We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
1 review
“Short weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a quick getaway to Philly and stayed at this hotel. Overall it's quite good- it has spacious rooms, a comfortable bed, and a nice gym. It also had a modern lounge which we didn't take advantage of, but seemed pretty nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our only drawback was the lack of a pool or spa on the premises but obviously that won't be such a big deal for everyone. The location of the hotel is fantastic - close to many good restaurants, sights, etc. Overall we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Bonjour Shrimant M,

Thank you for sharing such kind feedback about your stay with us, and I am so pleased you enjoyed a "short weekend stay!" I hope that we may welcome you back soon, and I recommend that you visit one of our concierges who would be delighted to set up a spa appointment for you nearby in one of the many locations here in the heart of Center City.

Warmest regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    658
    134
    62
    36
See reviews for
328
838
154
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Sofitel for one night and everything was up to an excellent standard. The rooms were ready when out party checked in, and were beautiful. The bar was lovely and even had a bit of character looking out onto the old quarter streets and had a decent happy hour.
This was the night before thanksgiving but the staff were all courteous but without insisting on wishing everyone a 'happy holiday' every 2 minutes which really annoys me. They wished all the Americans happy thanksgiving but left Irish and Europeans alone until we had wished it to them.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Bonjour Rathlin1,

What a delight to read your remarks!

I am pleased you were able to enjoy Liberte, our urban chic lounge which indeed is situated looking onto the streets of the French Quarter here in downtown Philadelphia.

I hope we may welcome you back again soon!

Warmest regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is my new favorite hotel in Philadelphia. I was pleasantly surprised how genuinely nice and helpful the staff were. Checkin, the room - everything met or exceeded my expectations. I took the train from the airport to Suburban Station and walked from there, which was not a problem at all. All in all, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Qwerty999,

What a wonderful 5 star review!

We are proud to have become your favorite hotel in Philadelphia and cannot wait to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Spent the weekend in Philly at the Sofitel. Had stayed at one many years ago in California and did not remember much about it. Frankly wasn't expecting much. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised at the quality of service and the hotel overall. It has a 4 diamond AAA rating which I would agree with. Has to have the most comfortable bed I ever slept on. Would definitely stay again. And, what a great location to be in the middle of what Philly has to offer!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear PLINES,

I am pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations, and that you had the opportunity to rest in one of our SoBeds. A lot of time and design went in to creating a bed that would provide each of our guests with the most comfortable and perfect night's sleep possible.

Indeed, our downtown location offers historical sites, shopping, restaurants, and bars all just steps from our front door.

We are delighted that you chose to stay wtih us, and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Philadelphia!

Warmest regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Our family (2 adults 2 children) stayed here for 3 days visiting family. The website really makes it sound ultra luxurious.
Pros: bed and pullout sofa were both super comfortable.
Staff highly attentive whenever called upon. (Especially the doorman. What great group of guys).
Went above and beyond when we had something turn up missing- immediately buying replacement (souvenirs - honest mistake) and crediting our bill for the inconvenience.
Beautiful views from our nice big junior suite. Also very quiet.
The restaurant for Sunday brunch is outstanding. The kids ate free and the selection was impeccable. Just a perfect breakfast.
Cons: upon check-in we noticed there's hardly any furniture in the suite. Couch desk /chair and coffee table . Bedroom had the bed and 2 nightstands. No bureau or dresser. No table and chairs. Closet has shelves in it so I suppose that was enough but not even hooked to hang a robe or jacket.lots of empty space - including bare walls. Just seemed more "moto lodge" than 5 star hotel.
Bathroom was big - shower not strong at all. And those fancy toiletries didn't impress me. Gotten better shampoo from suave.
Housekeeping was odd. They would show up in the evening asking if we needed room service. I found this unusual since they were supposed to have all ready taken care of the room. However we always seemed to run out of toilet paper. One time they took all our cups/glasses and we had no fresh ones.
The 1st night we arrived we wanted to go time a family restaurant that would have food the picky children would eat. The concierge pulled up the menu to a place that had a kids men that seemed good. He made us reservations. When we walked there it was basically a happy hour spot with a few tables. Very dark and very loud. Made me wonder if the concierge has actually taken cchildren there since it was definitely greater towards the bar scene.

All in all , next time we come to Philly we will be checking other hotels . Th is one really needs an update.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Tamara M,

I am disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We offer a luxury turn-down service in the evening to prepare each of our guest rooms for night-time, including turning down the bed, replenishing bedside complimentary waters, and ensuring that all toiletries and amenities are available. This is separate from the day-time housekeeping service, and is provided in order to aid our guests in relaxing after a long day by allowing us to prepare each of the guest rooms for sleep instead of requiring our guests to do it.

I am pleased that you enjoyed some of our delicacies offered for breakfast in Chez Colette and have such kind comments about our remarkable doormen.

We are continously providing updates to our hotel, and hope that you may visit with us again the next time you are in Philadelphia, even if just to indulge in some of our delicacies in Liberte for lunch or dinner that are certainly family friendly.

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.