We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Stay at Sofitel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Terrific Stay at Sofitel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recently stayed at Sofitel in Philadelphia and can't say enough great things about my stay. When in Philly I typically prefer more Boutique hotels (especially the one across the street from Sofitel) however I will stay at Sofitel every time I go back now. Very large rooms, great service. I was in town for my sister's wedding and the hotel accomodations were geat. The suites were also very large and comfortable. The beds are AMAZING and the bathrooms are very large. The only negative comment I have is the restaurant there - I went to twice for breakfast - very averages and expensive. Just leave the hotel if you're looking for a good breakfast or brunch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Bonjour runlc!

I am so glad that you choose to stay at Sofitel Philadelphia while celebrating your sister’s wedding. We are fortunate to have large rooms and bathrooms for a boutique hotel right in center city and are also go glad to hear your loved our one of a kind So-Beds! Please feel free to learn more about them through our So-Boutique website. I am disappointed to hear about your experience with breakfast, as our breakfast is usually very popular. I would love to welcome you back again and to make your breakfast experience the outstanding one we are custom to providing.

Merci,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,366
    660
    135
    62
    36
See reviews for
328
841
154
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our wedding anniversary here. When I made the online reservation, I noted that fact, and the hotel not only upgraded our room but also sent up a tray of sweets shortly after our arrival. Most thoughtful. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. As other reviewers have noted, the bed was lovely--with one caveat. Because there's a comforter and no top sheet, if you want to sleep with covers, you'll probably have to crank up the air conditioning so that the room is really cold. Two other small negatives. First, we noticed that some of the furniture and doors in our room were dinged-up, making the place feel a bit run-down. Some of the finish on the coffee table, for instance, was worn off in obvious places. Second, when we went to check out, we were told that we owed two nights' parking. We didn't even have a car on this trip. The error was corrected quickly, but it didn't inspire confidence. On balance, we had a great experience at the Sofitel Philadelphia. We would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting the Rittenhouse Square area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear ChemindeFer2013,

We love having the opportunity of providing a memorable experience when celebrating a wedding anniversary and are very glad that you enjoyed our Suite and amenity. We do understand that some guests prefer a top sheet to our European duvet, and we are always happy to have one provided during our nightly turndown service. We value your comments very much as they assist us in continuing to make improvements to our hotel. We normally do not have errors with billing and will certainly ensure that all procedures are reviewed to enhance our service and the confidence our guests have in us. I would love to welcome you back again to Sofitel Philadelphia for an even better stay.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I had to attend a wedding requiring an overnight stay in July. We could not have been more pleased with the accommodations. The room was spacious and clean; the large bed very comfortable. We had no difficulties with either service or staff, the latter never failing to be helpful.
The wedding for two hundred plus attendees conveniently took place at the hotel. It was clear by the attentive quality of staff at this event that we were witnessing rather seamless professionalism as regards both the reception and the meal following.
We were impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear RHL1946,

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you and your wife had such a pleasant time at the wedding we hosted. We have become a favorite wedding venue in Philadelphia and have formulated the perfect procedures to ensure a perfect outcome. We would love to welcome you and your wife back again even if you are not attending a special event. We are located in a great area for exploring the city and for a great weekend getaway.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I am on the road 5-10 days a month and whenever I am in Philadelphia the Sofitel is the place to stay. The location is great but what really makes the hotel is the staff and the rooms, by far the best bed I have slept in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear johnmarc007,

I am thrilled that we are your hotel of choice when in Philadelphia! I am so very pleased that our location and our ambassadors’ attentiveness has made all of your stays so memorable and has influenced you in becoming such a loyal guest. We will continue to look forward to welcoming you to Sofitel Philadelphia for all of your trips and to continue to provide you with the excellent service you expect.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just stayed 3 nights at Sofitel Philladelphia...everything about this hotel is great. Super location surrounded by loads of bars & restaurants. Every staff member is helpful, friendly & professional from the front desk through to the restaurant & the bar. I had breakfast all 3 mornings..1st day a la carte, next 2 buffet. Delicious & the coffee actually tastes like coffee! Miguel from Djibouti was an absolute delight..looked after us like long lost friends! The hotel lobby is lit by candlelight after dark & the bar area is buzzing & feels up market. The beds are THE most comfortable I have ever experienced, bar none! Would not hesitate to recommend & will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Maggie J,

I am so very pleased that you choose to stay with us during your recent business trip. It is also great to hear that you took advantage of our great location with all of the best restaurants and bars right outside our doors. I am very glad that our ambassadors made your stay memorable and made you feel special. I am also so pleased that you had the opportunity to see our evening candle lighting ritual that we perform every night at dusk. It is a ritual that we feel brings a lot of warmth to the hotel and creates a completely different environment. I would love to welcome you back again to Sofitel Philadelphia and to explore even more of what our great location has to offer.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location and super comfortable beds. Staff is friendly but the one thing that was surprising was the horrible quality of the TV and cable in the room. Such a fancy hotel, you would think that the electronics would be from this era. Other than that, it was a great option to stay at in Philly and I would definitely recommend for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Cynthia M,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our one of a kind So-Beds and our Rittenhouse Square location. We have not had any comments on our TV and cable and are so glad that you mentioned it here as all comments assist us in continuing to make changes to our hotel that keep up providing the best service and amenities. I would love to welcome you back again soon and to provide you with the perfect stay we strive to create.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Amex, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.