We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good experience, but some problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #8 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overall a good experience, but some problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overall a physically attractive, well decorated property in the center of Philadelphia. Clean, and staff generally helpful. However, it is not cheap, and there were some problems with our visit: (1) there is almost no space in front for cars. They offer valet parking, but we were always harassed and hurried in these transfers. (2) Both days we had breakfast there, the host or hostess in the hotel restaurant made us wait for several minutes to clean a table when the restaurant was far from full and there were other cleaned tables. When we complained, they offered some lame and incomprehensible excuse. (3) The exercise room was not in great shape, with several machines not working (apparently because of a flood). And one that was in use was defective, and my wife hurt her foot while using it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    964
    506
    104
    50
    31
See reviews for
244
619
127
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Sofitel is not the most beautiful building on the outside, but the décor inside is classy and inviting. The rooms and bathrooms are large and comfortable, and the staff if polished and helpful. It could use a "freshen" on the interiors, and the bar could use some more seating, but overall this is a very good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a very nice hotel. Friendly people to help us after hectic traveling day. Fantastic room everything we wanted and more. Great location in the center of the city. The staff help make arrangements to get to the ballpark after eating nearby based on their advice. Overall a wonderful experience but then again I did pay a high price to get what I needed. Sometimes we all deserve a treat and this was ours.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Bonjour Dean J,

We absolutely delight in having the opportunity to pamper our guests! Thank you for pointing out your fantastic guest room, our great location, and your wonderful experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon so that you may enjoy another "treat" and indulge in all that we have to offer here at the Sofitel Philadelphia.

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was my first stay at a Sofitel hotel. The warm welcome extended by Guest Services manager Sonia Dimicoli was very much appreciated and set the tone for our entire stay with Sofitel. We were celebrating my wife's birthday during her first visit to Philadelphia. The pleasant amenities offered by the hotel and Ms. Dimicoli, from the upgraded room to the complimentary dessert and birthday wishes, were certainly a nice touch that helped to make our visit a memorable one. Also, the Doorman and Valet staff were very genial and never missed an opportunity to greet us with a smile upon entering or leaving the hotel. My wife and I travel quite a bit and are very discriminating when it comes to hotel accommodations. This experience certainly surpassed our expectations.

Thank you Sofitel! We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Bonjour JamaalDaveed,

I am truly proud that Sonia, our doormen and valet staff provided you with the exemplary level of service and smiles we have become known for and created a memorable stay to celebrate your wife's birthday and first trip to the City of Brotherly Love!!

We excitedly await your next arrival.

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here whilst visiting our son in Philadelphia. A good central location and a comfortable suite. Air conditioning did not work properly, but we didn't realise this until our son pointed it out, as were there in March so didn't need it! Some items in bathroom had not been replaced when the room had been cleaned prior to our stay.
Overall, I would say a very good hotel, just needs a little bit of attention to detail. Very comfortable bed though!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Bonjour SJM8!

We aim to provide a comfortable stay for each of our guests, and I am delighted we were able to provide this for you in one of our suites while you were visiting your son!

Thank you for providing your feedback, as it will assist all of our ambassadors as we continuously strive to provide the exemplary level of service that is our custom.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel staff are helpful, my room was spotless and beautifully appointed. Very functional and complete. Keurig coffee maker that also makes wonderful hot tea. The shower was large, the bathroom was all marble surfaces with ample towels. My room had two large closets, one with hangers and another with shelves for folded clothing. The restaurants in the lobby served excellent food in a delightful ambiance and their staff were attentive and well spoken.

The in-room air conditioning was a little disappointing though. On the seventh floor, my room was very cold when I returned to retire at the end of the day. Raising the set temperature on the thermostat did not result in warmer air being blown into the room. In fact, one night it was so cold that after shivering for almost an hour I got up, donned one of the beautiful cotton robes provided and wore that to bed. Around 3am the warmth of the room woke me and I had to set the thermostat back down to something reasonable and remove the robe. My visit was at the beginning of April, Springtime, and the external weather was in the 60'sF or around 20deg. C during the early evening.

The location of the hotel is very central to most things in Downtown Philadelphia within a block or two of some excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms don't have a refrigerator or a microwave so be sure to leverage the room service for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear wanagary,

What a delight to read that you were able to indulge in all that we offer in each of our guestrooms including a Keurig coffeemaker, large bathroom with separate shower and soaking tub, and ample large, soft towels. I thank you for pointing out the "excellent food in a delightful ambiance" that you enjoyed in our restaurants.

It is a disappointment to learn of your experience with temperature control in your room, and please be assured this is certainly not our custom.

We look forward to your future stays with us here in our downtown location!

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, Usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for both business and with family for fun over the Christmas holidays 2013. The rooms were very nice, as I would expect from a Sofitel. We got a nice rate so value was excellent. The hotel restaurant was great for a quick breakfast and the service was very good. The valet parking was pricey but I expect that in Philadelphia. The hotel is near Rittenhouse Square with a lot to do. The only minor annoyance was that I recall the front desk staff wasn't the friendliest but overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Bonjour Terry A,

We genuinely love to take care of our guests, whether the stay be for business or leisure. I am delighted that you have chosen to stay with us for both!

Thank you for pointing out Chez Colette as being great for a quick breakfast and very good service.

We look forward to your future stays with us at the Sofitel Philadelphia.

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.