We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel has an excellent location. We had some problems at check in, mostly, trying to park our car at the front door. Finally we decided to go to the parking located one block far from the hotel and carry all our luggage. Rooms need to be updated, the decor looks old, but the room was comfortable. Breakfast is the only reason to visit again this hotel, is incredibly good. For the same rate we'll try another hotel in the area. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Bonjour Gaby N!

We appreciate your understanding of the higher traffic volume for parking that comes along with our central location in the city. I am also delighted that you enjoyed our well known breakfast that we offerin Chez Colette. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Philadelphia for you to try our dinner in Liberte as well, especially since we have a new Executive Chef.

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    602
    123
    58
    34
See reviews for
297
772
146
497
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed five nights at the Sofitel Philadelphia, running a series of meeting both in the Sofitel and at other properties. Sleeping rooms are large and very comfortable, and the staff and service are outstanding. Meeting rooms are not your typical hotel "banquet-y" rooms. They have tons of natural light, modern decor, and super comfortable chairs. And the food -- delicious! The location is terrific. Close enough to the Convention Center to be walkable, but in a great area near Rittenhouse Square, with many shops and restaurants. Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Bonjour Doris F!

We cater to many business travelers and do out best to step out of the ordinary and provide a unique and luxury experience for our guests. We don't want your business trip to only be remembered for your meetings, but also for a wonderful stay in Philadelphia.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon for another trip mixed with both business and pleasure.

A beintôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Overall a physically attractive, well decorated property in the center of Philadelphia. Clean, and staff generally helpful. However, it is not cheap, and there were some problems with our visit: (1) there is almost no space in front for cars. They offer valet parking, but we were always harassed and hurried in these transfers. (2) Both days we had breakfast there, the host or hostess in the hotel restaurant made us wait for several minutes to clean a table when the restaurant was far from full and there were other cleaned tables. When we complained, they offered some lame and incomprehensible excuse. (3) The exercise room was not in great shape, with several machines not working (apparently because of a flood). And one that was in use was defective, and my wife hurt her foot while using it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Robby71,

I am disappointed that your visit with us was not the perfect experience that we strive to give to all of our guests. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, as we are continuously enhancing the services we offer to our guests.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia to indulge in the magnifique experience that is our custom!

Merci,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Sofitel is not the most beautiful building on the outside, but the décor inside is classy and inviting. The rooms and bathrooms are large and comfortable, and the staff if polished and helpful. It could use a "freshen" on the interiors, and the bar could use some more seating, but overall this is a very good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear MicMoz,

I am very pleased to hear that you were impressed by the inside decor of our historic Philadelphia stock exchange building. We believe that an inviting environment is important, which is why we have designed more seating in our lounge area next to our bar which provides more comfort yet still the same service as our bar.

We look forward to inviting you back again soon to Sofitel Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

What a very nice hotel. Friendly people to help us after hectic traveling day. Fantastic room everything we wanted and more. Great location in the center of the city. The staff help make arrangements to get to the ballpark after eating nearby based on their advice. Overall a wonderful experience but then again I did pay a high price to get what I needed. Sometimes we all deserve a treat and this was ours.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Bonjour Dean J,

We absolutely delight in having the opportunity to pamper our guests! Thank you for pointing out your fantastic guest room, our great location, and your wonderful experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon so that you may enjoy another "treat" and indulge in all that we have to offer here at the Sofitel Philadelphia.

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was my first stay at a Sofitel hotel. The warm welcome extended by Guest Services manager Sonia Dimicoli was very much appreciated and set the tone for our entire stay with Sofitel. We were celebrating my wife's birthday during her first visit to Philadelphia. The pleasant amenities offered by the hotel and Ms. Dimicoli, from the upgraded room to the complimentary dessert and birthday wishes, were certainly a nice touch that helped to make our visit a memorable one. Also, the Doorman and Valet staff were very genial and never missed an opportunity to greet us with a smile upon entering or leaving the hotel. My wife and I travel quite a bit and are very discriminating when it comes to hotel accommodations. This experience certainly surpassed our expectations.

Thank you Sofitel! We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Bonjour JamaalDaveed,

I am truly proud that Sonia, our doormen and valet staff provided you with the exemplary level of service and smiles we have become known for and created a memorable stay to celebrate your wife's birthday and first trip to the City of Brotherly Love!!

We excitedly await your next arrival.

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here whilst visiting our son in Philadelphia. A good central location and a comfortable suite. Air conditioning did not work properly, but we didn't realise this until our son pointed it out, as were there in March so didn't need it! Some items in bathroom had not been replaced when the room had been cleaned prior to our stay.
Overall, I would say a very good hotel, just needs a little bit of attention to detail. Very comfortable bed though!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Bonjour SJM8!

We aim to provide a comfortable stay for each of our guests, and I am delighted we were able to provide this for you in one of our suites while you were visiting your son!

Thank you for providing your feedback, as it will assist all of our ambassadors as we continuously strive to provide the exemplary level of service that is our custom.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.