We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quick trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location and service. Picked inclusive breakfast and valet parking package. Staff oozed customer service. Good location for walking to all attractions, restaurants shopping etc. Visited Farmers market on Saturday. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear cinlgar55,

I am very pleased to hear that you took advantage of one of our inclusive packages, and enjoyed out great location with the many things available right outside our doors. We look forward to having you back again and to experience even more of our Rittenhouse Square location.

Warm Regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    566
    113
    56
    32
See reviews for
277
708
136
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The last time I was in Philly I stayed at the Palomar directly across the road from the Sofitel. It's funkier and more expensive, but the service is better in the Sofitel (and it's by no means unfunky itself, particularly the lobby). Free wifi and car parking that's about $10 a night cheaper too. Really good business hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bonjour Stan W,

I am so glad that our service has won you over and that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our lobby. We look forward to welcoming you back again, especially in the upcoming colder months to enjoy our cozy fireplace in Liberte lounge in our lobby.

Warmest Regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice location in the downtown of Philly.

Check in and out was fast and painless.

The room was nice in size, great work area, wifi and had a great bathroom with shower.

There was lots to see and do within walking distance from this hotel , with easy access to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ron C,

It was a pleasure reading your review. I am so pleased that our large rooms and work areas were convenient for your business trip. I am also very glad that you had the opportunity to take some leisure time to explore some of the attractions, restaurants, and shops in our area. We eagerly await you next visit to Sofitel Philadelphia.

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is prefect to discover possibly the most historic US city, Philadelphia resonates with a certain buzz and the Sofitel is it's heart. The staff are courteous and friendly, and take the guests' needs as their priority to ensure you get the best experience bar none.

The rooms are comfortably appointed, and along with the usual in room facilities, the added bonus of a Keurig coffee maker and a Bose Wave radio machine add to the comfort.

A comfortable SoBed with ample pillows and luxurious linen add to the French elegance you'll encounter throughout the hotel.

Along from the lobby area, breakfast can be taken in the opulent surroundings of Chez Colette. There's a buffet on offer only at weekends, but during the week, a good selection from the a la carte menu is available supplemented by a smoothie and warm bakery offerings. The service was excellent and prompt, and you could even be offered the added bonus and be served by the charming Catalina.

Step out of the hotel and there it is in all it's glory, Philadelphia for you to enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear TH D,

It was a true delight to read your wonderful review! I am so pleased that not only did your have the opportunity to enjoy all of our amenities, but that our ambassadors truly made your stay with us memorable as well. As you mentioned, our guests' needs are our priority and it is good to hear that we were able to provide the best experience for you. We eagerly await to welcome you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again soon.

Merci,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is always a fantastic place for my wife and I to stay when in Philadelphia. It's in the middle of the city, walking distance to tourist destinations, shopping and eating. The staff is absolutely fantastic and will take care of everything you need. One thing to consider though if you have kids, there's no pool, no games or stuff like that for kids to do on a rainy or crummy day so take that into consideration but otherwise it's just a well run, excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Cher Garrison L,

It is a pleasure to hear multiple reviews from loyal guests such as you and your wife. We look forward to continuing to welcome back you and your family to Sofitel Philadelphia. We also have games that we are always happy to provide to our guests and their families. Any of our ambassadors would be happy to have them delivered to your room at your request.

Kind Regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was very spacious and clean and had a nice view of the city. We traveled with our dog and she was very comfortable and hotels staff was very nice and friendly and dog friendly. I thought that hotel valet parking staff did a very good job in accommodating our schedule. We really enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Bonjour SK2288,

Thank you for your great review and beautiful photos that you posted! I am so glad we provided not only you, but your dog as well with a great stay. We look forward to having you and your pooch stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First trip to Philadelphia. Chose the hotel because it was the lead hotel for Diner en Blanc. Great location both to the dinner and to area attractions. Was able to walk to and from historic city with ease. From the time I stepped foot in hotel until I left, treated exceptionally well. Check in was smooth; Anthony was very attentive. The room was great. Modern art and features. Comfy bed. Great bathroom. Bottled water to drink. Breakfast was included as part of my stay and it was amazing. Concierge offered great suggestions. I will definitely stay here again and try the Sofitel in other cities.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear txmdtraveler,

It is great to hear that you celebrated Diner En Blanc with us! We felt privileged to host this exciting event's after party and are very glad that you indulged in staying over and enjoying the city and its attractions right outside our doors while visiting. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, especially for next years festivities.

Merci,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.