We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2.5 stars...expected better of a Hilton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 25%
Ranked #35 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2.5 stars...expected better of a Hilton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here when I ran the marathon last weekend and honestly expected better. Upon arrival at 3:30, we, and many others in the lobby, were told our room wasn't ready and they were still cleaning them. We went out for a while and came back at 5 and the room still wasn't ready. At that point it was unacceptable and it took a nasty comment from me for a manager to come out and re-arrange our room. The room was roomy and clean so no complaint there. The next day, after running the marathon and coming back our room keys did not work and we had to go to the lobby where we were told we couldn't go back to our room because of renovations. We would have to move rooms, however none of the rooms were ready because they were being cleaned. After some more nasty comments from us and the fact our luggage was still in the room, they "allowed" us to stay in the room until another was ready. Of course then our keys stopped working again and we had to go back down to the lobby... We ended up moving and to their credit, we were offered help to move the bags and also were given our second night for free with no prompting.
So other than the staff seeming to not have their act together, the hotel was in a great location close to liberty bell, convention center, museums etc. The rooms were clean,comfortable and no issues with noise. As an aside, the 10th Floor Grill was not available either day of our stay for some unknown reason no one seemed to know so I have no comment other than I guess the Hilton family like losing money. Additionally, the elevators were very scary and probably need some maintenance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPhillyGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We truly appreciate your feedback as this is a great way for us to improve. I'm so sorry that we were unable to meet expectations and based upon your review. I will certainly review these concerns with the team so that we can improve our communication efforts in the future. I was glad to see that you were pleased with our Housekeeping services and our location was convenient. I hope that if you travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again so that we may show you the quality service and stay you expect from our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    330
    160
    57
    27
See reviews for
193
153
68
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for a convention at the Pa Convention Center. Very convenient. A very short walk to The Reading Terminal which every traveler should experience. Parking was next to the hotel and accessible without going outside. A little pricey but city indoor parking is city indoor parking. Front desk staff was extremely helpful. Restaurant not worth going to, there are so many places to eat with much better food and service. I'd stay there again but not eat there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is a little bit on the older side, but the rooms are spacious. They are clean and comfortable. There is also a mini-fridge and a microwave in the room, which I enjoy. The staff in general is very friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel is terrific! You can walk to the Liberty Bell and the Old City.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We chose this hotel because it offered a Jr Suite that could sleep a family of 5: 2 doubles & a sleeper sofa. When we arrived to check in at 4pm our room was not ready. Before I could even begin to think about complaining, they offered us a free complimentary breakfast, which was nice.
A couple of negatives before I get to the positives: The pillows were mushy. The mattress was soft, but worn out. It was like sleeping in a tunnel. We only had 2 towels in a room that slept 6. We asked for extra towels and were given 1 additional towel. The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night & sounded for 15 minutes straight...not their fault. It was triggered by a smoker, but it was still not fun when you have children in your hotel room.
The positives: The room was very clean. The bathroom was spotless. We had enough room for everyone to be comfortable. Chinatown is a block away and we had a superb dinner at Wong Wong Restaurant. Reading Terminal Market is right next door, which is a real treat. There is also a Wawa across the street for snacks, sandwiches, etc... The historic sites are 4 to 5 blocks away. The walk is not bad and we never felt unsafe. We were able to leave our bags in a secure room when we checked out and we spent 3 more hours exploring the city.
Overall, for the cost & the location, I'd say that we would go back to this hotel if we were to return to Philly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in Philadelphia. The hotel was fine but not great. The staff at the front desk was very friendly. We parked in the attached garage for about $36 a day, which seemed a bit expensive but it was nice having the car nearby. Though once we arrived to Philadelphia were able to walk everywhere that we had wanted to go. The hotel is located close to the Reading Market and Chinatown, and about a mile from Independence National Park and the Liberty Bell. We had breakfast at the hotel which cost extra unless you are a Hilton Gold member. The breakfast was good but nothing special. The breakfast servers were nice but not overly attentive. The room where the breakfast is served was very nice with a great view of the city. The main lobby is a little tired looking but they seemed to be working on updates. The room was clean and comfortable but they didn't seem to be very sound proof as we could hear people in the hallways and in the rooms next to us. Though the hotel was nice we would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel during my first ever visit to Philadelphia. The staff was super helpful and accommodating regardless on if you were talking to the front desk, the bartender in the restaurant upstairs, or the cleaning staff.

My room was clean and comfortable so I really have no major complaints. It is worth noting that the upper right corner of my window frame appeared to be damaged in a way that caused the sound of air being pulled from the room. It really sounded like a fan to me and since I use a fan for white noise at home, this was actually a plus in my book.

It is also worth noting that my room did not have a safe, nor were they able to provide one for the room. They were however kind enough to offer what essentially appeared to be a safe deposit box sized secure storage at the front counter.

The hotel was very conveniently located across the street from the convention center. The Reading Terminal Market is also nearby and is a terrific place to grab a bite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My family and I stayed here in September 2012 to set up our daughter for college. We had a great stay at this hotel earlier in July 2012, when we attended college orientation. This hotel is in an excellent location and close to transportation, sights, shopping and Reading Terminal Market. We had many great meals, snacks and desserts at the Market. We also picked up some PA gifts to bring home.
The hotel was clean and full of amenities. We utilized the exercise room, laundry room, refrigerator and microwave during our stay. These were all great, since we stayed more than a week in Philadelphia. The staff were all friendly and hospitable. We will be back to stay at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton
Address: 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#30 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.