We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #8 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
Dubai
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is located centrally and within walking distance of all the main attractions. There are also a number of restaurants and shops in the streets surrounding. The hotel is high spec and typical of a 5 star property. The staff were excellent and helped print and fax some documents for me. The room was spacious, modern and very comfortable. All in all a great place to stay and everything you want from a city hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear DavieU,

I am absolutely delighted to hear us compared to a 5 star property. We are officially a 4 star property but strive to provide 5 star service to our guests. I am also very glad that you were able to take advantage of our great downtown location and explore the many great restaurants and shops around us. We are also walking distance to many of Philadelphia’s top museums and theaters such as the Barnes museum, Franklin Institute, Kimmel Center, and Academy of Music to name a few.. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Philadelphia and to recommend some great places to visit in our area during your next trip.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,054
    545
    109
    55
    31
See reviews for
269
691
133
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I can't say enough about this place. It was an incredible value and a great experience. We stayed for one night last January and had an great time. The location is perfect (walking distance to some great neighborhoods and restaurants(. The room was spacious, affordable and the bathroom was updated and well designed. I was really shocked bu how nice this place was for the price we paid. It's a good hotel for kids too (they offer a bunch of amenities like make-your-own-sundaes in the room and kid-size bathrobes). The restaurant in the hotel offered an exceptional breakfast. It was probably the best meal of our trip (warm cinnamon pretzel bites!). The service, throughout the hotel, was great. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Beng55,

Bonjour!

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay! We are always delighted to create great family trips and I am very glad to hear that your children enjoyed our Le Petit Prince amenities and our in room make-your-own-sundaes. I am also very happy that your family enjoyed our breakfast in Chez Colette. Our Executive Chef is continually coming up with new menu items that become fast favorites. We would love to welcome you and your family back again soon for another great family trip. Please inquire with our concierge for some great places to visit in our area for families and children, there are many!

Warmest Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Chicago, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is fantastic, the service is excellent, everyone friendly and helpful. But the best part is the bed!!! I have never slept in a Bed that makes you feel as if your sleeping in air, the best sleeps we have ever had, the pillows are the same, whatever way you go it's so so comfy. I will be looking out for the Sofitel wherever I go. Excellent location, in the middle of the city and the street it is on has good bars and places to eat.

Room Tip: Just ask for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Cher Mary182,

I am so glad that we were able to create such a memorable experience for you during your recent stay and that you were able to explore our location and some of the great bars and eateries surrounding us. It is also always great to hear when our guests love our exclusive So-Beds. We have put together a combination of bedding that really creates an airy and wonderful sleep. All of the components of our So-Bed are available for purchase through our So-Boutique and any of our ambassadors would be happy to assist you with any questions you may have on our products. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another wonderful experience and night’s sleep.

Sincerest Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was fantastic and the staff was very nice and friendly. Plenty of space with big closets and comfortable bed. Location was perfect with just a short walk to rite house square, shopping and restaurants. We have stayed at most hotels in Philly and this rates as one of the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Jlm V,

We are privileged to have a local Philadelphian rate us as one of the best hotels in the city. I am delighted that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and closets as well as our unique So-Beds. We are fortunate to be right in the middle of Rittenhouse Square and are very glad that you enjoy the area with all it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again and for the opportunity to become your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I loved the location of this hotel. While the hotel needs to work on a few maintenance issues - (there were appropriate signs to direct us to our room, outdated decor) it was perfect for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Brooklyn_SS,

I am very glad that we provided you with a perfect location while visiting Philadelphia for your weekend getaway. We value your feedback as it assists us in continuing to make enhancements to our hotel. We hope to welcome you back again for more great weekend getaways to come.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.