We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 of the best hotel I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
Mike777
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“1 of the best hotel I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Travelling the world all year round, I can say with confidence and experience, this is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.
I'm a keen admirer of the Sofitel chain ( Sydney, Paris la Defense, london heathrow airport).
Sofitel hotels are luxurious, and to my opinion 1 step classier than the rest ( without being pretentious)
In Philadelphia, the location is fantastic, in a lovely, buzzing neighbourhood.
Staff are exceptionally well mannered, always friendly and very approachable. ( Their customer service skills truly impeccable.)
I stayed in regular rooms and a couple of times in the junior suites: just fantastic: bathrooms are always luxurious with the right amenities, great coffee machine too.
Breakfast is wonderful.
A fabulous experience.
I genuinely can't understand the few negative reviews, they seemed totally unfair for a hotel with such high standard.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Bonjour Mikem777,

I am delighted to hear that you have very much enjoyed your experiences at the Sofitel Philadelphia!

We do our utmost to indulge our guests, and I can tell that we have achieved our aim. I am proud that we are one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    600
    122
    58
    34
See reviews for
293
766
145
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Exceptional service. Will stay there from now on when I visit Philadelphia. Exceptional service. Will stay there from now on when I visit Philadelphia. Exceptional service. Will stay there from now on when I visit Philadelphia.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Bonjour Annie S!

I am so pleased to hear that our service made your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia very soon.

Merci,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I usually stay at the Sofitel when I am in Philadelphia for business. This time, my wife and I had a 2-day stay at the Sofitel when we went to Philly to celebrate her birthday. The staff were excellent. Faustine at the reception desk and William Kline the concierge -- each went out of the way to make my wife feel special -- which she is, of course. A delicious treat made it to our room when I let it slip that it was her birthday. William recommended a restaurant that was fantastic -- and happened to tell them it was my wife's birthday so she got another sweet treat. BTW, William also made last-minute arrangements for us at an excellent restaurant that was just right for our vegan friends. The hotel room is always excellent, the location is just right, and the staff are well-trained and go out of their way to make you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Bonjour PinchHit!

We absolutely delight in doing what we can to make our guests feel special, especially when celebrating an event such as a birthday. We truly feel privileged that you chose to spend your wife's birthday with us and I am very glad to hear that you took advantage of our excellent location.

We eagerly await your next visit weather for business or leisure.

Warm Regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Sofitels properties are pretty consistently upscale with good staffs. The hotel in Philadelphia is no exception. What's nice about this property is the location--in Rittenhouse Square. It's in the "real city" so you'll feel like you are surrounded less by tourists and more by locals. That said, it's a 15 minute walk or an easy subway ride to the Liberty Bell and the more touristy Society Hill.

The rooms are lovely and tasteful.

Green Features: Sofitel's lighting--tasteful but NOT over lit, is a nice touch. They don't waste energy here...
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Bonjour luv_big_cities!

It is alwasy wonderful to hear when we have provided the luxury experience that we have become known for. I am also delighted that you took advantage of our Rittenhouse Square location with the many things it has to offer, and its close proximity to the Historic District.

We excitedly await your next arrival for another "real city" expereince.

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is your run of the mill Sofitel, decor is like a W ten years ago. The staff were nice, but not overtly friendly.

I will say that all around, the food was fantastic. Breakfast, Bar, Dinner was all well executed and had the best staff.

Note- be sure to ask for a high floor to increase your view of Philly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear HoldenBea,

We pride ourselves on our uniform consistancy and are very pleased to know that you recognize our efforts. I am so happy to hear that your dinning experience with us was "fantastic" and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to enjoy our new menu that our Executive Chef will soon be rolling out.

Warm Regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel has an excellent location. We had some problems at check in, mostly, trying to park our car at the front door. Finally we decided to go to the parking located one block far from the hotel and carry all our luggage. Rooms need to be updated, the decor looks old, but the room was comfortable. Breakfast is the only reason to visit again this hotel, is incredibly good. For the same rate we'll try another hotel in the area. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Bonjour Gaby N!

We appreciate your understanding of the higher traffic volume for parking that comes along with our central location in the city. I am also delighted that you enjoyed our well known breakfast that we offerin Chez Colette. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Philadelphia for you to try our dinner in Liberte as well, especially since we have a new Executive Chef.

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed five nights at the Sofitel Philadelphia, running a series of meeting both in the Sofitel and at other properties. Sleeping rooms are large and very comfortable, and the staff and service are outstanding. Meeting rooms are not your typical hotel "banquet-y" rooms. They have tons of natural light, modern decor, and super comfortable chairs. And the food -- delicious! The location is terrific. Close enough to the Convention Center to be walkable, but in a great area near Rittenhouse Square, with many shops and restaurants. Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Bonjour Doris F!

We cater to many business travelers and do out best to step out of the ordinary and provide a unique and luxury experience for our guests. We don't want your business trip to only be remembered for your meetings, but also for a wonderful stay in Philadelphia.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon for another trip mixed with both business and pleasure.

A beintôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.