upon check out they never asked how was our stay or have a nice day nothing..what ever happened to CUSTOMER SERVICE? The parking garage is a hot mess the elevator runs extremely slow and is always packed. There were stairs available but the condition of it is comparable to the cleanliness of the subway. Have stayed at a couple different Hilton's this by far is the worst!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPhillyGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Again, we sincerely apologize to you and your family for the inconveniences that you all enured while staying with us. We will be sure to work with our staff to ensure that all issues are corrected. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    406
    193
    68
    33
See reviews for
248
186
81
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My family usually stays in a Homewood Suites. We rarely venture away from that hotel group. Based on location, price, and availability we chose to use the Hilton Garden in Center city Philly. I booked two King Junior Suites and asked for them side by side at the time of the reservation. Additionally, I asked for a pack and play in one of the rooms.

1. Parking is public parking and is share with the convention center (public) and there is only one elevator. There are signs all over the parking garage telling you to, See the front desk to have your parking validated. They do not validate anything. The elevator is always full, take the stairs our 3 and 5 year olds enjoyed dragging their bags down the steps.

2. Our room was not ready upon a late arrival. We asked for an early check in, they told us 1pm it would be ready. We arrived 1.5 hours after the normal check in time of 4pm and the room was still not ready. They asked for a mobile phone number and stated they would call when it was ready, I pointed our my 2 children, and out our bags and explained we needed a room ASAP. They did manage to get us out room about 15 minutes later. For our inconvenience we were treated to breakfast, only they forgot to send the vouchers to our room. I went to the front desk and had asked for them.

3. No pack and Play, only 2 towels per room. A call to get more with no issues.

4. Room service is good and served hot, just pricey as should be expected.

5. A wedding rented the restaurant out for a late night wedding. Our room is located directly under the restaurant. The music lasted until 1:30am then we could hear the staff setting up tables and chairs. Kept waking up my 3 year old, who in turn woke the neighboring rooms. Complaints to the front desk resulted in comping the room but did not get me any additional sleep.

5. Breakfast was good. Buffet style with an omelet station, Omelet guy is good. I asked to have our group seated together, 8 of us, and they could not accommodate us, even thought there were empty large round tables in the back room, they would not open those to us. But did fill them later when the main room was full.

6. Check out time: We asked to place the room service on my brother's Visa card. They did, and they charged mine also. $181 to both of us.

7. Credit Card Review: $300 for the rooms, $362 ($181 overcharged) for room service, $100 (2x $50) for unknown fee waiting for a refund. $33 for Parking - $33 for my car $61 for my brother.

8. Wawa is across the street for emergency purchases.

9. Doorman/Greeter, Richard, is extremely helpful with directions and recommendations.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 9th and 10th floors as that is where the larger functions are held.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPhillyGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you and your family with the quality of services you all deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I again, apologize for all of the inconveniences you endured and we hope you will consider staying with us again should you travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location, walking distance to all the popular attractions. Hotel wasn't anything special, but for the price it was just what we were looking for. There are a lot of restaurants and bars that also within walking distance. Right next to reading terminal market too which is really fun to walk around and grab a quick lunch/dinner.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I enjoy my stay at this Hilton each time. It's clean, the staff is nice and it's a good location for the walking you must do in Philadelphia! You can get to Chinatown in a couple blocks or see the Liberty Bell easily. A walk through the city hall is amazing expecially at night - and easily accomplished from the Hilton. I had one small issue and the manager took care of it before I could even finish explaining. You cannot ask for a more accommodating hotel anywhere!

Room Tip: I like a room higher up and with a view . . . . some windows face a blank wall or parking deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great hotel that is still doing some upgrades, but starting to look great. It is greatly situated as being right next door to Reading Terminal for food, a couple of blocks from the Blue Line Metro, and across the street from the Convention Center. It serves as a great base to get around Philly. You can even take the bus right on Arch and it leaves you only a few blocks from the back side of the Museum of Art. The main entrance is actually on 11th in a cavernous area. The hotel has a very nice large lobby/lounge area and a good size business area.

The room was a good size and came with 2 full size beds, a large desk with chair, night table, and a large closet. The bathroom was a good size and came with good toiletries and comfortable fluffy towels. The only thing which wasn't great was that the room overlooked the Greyhound station and if you leave the window even a little open, there is plenty of noise throughout the night from the station.

All in all, would certainly stay here again for the same great price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room up high and away from the Greyhound station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Centrally located to the convention center, wills eye institute, theaters and many historic sites.(all within walking distance).
When I first called the hotel I was greeted by Carmen. Which because of her positive and friendly attitude was the reason we tried the Hilton Garden Inn Center City. She was right on the money.
Over the past nine months we've had several stays with the Garden Inn on Arch street. During these visits we've seen many positive changes. Which is why we keep going back. From speedy check-ins to extremely polite attitudes of all the employees. Staff at the front desk are more than willing to put the customer first. And be polite about it! Housekeeping and maintenance crew are very helpful as well.
As for the hotel rooms, they are clean and very spacious. Refrigerator and microwave in every room. A plus if you're staying more than two nights.
After every stay at the Garden Inn we receive an email from the general manager Jeff ,asking us how our stay was. I was impressed
by the quick response and he addressed our comments. He is more than willing to satisfy the customer and has gone out of his way more than once for us.

From our experiences, the Hilton Garden Inn under Jeff's managment , has become a fun and respectable place to stay.

A plus to this hotel , "Reading Terminal Market" right next door.
Tommy Dinicks pork sandwiches and lot's, lot's more!!

Room Tip: 7th floor leading to the pool, you can smell the chlorine and a bit more noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and really enjoyed it. We could walk to Chinatown and the Reading Terminal...places that my gourmand grandsons really like. Stay included free breakfast which was outstanding; great views too. Staff and maintenance excellent. Only complaint was that the pool is very small and shallow. The rest of the family did enjoy hot tub. We went to the Museum of Art and the grandsons really enjoyed the visit to the Independence Seaport Museum...perfect for ten- and eleven-year-olds. Wonderful family weekend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Address: 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.